Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster

by Aiursrage2k - Jam Entry

If you get hit you lose a "head", if you eat a person you get an extra head, once you run out of heads you lose a life.

You walk by the bombs to trigger the bombs which damage nearby bombs/enemies. Pickup the stars to increase your multiplier.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#461Theme(Jam)3.54
#472Fun(Jam)3.13
#599Mood(Jam)3.00
#609Humor(Jam)2.65
#625Innovation(Jam)2.88
#677Overall(Jam)3.04
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Good work, Nice graphics

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:46pm

I played this game for ages but it took me far longer than it should have to work out I needed to walk into the mines to destroy the vehicles. Having said that I don’t understand why the vehicles only seem to randomly kill you.

Either way it’s a good entry and fun on a really raw level.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:43am

Hard game but a nice one. Good Work!

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:36am

Nice job!

panda says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:39am

very pretty graphics, and the game is right on theme! I love how your "lives" are just the height of your monster. It was a bit jarring to have buses and helicopters in what looked like a virtual world, but it was fun anyways.

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:24am

I'm in love with the visuals. The wave effect especially got to me. Sounds get repetitive after a little while, but great job otherwise.

sadenly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Really nice graphics, but the rules are not so clear.

bakakyo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Right on theme! Really cool setting and nice design on the mines and the vehicles. Great wave effect btw!
The mechanic is very sweet. That was a lot of fun.

Nardom says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:08am

I liked the geometry wars-like visual style of the grid in the background. It was a nice entry, I enjoyed playing it. Movement could feel a little slow at times when chasing the humans (I assume those were humans), and dodging cop cars. At times I felt I could use a boost in movement speed. Perhaps something in the form of a powerup?

- "Nomnomnom".

Denis347 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Good game, it was fun! Nice art style.

Kassimkot says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:26am

Awesome game. Nom Nom Nom. had a good laugh too

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:27pm

I liked the visual effects, I just have no idea what was happening or why. I couldn't tell which things I should be hitting vs what was hurting me, which made my deaths confusing and ultimately frustrating.

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Frenzy!! Cool monster and computer grid graphics and effects. It seems strange a giant monster would rely on bombs to destroy a city, but it leads to an interesting mechanic. I like when it switches to a realistic city in the game over screen.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]