Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Possession

by Clurect - Compo Entry

I really liked this theme actually. It was fun to work on and I thought that I had a decent idea for it. You are a spirit that must possess a monster and then hunt down the "good" rabbit that you hate so much with a white hot passion that burns your very soul... erm. Sorry got carried away.

It will work with touch screens, but I didn't get the music to work on android. No idea about iOS devices. There's a QR code to scan for quick access.

I hope to use this to boost my skill at game making so I can get some of my ideas out to everyone to play :) you can follow me on twitter to see if I've got anything new coming @clurect

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#548Innovation2.87
#585Theme3.21
#736Fun2.62
#773Graphics2.45
#918Overall2.35

Comments

swizzcheez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:23am

Short and to the point.

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:32am

Quite simple, and still need some polish, but the idea is cool :)

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Good music, but not much to do ingame.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:28pm

I thought it was gonna be a tower defense game but it was short but kinda cool I guess

Gravity Games says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Well, the graphics clashed a lot, and it was way too short in my opinion, but the concept is strong, and I had fun for the 15 seconds I got to play. There definitely needs to be more monsters to control and more "good guys" to destroy, maybe even have each one have strengths and weaknesses.

Clurect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Yeah the goal was to make more monsters to possess (and a way to de-possess) and make good guys spawn more. That was the idea I started with... those will be post compo additions. I really did want them in there for the compo.

cudabear says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:10pm

This seems like a good base for a bigger game. I actually wish there was more, this seems like it could make for a good game with puzzle and action elements.

Valicitor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Short, snappy with a side of humor

GagaPete says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:01pm

I was expecting mode of a sandboxy games (possess what you want to kill anything else to see what happens) but a cool implementation nonetheless.

PS: Music works on Fire OS (Amazon Kindle Fire)

bwafflecone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Really like where the concept and mechanics are going!

fistmaker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:04pm

A bit short, but functional. Needs more game.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Huh? :D

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Haha, wow that was short. But love the idea. Perhaps you can keep possessing more powerful things in the future?

cheapmecha says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:38pm

It's a funny game, the idea is nice, more enemies would be lovely, tho'.

Gil4 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:00am

Nice concept bro, I'd sure play more if there were some other levels or something like that.

ninjacharlie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:16am

I didn't test on touch screen (which is probably where some of the work was put), but a few more levels and some other mechanics could make it interesting.

Clurect says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:07am

I actually didn't do anything to get it to work on the touch screen, I'm just a noob and also have a lot to do on the weekend :/

Muush says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:29am

Won in less than 3 seconds. 10/10 played again

Kalm004 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Great idea. A larger gameplay would be better. Nice work!

Tosic says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:23pm

The fact it is short really adds up to innovation, and I do like the graphics, overall, it is good.

d3garcia says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:52am

jajajaja teh idea is really cool!

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Death to the Bunnies! LOL. Those carrot eating jerks! Quick, funny game.

Kizler says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:49pm

I love the music just stopping when you win. I've refreshed this game a bunch of times just to chase the rabbit around!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]