Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

A Shadow In The Night

by tripleVisionGames - Jam Entry

​You are the shadow that cast the night. They are merely appetisers, mere mortal morsels to tempt your tongue. But tonight you must make do with what little scraps you can find...

********* CONTROLS *********

Use the mouse to charge jumps and hold down to float in the air - imagine a friendly mix of Desert Golfing, Super Meat Boy and the delightful taste of blood and you're on the right track.

You can have a practice in the title screen if you are unsure how to control it.

I'll make more levels if folks want to play them, I just ran out of time. I would also like to apologise for any bugs that may have slipped in. Once again, game jam conditions do not make for fully tested games.

Have fun you God forsaken bloodsuckers!

*********

Created in 72 hours (only just)

Code, design and art by Andrew Stewart - @triplevisgames on twitter

Sound and Music by James Campbell - @obiwanbalogna on twitter

Special thanks to @ashtom_gva on Twitter for the Mac build. Go follow that guy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#34Innovation(Jam)4.06
#37Fun(Jam)3.99
#42Overall(Jam)4.06
#60Mood(Jam)4.01
#64Audio(Jam)3.91
#99Theme(Jam)4.04
#128Graphics(Jam)4.24

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:25am

Please let me know if you can help me upload a Mac or Linux version. I'm using GameMaker: Studio.

Thanks

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Very well made and polished!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Ok, Mac version is now up. Massive thanks to @ashtom_gva on twitter :D

Sunflower says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:59pm

My absolute favourite so far; granted, out of only 15 games, but still I really like what you've done here!

The wow:
- sound effects and music (to put it in better perspective: I checked if there's any convenient soundtrack link, and not finding out I just left the game open in background)
- graphics & animation
- all-round-polish

The yay:
- creative and well-executed game mechanics
- well-designed levels

The nay:
- could use some sort of tutorial; but it pales compared to the overall impression

I'd like to see enhanced version, especially with a tutorial and saving + level selection screen (and maybe different zones with different soundtracks, too?)!

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Clever concept, i like the using of your life as a resource to move.
The controls aren't very intuitive though, and it took me a while to realize you can float because i wasn't sure if i just had the wrong angle/strength to get through level 2. Some sort of guiding arc might have been useful.
Solid entry though, i like the artstyle and music, very Castlevania. Nice work!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Love it. My favourite so far. never played anything quite like it

Saf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Solid entry! Clever control scheme. It is a great arcade experience. Well done

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Congrats to my first five star in overall. This game is clearly fit for a mobile device. Would buy it if it was on iPhone/Android.

And boy, I didn't expect the sunlight :D.

Legulysse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Great game over here

janiq says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Very very nice. Everything perfect and screenshake is super :-)

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:55pm

I love the mechanic, although having it explained in game would have been nice, I didn't have too hard of a time figuring it out :) Graphics and Audio were amazing! Well done

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Takes a few tries to get the hang of, but it's super fun when you do! Mua-hua-hua-hua! Love those sound effects!

FiSilva says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:38pm

I love the art!
Controls are a little hard but I guess that's part of the fun

crucknuk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Really nice game. Good work !

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Very well polished game. I like the novel puzzle-platforming idea that you have, and it would've been nice to have a bit more variety (I got as far enough to see the same platforms, people and spikes).

AlexPGilbert says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:10pm

I love the polish! The game is fun. When I thought the controls were awful at first, but then after the first few levels I felt super bad ass when I timed and landed a jump perfectly. Great job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:16am

Nice atmospreic game! Puzzles are pretty well made =)
Theme also well interpretatied. Good job!

andyman404 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Thanks for putting up the Mac version! I like the movement/blood mechanic. Well done!

GameQuester says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:14pm

That game is very good and polished. Didn't make it to the end yet, but I will try it later. The sound and graphics really stand out. You really did a great job here.

Kep says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Great animation and mood. Tons of levels. About as much frustration as I would expect from a Golf Sim/Super Meat Boy mix. (Hence my rage quit.) Still certainly one of the better games.

I would suggest you eliminate the retry screen and just respawn the player. That 2 seconds doesn't seem like much, but after seeing it 50 times, it gets annoying. A quit/main menu button on the screen somewhere would be enough.

XaviorPenguin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Oh yeah...frustrating...as...heck! :) I love it. I was able to get through all the way until I came across a scrolling level, previous levels didn't have a scrolling part, just what you saw on the screen. That was the part that got me to say "F it!" and throw my computer out the window only to see that it burst into flames only to tell me to Retry. Upon hitting Retry, my computer came back to me in its previous glory and this level was back on my screen. Did I do something wrong?

In all seriousness, if this was made in the amount of time given, you did a great job. There is definitely a learning curve but I think once a player gets to that curve, it is going to be a hard game to beat. Sound, graphics, gameplay are all really well done for this small of a game. Good job! I am enjoying it.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:53pm

That was a lot of fun (and pretty!). Two tiny things that would be nice: A reset button (in case you mess up a jump to bad), and maybe have your jump charge just a little faster.

sararyCow says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Innovative, addictive and pretty. What else can be asked?

Solid entry.

Frump says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:56am

That was fun. Unique mechanics and quite polished. Took a while to get used to the controls but when I did they felt great. Well done.

careless says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:47am

Excellent game, really had lots of fun playing this.

Graphics are spot on, very nice pixel art. Great concept, smooth controls.

Music is good too.

Another great entry, the mechanics could be applied to other themes to create all sorts of fun stuff :D

derr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Great idea and well executed. It controls very nicely, I love it!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Spooky! Nice work :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:17am

Wow that was a lot of levels to go through!
Really fun gameplay mechanics and great theme!

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:19am

Brilliant!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:24am

Wow, this game was really really nice. Reminds me a lot of our game from last LD. Theme was great, art style was great, mechanics were clever. One annoying thing was not being able to move at all, and landing just outside the range of farmers and needing to mess around trying to do a tiny hop onto them.

Datamosh says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:48am

Attack animation is amazing. Great entry, polished and fun!

Sypanite says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:01pm

That was great - pretty difficult in places.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Really interesting mechanics, nice graphics and audio too. The level design is really great.

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Really cool game. Fun and beautiful.
SOmething strange in the difficulty curve (I had a hard level and then two or three easy levels...) but it is the only complaint I have. Great great job!

steve says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Great pixel art and a fun movement mechanic that's tougher to master than it initially appears, good work! I would have liked a quick retry button though for when I mess up! Mwahahaha!

Xanjos says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Lack of a restart function definitely makes it slightly frustrating at times but I absolutely love the gameplay mechanics.

Eldan_Knight says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Yeah, absolutely 5/5! Great idea, perfect performance. Easy to learn and hard to master, like all the best games. Also outstanding graphics and music. It's the best game I have tasted in this Ludum Dare and definitely this should be at the top of many videogame markets! Congratulations, keep on the good work!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:50am

Fun game mechanic. Love the pixel art and music also. Great work! :D

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Excellent game, looks, sounds, plays great!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Very polished game and the visual feedback in the bloodbar is excelent.
The game mechanic doesn't need explanation.
So congratulations!

HappyHour says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:39am

Pleasantly surprised by this one. Unique and responsive control scheme + nicely fitting audio and visuals.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:00pm

This was a great entry with polished graphics and audio. Liked the whole concept of using your life force as your movement and having to be careful with how you approached the later levels so you didn't end up turning to dust. Clever mechanic and nice use of the theme. Have added it to my list of favourites from this Ludum Dare.

Pomb says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:07am

This is awesome man! I love the feel. Some added animations on the take down would make it feel even more satisfying to get the kill. Great work!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Great idea! The only thing I'd complain about is the exit on escape and the lack of level selection or something like that (you might see the two are somewhat related).

The graphics, mechanics, music and levels are great!

Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:11pm

One of the best i have played so far, very nice!

Slothmachine says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:13pm

I love your pixel art! The gameplay was solid and challenging. Really polished in so little time. Great Job!

Erkberg says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Very nice idea for controlling the movement of your character. It is pretty hard sometimes, but feels even more rewarding when succeeding. The visuals and audio are also very, very good. Overall, a great game, good job!

shawn42 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:33am

Lots of stars in my rating. ;) Very fun and unique.

walsh9 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:46am

Really neat movement mechanics. Art and sound are wonderful. Game overall is very polished. Terrific game!

Jan Tuts says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Simply great overall :) Well done!

Oct 13, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Lovely game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/K5Eh9xNFJGY

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]