Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Beat Bunny

by alkazar - Jam Entry

A rhythm game starring a cute, but ferocious bunny/monster/thing!

Help the bunny blow up all the cute things by grooving to the beat!

Press the 1, 2, 3 number keys on your keyboard in time with the rhythm to destroy the incoming enemies.

The high score to beat is 34800.

If input isn't working, try clicking on the screen to give it focus.

We found that at least some keyboards do not support pushing more than two keys down at the same time! It is apparently a thing. Unfortunately there is nothing to be done as this is a limitation of the hardware. We tried to add controller support but were unable to get it working reliably.


IMPORTANT NOTES:
Graphics: only the bunny was made by team members (other graphics are from other sources)
Audio: only the music was made by team members (sound effects are from other sources)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#151Audio(Jam)3.63
#252Humor(Jam)3.33
#436Mood(Jam)3.26
#472Fun(Jam)3.13
#564Overall(Jam)3.17
#595Graphics(Jam)3.25
#632Innovation(Jam)2.87
#698Theme(Jam)3.22
#1668Coolness39%

Comments

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Either I suck, of this is difficult :)

merrak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

That bunny means business!

donaldm says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03am

I loved this game. It was a really cool concept to use a rhythm game for this, and I know from personal experience that rhythm games are hard to make!!

Great work. If I had one "complaint" is that you need to make an easy mode! I had to practice with the game over screen to be able to play at all.

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Cool music, but very hard game!
Good job friends!

Romaing says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:38pm

7710 is my high score^^
the game is simple, but fun is here!

iossif says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:42pm

why can't i stop playing this?!

Grhyll says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:40pm

I would like to love it, but it is insanely difficult! I have the feeling it's not synced perfectly, so I have brief instants where I have the right offset, and then it's all missed again (and yet I love rythm game and I'm usually not bad at it!). In addition to that, I spent like 4 games (refreshing the page each time, since there's not restart :( ) just finding out only the keys on the left of the keyboard worked, and not those on the numerical keyboard... (and one more game where the focus must have been somewhere else, so I tried the right keys and it wasn't doing anything...)
Yet this is very nice, music is good, I'm not sure about the sync issue (maybe you let a very very tiny time interval?).

alkazar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47pm

We spent quite a bit of time fixing sync issues and I was quite sure we nailed it. But if there is any lag, that could probabl throw it off.

I recommend playing on our site via the Downloads and Links option to avoid the focus issue and trusty F5 to restart. A restart button was planned but didn't make it in the time we had, sorry.

alkazar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Oh, the time interval for a hit to register is 400 ms which I found to actually be quite generous.

chrissou says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Either I suck or it's juste really hard... can't pass the 1000 points...
Nice concept and art :)

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:37pm

i died at 3s the first time :) love style art !

tayl1r says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Hard!

someone9999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:45pm

This is fantastic fun! A really well made rhythm game.

I could only get 30700 for my high-score, although I still have the 10 hearts :).

I like how the bunny's face changes as you take damage. It's a nice touch.

t4u says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:34pm

High on graphic(love mantis,chickens,rabbit and everything else), Ok on audio. Gameplay could be more entertaining.

You wrote in description
"Graphics: only the bunny was made by team members
Audio: only the music was made by team members"

I don't understand it :(

marudziik says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:34pm

A bit too difficult for me, but I did try a couple of times. A restart option (i.e. without refreshing) would be great.

kakarotsan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:18am

Great job, guys! The game is super cute! The music and art work really well together to create a childish mood.

Most people are saying the game is pretty hard. There's a bit of stutter when a number button is pressed which throws off the rhythm, making it hard to get a good score.

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:51am

The game is just great, art is really cool for that kind of game, but I just can hit 3 buttons at the same time and crash all enemies on every line, and that a cheat in my opinion. Anyway - it's great, really moody.

alkazar says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:14pm

You can mash all the buttons, but you get -10 points each time you do!

Saf says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:53pm

All 3 button mashing worked for me :) just the score ended up going negative every few seconds :) A refreshing game, Good job

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:30pm

graphics are nice. The game is too hard for me since I'm not a big fan of this type of gameplay(purely subjective personal point of view)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]