Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You are the GM

by GAFBlizzard - Compo Entry

September 16, 2015 update: I am working on a full game based on this idea and (at least primarily) option A. Thanks to all who voted!




Get all your adventurers to reach level 4 and fight the monster. There is a way to lose. There are two ways to win.

It took me hours to think of something I wanted to try with this theme. If I had more time, I wanted to at minimum add personalities to the adventurers. One might ragequit if they saw spiders, another might ragequit if a healing potion gets used, another might get bored if a slime is used at a high level, and so forth. The idea was to make a sort of puzzle out of managing a troublesome group of players, possibly with amusing voiceovers. I didn't get to voiceovers either.

*** IF YOU READ THIS DESCRIPTION, PLEASE SHARE YOUR OPINION IN A COMMENT: ***
There is obviously not much in the game right now. If I were to make a full-featured game using the GM and adventurers idea, would that be a game you would be interested in? If so, please include one of the following two options in a comment:

* Option A, GM versus computer adventurers.
Focus on managing adventurers with different personalities / character builds.

* Option B, GM versus human players.
Focus on making obnoxious surprises for other players in multiplayer, maybe taking turns as the GM.
(The downside of multiplayer is finding other people online to play with, of course)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#28Innovation4.07
#109Humor3.60
#213Theme3.78
#241Overall3.43
#256Fun3.34
#293Mood3.24
#374Audio2.93
#425Graphics3.17

Comments

fatattack82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:39am

This is by far the funniest idea i found while browsing through submissions. I'd go with Option A since B is sorta just making an online DnD program

sythe2o0 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:11am

Pretty cool idea. Maybe would have liked a bit more content, but hey, that might be a reason to push the idea into a bigger timeframe than 2 days.

OccamsRazor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:16am

This was an awesome concept for a game, and very well presented. Took me a little while to figure out what I was doing, but I got there.

Great ending :P

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:27am

Ha ha! I liked this, played it to the end.

It's a really fun idea. I mean, it's LD, so it's very small as it is, but you can see there's a lot of things you could add to a game like this. I'd like it if players could keep their items and use them later, for instance. And there seemed to be no penalty for just throwing a massive healing party when the players got low on health.

But I found the simple rules didn't really matter as I found myself making up little scenarios on each turn. Like, the party enters a blobcave, or the party enters the spiders' treasury. Three players get spiders, one gets the treasure!

Really nice work man.

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:46am

My first reaction is Option B, because hey, more online D&D is not a bad thing! But I'm going to have to say that Option A is a better choice mainly because of online trolls who wreck the game for everyone else.

dollarone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:50am

Nice! As a former DM this hit the spot:) Good interpretation of the theme!

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:19am

interesting concept.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:57am

Would love to see this as a full game. i would go with both options.

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:30am

Nice. Potentials

namrog84 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:38am

I really liked this, pretty great and new. I haven't personally seen this done before. A little more information would be great. (e.g. are my players happy/sad/angry) Lots of potential here to expand

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:56am

I'd also like to see this fleshed out as it's a very interesting concept!.

Also my vote would be for option B :)

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:56am

This is cute. It would definitely be neater with a player management aspect to it. I therefore vote option A.

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Very fun entry! I didn't expected the end, and the RNG was quite fun (it took me about 2 minutes for the green player to beat his first monster...) Well done!

SojaBird says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Hahaha omg this is so simple yet so fun :p
I fought the monster at level 4 and got killed by 100 rolls xD

Also don't try defeating the bat when you are level 1 :p lol


Great idea, fun sound and graphics.
Cool stuff!

Would be need to have the selection remain to make it work a bit faster.

Overall pretty nice!

UncleChris says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:50pm

I LOVE this, as a DM myself, so surprised that idea of monster never made me think that way - AWESOME. LOVED this game and very well made "combat" system. This has some great potential.

Nate says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:04pm

This is a very neat idea. I would suggest you go with option A. Option B would be fun, but there is already a game like that being made called Sword Coast Legends.

Parappa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:06pm

It is like Knights of Pen and Paper lite. Nice work!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Really cool. Game seems polished given the constraints. Great idea. Fun. Sound is cool too, especially dice rolling.

Kaadmy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Seems nice, but needs flash to run.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:32pm

I'd be a terrible DM! Really cool game though

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00am

Hah, nice ending and very original idea.

Could definitely be interesting if developed further. I think both options you outline have potential, though for my personal taste I'm more interested in option A.

terop says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:35am

catchy music. not sure if i would play this too long though...

pixzleone says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:07am

that was nice :)
music and sounds really fit in
graphics were nice
Good job :)

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:12am

I admit that, whilst I get the concept, I'm not familiar enough with the DnD type of rules to know what any of the abbreviations or anything mean. I mostly just clicked about.

Although you are the DM, you are really developing the players, choosing to nurture, nourish or hurt them. A developed game could have AI players but with an attempt at character richness and a feeling of dialog between DM and players as you 'develop' them?

Crefossus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:28am

Consistent style and font, calming music, and slick juicy animations. it sorta feels like a pokemon/rpg type game where you are leveling up your party. It lacks a concrete consistent challenge other than figuring out the system and lose/win conditions - but I guess you know it. (Figuring out how it works was actually pretty fun though due to your polish)

I think it has potential to be something fresh in the simulation style game, so "A" - plus with other humans means you need to have a big playerbase or friends. I think just dropping the DM as a monster would help the game - focusing on the goal being making the game fun for your party members.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:41am

Yes, I'm a dm and I confirm that.. I'M THE MONSTER!
Btw nice idea! Simple gameplay and enjoyable!
Well done!

flatgub says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:11am

Awesome idea, I had a while where i wasn't quite sure what to do, but i really enjoyed it once i figured it out! Also I choose option A!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Cool little game, I love it. I think though it needs some balance cause it is rather easy to exploit the mechanics, even if there is a joke ending. I laughed out loud at the ending.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Maybe you could merge Option A with Option B?
Have something like drop in / out multiplayer, and whichever 'archetype' slot you fill limits the actions you can take?
I liked it!

andyman404 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Fun game. Hahaha. Build up the players' confidence and make them think they're all that, and then squash them. :) I vote option A.

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:00pm

I had no idea what I was doing for a long time, then I realized the players were leveling up!

JoseArias says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Very original! And the end is great haha

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Sweet game!

Tijn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:07am

Haha, I laughed so hard when I reached the end. Well, one of the endings I suppose. I levelled the party up until they were all level 4 and then threw in the monster. Had a good laugh :) Well done!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:30am

Dropbox seems to be having issues right now but I'll post again if the site starts working.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:35am

That was fast, it's working again!

khahem says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:45am

This is a very cool idea, I agree that personalities would be a great addition, angry unlucky people and things like this,
but we can already feel the bigger idea here. An extended version would be cool.

As for the question, Option A feels more original and compelling to me, more puzzley.
Option B seems hard to manage, being obnoxious to other people and still having everyone enjoy the game seems difficult.

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Great idea! I couldn't get to a second ending tough!

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Well, since you replied to me in my post I'll continue here :P How the hell do you beat a monster with 100hp?? They can only evolve to level 4, and whatever I do after that doesn't seem to change more.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:39pm

@Zccc, replied on your page -- the players can't beat the monster, but if they're all alive, one ending explains why this is. It's just a silly joke. :P I'll probably remove that aspect if I develop the concept further.

demogorgon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:56pm

I like it a lot. Kinda used to the game being the DM, and you getting screwed over than getting to screw over a bunch of adventurers, or perhaps just leveling them up, so the inversion is quite fun.

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:13pm

As already mentioned on IRC, I think you can make something nice out of this prototype. If it had the features you had planned, it would be an awesome game. I'm giving you some extra Overall points for the potential.

As for your question, why not both?

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:02am

Awesome concept for a game, and very well presented. Well done ++

zuurr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:06am

i like this game, and think the idea is strong. more variation in player actions would have been helpful as would more endings. barring that, having a mood stat of each player to manage would be cool too.

since you asked me in irc i'll go into detail.

i think a fun stat management game could be made out of this style. it would be interesting since you'd have to manage both in game stats and out of game stats. this may lead to too many stats but if you paced it well it would not be overwhelming. if you did this with personalities it might be neat too, especially if they could be procedurally generated.

and opt. a is pretty clearly better imo. people who play dnd online already use tabletop sim and it doesnt sound like youd be able to offer anything significantly better (but i could be wrong?).

and 5 stars on theme because a monster who sends his fellow monsters to their doom is especially monstrous.

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:31pm

This was fantastic. One of my favorite submissions so far. Give me a full game of this!

DuzDuz says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:41pm

cool concept, I would prefer Option A & B!

richardjs says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:09am

Great idea for the theme. The graphics were a little hard to interpret at first, but I like the style and once I got used to them they worked fine. I was upset/confused after fighting the monster, but then the ending happened and I felt better.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:24am

Very nice concept!

Arche-san says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Nice concept!
I vote for option A.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Haha, loved the concept as it reminds me of my rpg days. :D

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 1:12am

Thanks to everyone who rated! I'm super happy since this is probably the best I've ever done in a Ludum Dare, and I'm working on a full game now. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]