Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Wish Monster

by Vandash - Compo Entry

The Wish Monster is not really a video game. It's more of a human experiment, and a platform for people to possibly help each other.

For now you can make 3 wishes on the site (at: http://wishmonster.meteor.com/ ) ; I invite you to create an account and create your wishes (it's super quick), and to invite as many other people as possible to do it as well.

You can then vote on other's people wishes (reddit style)

And then... there is a legend... that speaks of a Wish Monster.

Maybe it will be you ?

If you become the Wish Monster, would you grant people their wishes ? Or would you swallow their wish into your monstruous belly ?

It is said that the Wish Monster will awake soon... and until then, all we can do is make our wishes.

----------------- Note on the Ludum Dare -----------------

I started saturday evening and couldn't really design the site as much as I would have liked. I initially wanted to have more of a visual experience, with a realtime galaxy showing the various wishes from people, and to see the monster as well, sleeping somewhere, or wandering around in this galaxy. It would have shown random wishes as stars using various brightness depending on the number of community votes for a particular wish.

I used Meteor and Mongo DB to create the site, and I must say it was a lot harder than I initially thought. It had been a while since I made a website, and I must say it's still as bad as 20 years ago.

In Paris we had the chance to have some people organize an event for this LD33 and it was super fun. Lots of great people and inspiration. Thanks guys <3

I hope we get a lot of wishes so that when the Wish Monster awakes he will have a lot of things to eat :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#60Innovation3.83
#821Overall2.65
#907Theme2.18
#1897Coolness32%

Comments

flyinpancake says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:22am

I also used Meteor!
I feel your pain!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Interesting idea, but not really a "game" per se :P

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:01pm

I shouldn't have to sign up to a third party service in order to play your game.
I truly appreciate the ambitious nature of what you were trying to accomplish, but I think you may have overreached.

struffy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Clever idea - I'm not sure it capped me at three wishes though. However, I only made three!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:18pm

That's nice!
I like the idea, it doesn't really stick with the theme but I'll be glad to see what happens next ;D
Wish submitted :D

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:19pm

I'm hoping my wish comes true somehow XD

peterthehe says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:35am

Really interesting idea, there's no denying that. Will the wishes come true? :D

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:52am

Interesting idea, I'm curious to be the Wish Monster :)

Vandash says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Thanks for the comment fine ladies and gentlemen of Ludum Dare :) To answer one in particular: "I shouldn't have to sign up to a third party service in order to play your game." There is absolutely no third party service on the site, i'm not sure what you mean. You create an account with your email and that's it. The goal of that is just to be able to contact you if your wish is crushed, or even better, becomes true :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]