Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

WUF

by KilliganIndustries - Jam Entry

You are a wolf.
Lurking in the dark forest.
Praying on a vengeful hunter.

WASD - Move
SPACE - Jump

Wish I had more time to work on this but only was able to get work in on Saturday.
Consider it a proof of concept that will be expanded upon. Until next LUDUM!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#267Graphics(Jam)3.91
#410Mood(Jam)3.29
#729Theme(Jam)3.17
#925Overall(Jam)2.73

Comments

fistmaker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Really like the graphical effects, very well done. Wish that there was more.

Don_Martinez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:34pm

I really like the blurriness of the wolf vision and how the movement of the camera behaves. Good fundament for an actual game.

djfariel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:40am

From what I was able to tell, there is a lot of potential here. I'm not sure what all there is to do, but I found a lot of ways to die and also, I escaped from the enclosure by running up the hill. I am interested in seeing more of this game.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:20am

Nice FX, but the gameplay is a little bit poor so as to be really enjoyable. However it's a cool entry. Where is the monster? Thank you ++

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:16am

Really nice mood and visuals!

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:19am

amazing graphics, so sad how you didn't have more time to finish it.

rotpar says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:24am

Very nice concept! Loved the visuals.

tobbez says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:27am

There doesn't seem to be anything to do. You should consider putting an end point even in a short proof of concept.

Jajo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:40am

Decent for just one day of work. It's a shame you didn't get the time. I liked the idea of silhouette graphics. The controls were quite responsive. I recommend making some suspenseful music if and when you expand on it.

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:45am

Nice visuals but not much else going on. If only you could have added some sort of gameplay on Sunday. Keep at it!

justinooncx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:03am

Interesting experience, though I hesitate to call it a game. Entertained myself by walking off the land and falling forever.

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Potential game here, shame not much else.

Zampi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:34pm

I'm realy like camera dirt effect and glow. But I can't get it in all

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:39pm

I fell into that pesky hunter's traps more than once, I'd like the chance to even the score so please keep working on the game! It has a lovely mood, I like the effects a lot especially the texture around the light sources.

struffy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Agreed with the general thoughts here. Nice gfx. Being a wolf with all these hazy lights with its disorientating effect is nice. Would be great to sneak up on a village etc.

mubox says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:37am

Good graphics, with a good camera effect.

BooleanByte says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:15pm

I realy like it, just wish there were more to it. Seeing what i could se in this "preview" I think you could make a good game out of this.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]