Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Brainless Attack

by ReddogStone - Compo Entry

"You are the monster"... Well, at least, you command them.

Deploy your monsters on the light areas of the map and watch them charge brainlessly at the castle. Good timing and the right tactics will lead you to the victory. Destroy all these castles!

In case you're really really stuck in a level, use "w" to win instantly. You can also use RIGHT and LEFT arrows to move freely between the levels (but that's cheating, of course).

Enjoy!

Post-compo:
I've spent quite some time, thinking about the game-design. I wanted to improve mainly on the chaotic game-play. I decided to give the launch-pads a cool-off instead of using a global monster-launch-cool-off (nice word ^_^). This added a lot to the strategy in the game, in my opinion. Unfortunately, I didn't have much time to spend on the game, yet. So I did not add too much. Still, it's worth a try ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#96Audio3.57
#118Innovation3.63
#167Overall3.58
#192Fun3.45
#284Mood3.26
#304Graphics3.39
#367Humor2.94
#629Theme3.13

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:14am

Very cool, exploiting weakness in tower coverage is super fun. Not sure I've ever seen a reverse tower d game down, well done! Bonus points for ye olde jingle.

Shawn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49am

Really fun game!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:12am

Solid gameplay simple and fun mechanics! Got stuck on level 5 though.

sleepYxy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Fun game with some pretty cool mechanics. Sometimes it is pretty hard to figure out how to time your spawns. But good work on tuning the cooldowns and shot rates/range, it makes a solid impression!

Also, the music takes you right to the hearth, this would be a perfect game for a lonely evening with you tablet. Kudos :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Neat.
Good learningcurve and working gameplay

ye olde jingle though <3

JoseArias says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:02am

I enjoyed a lot! It is very easy to understand and it keeps you playing a lot of time.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:09am

A lot of the time it seemed to come down to just spamming my guys but a nice idea, haven't really seen this one before.

sam1373 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:13am

Cool concept. I completed some levels with multiple spawn fields by just spamming one of them =)

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Good work, took a few minutes on the last level, but I got there. Nice tune.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Neat idea. I've never seen a flipped tower defense game and this was done pretty well. I sometimes felt like I was hoping for 3 eyed monsters and clicking as much as I could between the selected options and that the game was lacking some strategy. However, overall great game!

Saf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Interesting combat mechanics. The later levels start getting tough. Good Jam entry

JoJoX says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Great mechanic. Simple to understand but difficulty comes quick.

parDal says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Flawless game.

Please consider making a post-LD version.

P.S.: somehow the brainless wrapped through the map, it happened when I switched tabs, but I don't know if it was that what really caused it.

hgcummings says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Really great game. Clever idea and very nice implementation. The sound affects were amusing too. I like the puzzles that arose from the simple mechanic, although the exact details might need a little tweaking as some levels could also be won by just randomly clicking without too much thought.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Could do with an instructions screen of some sort to explain the controls a bit better but I really like the reverse tower defense aspects of this game.

mitkus says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Beutiful minimalist graphics. Didn't feel that I can do much besides spawning creeps as fast as possible.

igoramendola says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 12:50am

Pretty cool and challenging!! I still can't pass the penultimate level of compo version hehehe :P
I also played the post compo version and I liked the sand feature. Nice entry! :D
Btw, the music is good... very relaxing ^_^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]