Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Up & Away!

by bytegrove - Compo Entry

Guide the little monster to the top of the tree.

=================================================

-Use the mouse to rotate the camera!
-Kill monsters by jumping on them.

-Postcompo version has bugfix for using gamepads, as well as faster camera movement!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#51Graphics4.18
#122Overall3.69
#146Audio3.44
#192Fun3.45
#197Mood3.42
#427Humor2.80
#641Innovation2.72
#701Theme2.98

Comments

dustinaux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:34am

Looks and feels great! Movement felt a bit slow and slidy but great work overall. :)

Jajo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:00am

Reminds me of Super Mario 64. Well done, I'm just going to play your game for another few hours...

krasus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:48am

I love platformers, this reminds me of banjo kazooie! I love it. I will note though that the camera feels a bit slow.

ToloaGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47pm

The Player model looks really nice!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Reminds me of Super Mario 64. The controls need to be more sensitive though - there's a little bit of slide.

sapermysz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Very nice graphic!

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03pm

So much polish in the character! It looks and moves amazingly, the triple jump from mario 64 is pretty cool, but without variable camera angles it becomes really hard to control.

Omg scratch that, I just found mouse lookaround controls. It's a bit sluggish though.

Good stuff, gorgeous, I guess a return to the classic stuff is great :)

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11pm

As one of the only few 3D platformer entries I have seen, this one is quite nice. The graphics are well done and remind me of old PS1 style platfromers - nice and colorful. The controls were good and responsive but I hate the fact that you cannot turn to face a particular direction without taking a step in that direction. It just makes the whole thing feel slippery. The camera also needed some work. a free camera would have been much better than the fixed one you have since it made me do leaps of faith with no clue where I am going. Other than that, for a game made in such a short amount of time, this felt cool.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Glad people seem to enjoy it!
Just a heads up everyone:

THE CAMERA IS NOT FIXED!
USE THE MOUSE TO CONTROL THE CAMERA!

;) (forgot to put that in the tutorial)

I've added a postcompo version with some bugfixes, as I noticed the player could get stuck on enemies some times. I also sped up the camera movement.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Really fun gameplay, and your dino-bird thing is really cute(hope thats what u were going 4).
:)

SojaBird says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Super cool cool game!
It's pretty old school which is great.

The mouse not being hidden does bothered me a bit.
Also some jumps feel impossible

Fun thing though :) good work!!

bytegrove says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Updated the postcompo version:
= expanded tutorial(showing camera movement)
= bugfixed camera movement for gamepads
= fixed wrong button used for jump on gamepads
= added auto centering of camera behind character after 3 seconds when still
= increased speed of camera movement
= tweaked the movement of the player character.

Thank you all for your feedback! :D

steve says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Great character, sweet old school platformer vibe, jump was on Y for me rather than A for some reason, and could have done with a few frames of input buffering on the jump, and would have preferred it without the lives, but loved it nonetheless.

steve says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Just noticed it was a compo entry, not a jam, I'm even more impressed now!

LeoM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Nice platformer.
Note, as like eveybody using Qwerty keyboard, you can also map the "Z" key for up and "Q" for right move. ;)
If you only use wasd it should be great (and very nice for azerty users ;)
Some parts are very tricky and the camera control doesn't help.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Great entry. Camera was acting up a bit and I went through a wall but had a lot of fun nonetheless

bytegrove says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Gamepad mapping fixed in postcompo version, sorry about that.

TagliatL says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:29pm

I made it! Some jumps are hard to do but it was fun, it's incredible to make a 3D plateformer for a Ludum Dare, congratulations!

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:37pm

I really like the graphics and texture! Movement feels a bit slippery but I see that you already fixed it in your post compo ver. Audio is also nice and cute.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Very difficult, controls aren't tight enough imo. Also the camera was pointing too much down all the time, a bit annoying

bytegrove says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:00pm

New fixes in postcompo version:
= Music glitch (multiple sound objects playing) fixed.
= Wall glitch at first enemy fixed (When you walked in the corner the physics system broke and you disappeared)

Riftpoint says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:36am

Very nice! I like games with that kind of gameplay. The art is nice too

Virtualwindow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:17am

Loved the dismount!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Extremly cute Design. I like it very much. Pleas expand on it.

plusultra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:10pm

nice PC model!

Hemuuuli says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:19pm

I really love low res textures on models so this pulled just the right strings in my brain to fall love into its graphics. <3

Loutrattitude says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Cool Game, very nice art ! :)

Goutye says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:28pm

I really liked to jump in this amazing atmosphere (Beautiful choice of colors). However, that was boring to have to jump 3 times to do the biiiiiiig jump. You have to use it 80% of the time. If Mario was like that, the success would have been terrible. Hope you will revise this point if you do a post-LD version! I really would like to see a post-LD so, do not hesitate to let me know when you will have one :D

bytegrove says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:46am

Yeah, that's a good point Goutye. Thanks for the input!

Mase says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:25am

I found it difficult to make the triple jumps with enough momentum... so I failed to complete the mission.
The colorful textures are very pleasant though.

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:49am

I'm a Krok fan ! Thanks for the vibe man !

PurpleApes says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:06am

Good Game!! I like the triple jump!!

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:10am

Great job!

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:11am

Very solid platformer! The triple jump makes traversing the level interesting and is quite fun to use once you get the hang of it. The collision detection for ledges seems very unforgiving and the character seems to slide pretty far when he lands while moving in a direction which makes traversing narrow platforms a bit too difficult, and this was in the post compo version. Those are just minor complaints though, amazing work for a compo entry.

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:11am

This is a cool little platformer. I feel like the controls have some issues though.

In particular, the character moves forward a lot when you tap a direction, making it impossible to inch forward to position yourself for a jump and making it way too easy to accidentally fall off a platform.

I also miss a lot of triple jumps because I press the jump button too early. There ought to be some leeway. When the jump button is pressed, set an integer to something greater than zero (you'll have to play around with it to find a good value). Each frame, decrement this value by 1. When the player is on the ground, check to see if this value is greater than 0, and if is, trigger the jump.

I hope you find my feedback helpful!

Demy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:16am

Nice game and i love the grraphics and color scheme.

Andrew says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:25am

A lot of what I was going to say has already been covered. I just wanted to say how much I like the main character's design.

justinooncx says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:37am

Pretty goddamn polished game with lovable art and animations. Great job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:05am

Pretty fun. Definetly feels like a classic platformer. Controls were a little weird, sometimes it didn't register a jump.

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:23am

Nice entry. I love the graphics, the monster is really cute. After I died jumping was a bit harder, but the game overall is great.

spotco says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:31am

Controls felt really slippery, and precision platforming got a little old after a bit. Nice graphics though!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:33am

It's hard to move with camera like that. Even i failed to do triple jump tutorial.
Nice model though.

gillenew says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:31am

This game was the one I most liked because of art.
Good job creating this :D

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:50am

It's very elaborate!

Fallenthief says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:11am

I love 3D platformers and you really nailed it with this, it controls so well and is really fun to play. Best entry I've seen yet. Well Done!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:43am

Looks very much like those older PS1 N64 titles that I love so an instant nostalgia bomb there. Like the level design a lot and how the game plays. The character slides around slightly too much but gladly the game doesn't require incredible accuracy. Good job with this one!

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:19am

Maaan my GPU nearly exploded playing this.
Quite impressive for a one-man project though.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback! Seems like I should take a look at making it possible to perform smaller movements as well, and to add some grace period for jumps. I guess for camera you might want to be able to switch between automatic and manual?(right now its something half-tacky inbetween)
I'm thinking of tweaking jump heights as well, so triple jump are only necessary sometimes and when its really obvious.

P.T.A says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:28pm

awesome game!, the graphics and gameplay mechanics, very hard tho to control the jumps, but i will keep trying =D nice work!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:47pm

A fun game! Unique controls with the triple jump made the platforming challenging, I like the music and pixel/3d look.

Clurect says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:06am

Really great! I'd love to play more of it!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:36am

Loving this 3D style! Hope you're gonna continue working on it. :D

allinlabs says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:36am

Incredible game for a compo entry! Reminded me of some old Playstation platformer games

zatyka says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:09am

Classic 3d platformer feel. Controls could use tightening, and I didn't really feel the theme, but I really enjoyed playing, and hope you continue to work on this.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:49am

Very nice! Reminds me of the old collectathon games I used to play on my PSX. The player model looks really good! My only complaint is that the controlls feel somewhat slippery every now and then.

ChrisFagan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:50am

Movement was a little slow, but honestly that was really awesome. The animations are great, the visuals are beautiful and the music is very pleasant. Great job!

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:49pm

The art is very retro but nice. I liked the gameplay too.

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Cute monster, nice graphics, use off triple jump makes the game extra difficult, Very cool entry!

cbear_wallis says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:15pm

this was a really sweet change of pace for the all the games i've played this LD. I liked this game a bunch!!

rogberth says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Great game although I hate that I keep falling haha

PIXEL^3 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:54pm

I like the art and the setting. The music got repetitive over the course of 4 or 5 playthroughs. I felt like the controls would have been fine if I was given more air control and if there was a few frames to jump walking off a ledge as there was a lot of deaths from that. I also felt like the level design didn't compliment it well, as if you couldn't get a good flow of movement going. You had to stop and do a double or triple jump in place sometimes to get were you wanted to go. But maybe that's because I tried to speedrun it. Speaking of which it's apparently a sub 2 minutes game. https://youtu.be/6q_De-aiH6c

Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:55am

Really cute graphics! I included it in part 30 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/aghqdpQgwgA

Ellian says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:42pm

The graphics are fantastic.
It's pretty well done and very reminiscent of N64 platformers... awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]