Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

CRUNCH!!! An Interplanetary Meal Trip

by Ryusui - Jam Entry

When scientists foretold the Big Crunch was coming, they certainly weren't expecting YOU.

Born at the dawn of time and asleep for untold billions of years, you've been rudely awakened and you've got a SERIOUS case of the munchies. Build up your cosmic wrath by devouring adorable, unsuspecting space critters, then watch them flee in fear as you devour their worlds! Just be careful you don't get surrounded by the trigger-happy Space Police - they don't care that you're as old as the universe, only that you're eating planets in their jurisdiction! They will end your reign of terror sooner or later, but until then, munch, crunch, and devour everything in your path!

Keyboard and gamepad supported. Left/right to rotate, up to move forward. Devour critters to restore health and build power. When the Big Crunch gives off a green glow, press Z on the keyboard or A on the gamepad to become an unstoppable charging beast!

Created in Love2D. Graphics created in Aseprite. Sound effects created with Audacity and Bfxr. Music composed in FL Studio.

***POST-JAM RELEASE***

Version 1.1 is a minor update, fixing some ugly framerate issues that cropped up at later levels. The Big Crunch is now 99% less likely to teleport through planets at high speed. Also, the game should run more consistently overall on different hardware.

Gamepad controls have also been adjusted. On an Xbox 360 controller, use left and right on the analog stick/D-pad to steer and RB to move forward.

Enjoy! (And as always, be sure to base your ratings on the 1.0 version!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#39Fun(Jam)3.98
#152Overall(Jam)3.72
#203Theme(Jam)3.86
#257Innovation(Jam)3.37
#266Mood(Jam)3.48
#307Humor(Jam)3.20
#331Audio(Jam)3.24
#505Graphics(Jam)3.43

Comments

FZeroRacer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:38am

I really like it! Everything comes together to create a fun and unique experience. Devouring a planet and watching everything fly everywhere is great.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:19am

This is really *fun*! Great spriting, great use of sfx, and smooth planet-crunching game-play. And it is re-playable! Good Work!

This makes me want to use Love2D more : )

BNeutral says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:08am

Damn space police. Pretty cool game.

Monkokio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:14am

Space police cracked me up, haha.
Overall really solid! Had fun with this one.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:42am

Super neat! With a slight bit more variety (impervious planet chunks, perhaps?) this could be a great high score table kinda game. Reminded me a little of the miner ships in Sinistar. (Sinistar is great!)

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:47am

Nice graphics, some great audio too. Cool idea, it was fun!

magenta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:01am

A great little game. Solid idea which makes it fun and replayable. I keep hearing the little planet dwellers going, "Jinkies!". I probably need sleep :}

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Excellent game! I feel like this is going to be a keeper on my pc. The mechanics were very innovative, it was really fun to eat planets, the graphics looked cool, and the soundtrack was pretty nice.

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:04am

8 space polices chasing you at the same time:
"this is spa... surren...you are und...this is" oh god just shut it allready!

Eating through the planets was fun experience. I also forgot there was special key for charging *cough*

stoarch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:52am

Good game. Very fun. Some audio and visual effects and it will be perfect

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Great game! Now the theme will be stuck in my head :d

AdayMC says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Nice proposal, good graphics and ambient in general.

I felt I little lost at start but when I started to eat, only policeman stopped me :P

Hippomancer says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:41pm

I like that the space police ask you to "please" surrender. Lots of fun.

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:24am

It's rather hard to explain, but the feel the combination of everything creates is just really great! Really enjoyed devouring solar systems and the space police!

lanestp says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Fun! I have a soft spot in my heart for games like this. The melee vs bullets is a nice variation. And the controls feel nice. Great job!

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Great job! I really enjoyed devouring planets & its fleeing inhabitants! =)
Also, nice pixel art!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Cute graphics, great premise, very engaging!
Overall, I enjoyed this thoroughly. Good job dude!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:13am

Fun game! I really played it a lot, good idea and gameplay style. I felt like I were Galactus hahaha
Congrats =)

derr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:49am

Crunching through dozens of blocks real fast is a nice feeling. And with multiple enemies it sounds like a cool remix "This is the.." "This is the space police!". Really like it!

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Amazing game. The controls are SPOT ON- Keeping this on my computer for sure

Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:06am

A solid jam, very re-playable and very fun.

panda says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:01am

Wow, I love this game! It's very fun to play, and I like the graphics and sound effects too! Excellent job, kudos!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Decent amount of fun, even though I wasn't a big fan of the tank controls. It lead to a lot of moments where I'd be stuck between two rocks often. The space police were pretty funny, though.

Simonaiso says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:44am

This is the space police! What an amazing game! Incredible fun, perfect and cool audio. 5/5

Zupoman says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Cool game! Fun to play, nice graphics and audio. I found it a bit lagging on my computer though, which caused me to sometimes pass through walls. Is that because of delta timing?

Ryusui says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Thanks for the feedback, all. :3

Yes, the lag is due to delta timing - sometimes the framerate sputters and random acts of teleportation slip into the gameplay. I read a good article explaining why I should used a fixed timestep instead, though I've yet to implement its advice. ^_^;

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]