Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

HanniBall

by snooze82 - Compo Entry

Are YOU the real, true Monster?
Are YOU HannibaLL, or is it the other Player?

2-Player Game, kick your opponent off the floating island.

If the music is too annoying, scroll down and click the stop button :)

Made with JavaScript and THREE.JS.

UPDATE:
The rules say, I should highlight the missing-shadow bugfix, which I added after submission: I added a missing light source for player shadows (otherwise, it's nearly impossible to know, where you are on the field).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#430Audio2.80
#602Humor2.39
#683Innovation2.66
#711Fun2.67
#760Graphics2.49
#793Mood2.36
#877Overall2.50
#936Theme1.82

Comments

Suese says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:45am

AHH MY EARS!! Collision bug, the players fly off the screen.

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:37pm

I really enjoyed the music and it was really clever to put it at the bottom of the page because then we can change the settings at any point.

I would have loved to play this with two people however for some reason WASD didn’t work for me so I didn’t really get to experience the game, for this reason I will not leave a rating in those categories.

razavidn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:38pm

A fun little game, feels a little shoehorned into the theme maybe?

Tigris says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Not very thematic, but nice attempt.

snooze82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:46pm

razavidn: My girlfriend is reading all the Hannibal novels -- I thought of aliens, virusses, zombies and always came back to Hannibal - not shoehorned, but yes, it looks like :D

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Loved it!

cudabear says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:02pm

This game reminds me of a mario party minigame, haha. Didn't have someone to play with but I had a good laugh for a couple minutes playing each character with a separate hand.

The controls feel a little abrupt, some acceleration/deceleration in a game like this would make it feel more out of control.

The collision with the floor seemed a bit odd, sometimes I was floating.

Great job making a 3D game in webGL in 48 hours!

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:12pm

This music tho! :D

uvwar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Made me think of the Mario Party bumperball minigame. I really like the stretch out face graphics.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:27pm

I tried with my room mate but we couldn't get use to the controls. Most of the deaths were caused by our own actions. The music is annoyingly beautiful.

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:00pm

I was able to stuck both player on the upper left corner, without nothing beneath them. :o
Interesting entry for the "2 players" possibility! However, hard to know exactly where you are. Maybe a little shadow under the guys would have been perfect! I had some fun :) Thank

snooze82 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Goutye: Uh, yes. I added lights and shadow casting, but introduced a bug somehow. Fixed it. Thanks.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Fun game. Love the simple music. Congrats

stevenlr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Pretty nice game, but the collisions are a bit bugged. I like the terrain, and the music create a nice mood. However you modified your entry and didn't leave the original compo version.

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:43am

I had fun. The music was good but the collision sound was a bit much. Good sumo game.

m3_on says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Haha, it's a cute idea, but has some bugs. I was able to clip my ball into the other ball and then the audio would go nuts playing the collision sound!

shawn42 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:10am

Fun game. I did notice that if I just held space, I could jump forever and never fall. \o/ Also, yes please fix the collision bug sounds :(

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 10:54am

It made me laugh more than anything. It is cute, and the collision bugs are just hilarious.
Well you made my day!

yuigoto says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:45pm

The real "Hanniball", huh? :P Nice little game! Is the terrain made up of voxels, or generated randomly? Nice! :)

The music isn't that annoying, it's quite fun and calming actually. The only thing I had problems was the collision bug and the sfx when this happened. :P

snooze82 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:27pm

thanks for all your comments - I playtested mainly with a gamepad which didnt result in these collision bugs. :/

yuigoto: the terrain is dynamically generated from noise and then stitched to the bottom side (which is also generated)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]