Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

D÷V÷S÷ON

by pinkmonkeyhead - Compo Entry

DIVIDE AND CONQUER!

To rule the city you must eat citizens to grow stronger.

Mouse - Move
Right Mouse Button - Divide
M - Toggle music
T - Toggle Tilt Shift (Default is off, but if you can take it, go for it!)
ESC - Leave game

To join your splitter parts you must go out of your base!
(You get too comfortable inside the base to worry about joining your parts)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Audio3.60
#89Overall3.78
#92Graphics4.04
#120Fun3.63
#203Innovation3.44
#211Mood3.38
#564Humor2.48
#674Theme3.04
#1226Coolness49%

Comments

donaldm says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:58am

This game was a lot of fun! I liked the concept.

Things that might improve it:

1. The controls were a bit hard to use. I think arrow key movement might make it better, or lock the mouse to the center of the window.

2. It was hard to know when I could divide.

3. Sometimes it was frustrating to chase down the balls. Was their

Elenesski says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:40am

kinda reminded me of osmos. controls are a little hard to use, perhaps keeping the window more central might make aim eaiser. not sure how it fits the theme.

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:29am

I think it really fits the theme. Thou joining to previous commentaries.

MAnimal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:19am

Awesome idea, for me this game is innovation madness. Highly recommended game for everyone. Sometimes my character was moving slower than i like.
When someone eat my main ball(other balls are still alive) game will ends.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:53am

Wow, this was an interesting one for sure. The base mechanic of eat/divide was used really well here to produce something that felt like more than it was, in that I spent a good 15 minutes playing a game that didn't change the whole time. It was gorgeous, the music was very serene and well done, and I liked the textures of the balls. My only gripes are that I couldn't tell when I could divide, I couldn't figure out why one would want to go outside the base, and I lost numerous balls to getting stuck in the terrain. Overall though, a really great entry.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:47am

Feels Agar.io inspired. Great work. It's very well polished!

guoboism says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:59pm

It's like Cosmos! It's like Pikmin!
Well done! Picked by GB!

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Is a clone-idea from http://agar.io/

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Pretty fun! I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/tto3rRaLBXQ

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:40am

Ahhh I love games like these! You get too much slower as you get larger though, sometimes even to the point that you don't seem to be moving anymore. Might be intentional..?

rudra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:15am

This is great. Loved the graphics and the concept. Good job!

Darkflint says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:32pm

A simple yet interesting game! But not easy^^

Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:16am

Graphics and sound were really good for a compo entry. I never have enough time to make my games look or sound that good.

GertJohnny says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:30am

3D Agar.io, neat! The pace was a bit slow for my liking, but the experience was still good overall.

Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:41am

Really good twist on the katamari mechanic. Division helps you cover more ground but leaves you vulnerable. I dunno if getting game over after losing a tiny piece was intentional, but I didn't like that aspect. Overall great idea!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]