Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Synergistic Management Solutions

by dkilford - Jam Entry

A game about pretending to be busy at work.

See how many random tasks you can complete without doing any actual meaningful work! Beware though, people will eventually notice you don't contribute anything... Just organise a meeting or an impromptu fire drill! They'll be too busy to notice how little you do then!

Controls:

-Click and drag to move the camera around
-Click on objects that highlight red to interact
-Mouse wheel to zoom in/out

David Kilford @dkilford Code
Nicholas Zaharias @ngzaharias Code
Yosha Noesjirwan @HozZAaH Art
Jacob Connelly @cgbocaj Code
Jared Hahn @Element_105 Writing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Humor(Jam)4.11
#147Graphics(Jam)4.18
#185Audio(Jam)3.55
#214Innovation(Jam)3.43
#218Mood(Jam)3.55
#400Overall(Jam)3.36
#773Fun(Jam)2.71
#1007Theme(Jam)2.52
#1752Coolness36%

Comments

Sam Twidale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:12pm

In fullscreen mode mouse input had an incorrect offset of about 500px to the right. Also I didn't realize you had to click objects rather than the floor to move, so was confused until I tried windowed mode where it worked.

That aside it was funny and caught the pretentious business mood in every way. The atmospheric office background track was a nice touch. Great job.

dkilford says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Thanks for letting us know, I'll update the build tonight.

Rani_Sputnik says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:13am

Perhaps rename link to Windows? I'm on OSX so can't run :/

someone9999 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:52am

The art and humor in this game is fantastic! The minimalist style looks great. The gameplay is quite enjoyable as well.

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Cool idea, seemed quite difficult to get jobs done as some of them required doing things multiple times

teknic says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57pm

cute portal-clone visuals. not really sure how to play - too much happening on screen. i clicked around and got gold stars, but also inexplicably suffered red ones too...

dcolgan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Really cool visual styles.

pereubu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Really neat idea, I especially like the visuals.
I had to replay the game several times before completely understanding it but it was great :>

Chadivision says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Here is my TPS report:

This is a really cool game. I love the humor and the look of it.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:22am

Awesome entry! You have an eye for educational tools and stuff, I would love to be trained with something like this.

thomz12 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Love the portal-like artstyle!

PixelPerfect says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:01pm

I have absolutely no idea why I'm losing. Seems like a good concept but I can't figure it out at all

SvenFrankson says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Nice visuals and pretty cool animations ! What are the rules ? Keeping having red crosses for non-understood reasons.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:58pm

I really liked the humour, but it was a bit confusing to play.

Controls weren't apparent, and I didn't quite get why I was failing at times if I was actually performing the task. Could it be because of the counters, or was it related to the constant job assignment popups appearing to the left? I wasn't sure if that was a meta reference on the game setting or if it was related to the tasklist (sometimes it seemed it was, sometimes it didn't seem to).

Despite this, the game looks really cute with the iconic art, and corporate management mocking is a theme I'll never get tired of, so congrats!! :D

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Quite the fun game, though I really dont know why I keep losing. I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/L1fCW_I8xho

Riftpoint says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Haha, this game is so creative, I really liked it

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Interesting take on the theme!
I love the portal demonstration video graphics, they made this game awesome for me. 5 stars on graphics!

KaiseanGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Nice idea. It was a bit hard to grasp at the beginning, but then I realized what I need to do. It's a nice game. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]