Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

I AM THE SUN

by primaerfunktion - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Mood(Jam)4.36
#31Graphics(Jam)4.59
#101Audio(Jam)3.76
#303Overall(Jam)3.48
#676Innovation(Jam)2.81
#823Fun(Jam)2.66
#1981Coolness28%

Comments

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:12am

Interesting visual. The mosaic on the face, the bird. Hard work during these days,

hexagore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:29am

Well this is incredibly mysterious and beautiful. I don't think I'll ever find out if there's an end to this but I must admit I'm intrigued!

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:27am

Very artistic! I'm sure I had a nightmare like this in my childhood. Top5.

Vaida says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:27am

Looks amazing, the jagged audio fits the game well, and the text is stylised in a pleasing way. The pixelated face is a nice touch. Great work! :)

pereubu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:53am

I'd like to be that good at "minimalistic visuals with really fancy effects"

Polyganz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:13am

Looks pretty but there isn't much in terms of gameplay sadly.

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:22am

Very atmospheric, beautiful graphics and audio. Could do with respawning a bit closer to the action.

sydream says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:30am

The visual artistry is great, love that. Everything else I'm quite puzzled by as I don't understand what's the goal of the game, don't have any reference on my health or enemies or anything else. I don't think it quites align with the theme either, at least not knowing what's going on... But nice visual/ambience exercise :)

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:50am

Great aesthetics and mood. The sounds add to that too. However, I came to the arena some other way the enemies did not start spawning. So at first I didn't know what to do (and walked through those houses).

So from a gameplay perspective, it's OK. From aesthetics, it is freaking awesome!

SeaDads says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:56am

Ambiance and visuals are awesome, love the little effects and very satisfying cutting through those guys! Not sure if I understand how it relates to theme but otherwise great. :)

Rocketship says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Excellent mood and aesthetic. Loved the harrowing feeling in the game. Stylish all around.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Very consistent how the audio and visuals work together. The controls where sort of hard in terms of staying alive. But I expect that was not the point of the game. I really enjoyed it. Must have been a lot of work going into it. I would have liked to encounter more story parts than just what I got from the bird and the death. I think the game could be really awesome if the story evolves over the course of one dying and dying and dying. Anyways, very beautiful and inspiring game.

conormn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:32pm

You win best title screen. Excellent atmosphere, I really enjoyed being in that world. Thanks for making it!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:20pm

It's extremely artistic and seems to have a lot of thought put into it for 3 days. I watched your progress on twitter and downloaded this as soon as possible after the jam.

Lane says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00pm

9/10, couldn't kill the birds.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Praise the sun!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:18pm

The visual is great, and have a style, though I didn't get what to do yet.

Dejvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Another one of theese Artsy games. I don't get them really but well made i guess.

Kai20 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:12pm

THe Game is really intresting but the long run to the middle was not so much fun and the camera is a bit strange

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Looks and feels incredible. The shader work is amazing - are they standard unity shaders (the cool new free ones are great!) or did you write them yourselves? They were super well curated - the face mosaic effect was an excellent touch.

Had to run the game in 640 x 480 or it would lag. Well done :P

However there's not much of any game there, I couldn't find anything that I could do other than fall into the water and die. And I clipped through everything, the big shiny door - clipped through, the down arrow - clipped through.

The long tedious walk was also a bit of a downer, especially since there was... Not much at the end of it...

Again, looks amazing :) Wish there were more game!

sararyCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Beautiful and intriguing game. Hard to say if it is related to the topic but I enjoyed the experience.

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Great camera, DOF, overall post-processing and I'm high now because of sound :D Not sure about gameplay though.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:19am

Nice work with overall art and characters animation. This is a rare gem on LD.

Jimjam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:29am

Lovely atmosphere and graphics, but the one-hit kills and difficult attack timing, along with having to restart down that long pier, made it frustrating.

headchant says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:53am

Hey, this looks amazing. Love the long pier and the bird. Combat is hard but that's ok. Thick athmosphere and really nice sounds as well.

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:13pm

I don't know if there is an ending, but if there is I didn't find it. But it is a very mysterious game with a unique mood, it feels like there is a lot to learn about this guy and this world and i would love to see a more complete game of this!

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Really artistic and great mood! Atmosphere is top notch, I just could not figure out what I should do with these towers. But great game after all! :]

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:13am

Gameplay is nice, but graphics and ambient are perfect. If you develop it out more, I want to see it!

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:38am

I really like the tone and atmosphere in this entry. Audio is great, reminds me of the signal in the film "mission to mars". Would have liked more of a conclusion or end event but great work nonetheless

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:40am

Nice little intriguing piece. Not really sure what's up but I was engrossed nonetheless.

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Enjoyed the atmosphere! First time I went to town nothing would spawn. Drowned myself and went there again to see some action.

tMalicet says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Looks incredible!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Funny kind of "end" if that's what the final text was. Nice graphics and made me think, very impressive

Dikkop says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:49pm

pretty cool, but weird, but cool, but weird game...

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Very moody and graphically interesting, and the audio matches perfectly! It brought to mind Killer 7 in more than a few ways. Very nice!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:57am

Simple yet very effective graphics. I love this, its in my top five favorites so far! Keep up the great work, I look forward to future projects!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:53pm

That was very disturbing. I liked it a lot.

OadT says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Fantastic atmosphere! Graphics and audio is perfect. I get to the end, well at least I think so...

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:02pm

There is a really good atmosphere in this game, it's very eerie and the audio static adds a good level of distortion. I wish there was a bit more of a description of what to do.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Gorgeous minimalist style! Intrigues the player to understand but frustrates all attempts to do so. Art of the absurd.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:54am

I like the graphic style and how it make the mood. It would be nice to have some checkpoint when the battle begin. Also I feel lack of possibility to move the camera with my mouse.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:20am

Great visual!

Shackhal says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:31am

The game have nice graphics with a nice aesthetic focus. The music is jagged, but it doesn't feel annoying.

But the camera doesn't help too much with the action and I don't have any idea to how it ends. Maybe the bird gives you a hint of that.

Overall, the game passes.

Hjalte500 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:33pm

I loved the mystery and style of this game. And that bird was cool. I dont even know it was just great. Only wish that I could control the camera more but somehow it still fit. Also dem particles. It was great good job!

Beau Lamb says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Love the visuals :) the sound makes it super creepy

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:26pm

So pleased to see that kind of entries! Congrats!

nomand says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Very well put together aesthetic. Visuals, sound, camera work really well. I like the typography as well. Well done!

FireTwin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Really unique mood to this game. Makes me very curious to find out more about it. I actually feel like this graphical style would be great for and adventure game with a really unique story to it.

Grhyll says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Wow, beautiful, and nice feelings! The sound is both irritating and perfect.

General says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:43pm

I liked fencing with the enemies. But for me, as for some other commenters, the camera position was uncinvenient.

My video review: http://youtu.be/S-puJwH9Sq0
Your game is at 25:20

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:02pm

fallin'in a dream.
Graphics and atmosphere are amazing. A mysterious game that intrigued me. You did an hard and good work

Oct 17, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Really nice atmosphere. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/gLe7oOEiGe0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]