Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

I Spy (A Ghost!)

by OmarShehata - Jam Entry

HOW TO PLAY:
-----------

This is super EXPERIMENTAL game! It requires you to grab a phone, and another player and play against each other. You'll need to PAIR UP TWO DEVICES to play! Open the game's link on your phone, get the code, type it in the game on your computer and play!

One player is on the laptop, trying to survive and kill the ghost. The ghost player, on the phone, is trying to drop objects on the player. Both players cannot see each other on their screens! The player using the phone is encouraged to look at both the phone and the computer screen to time their attacks!

At the moment only ANDROID phones are supported (unless you can find a browser on iOS that supports WebRTC)

Thief Player (On the computer)
------------------------------

-WASD/Arrow keys to move
-Z or K to attack

Attacking will kill the ghost if within range, but display your location to their screen, making you vulnerable until your attack recharges

Ghost Player (On the phone)
---------------------------

-Tap anywhere to move
-Tap on the ghost to drop an object (kills the player)

You are invisible, but moving gives the player a hint of where you were, so be careful!


====================

Again, this is a super experimental game. It's made using Phaser (HTMl5 framework) and PeerJS for the networking. Let us know about the bugs you encounter!

DON'T HAVE AN ANDROID PHONE?

You can always just try opening two browser windows! Or two laptops!

Programming by Omar Shehata (@Omar4ur)
Art by Tak (@Takorii)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#4Innovation(Jam)4.42
#50Overall(Jam)4.03
#79Fun(Jam)3.81
#132Graphics(Jam)4.23
#161Theme(Jam)3.93
#228Mood(Jam)3.53
#363Humor(Jam)3.10

Comments

DalaiLlama says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:27am

What a superb submission! The concept is pretty awesome, I just wish there was more to the gamplay itself. I also ran into a couple of sync bugs, but that's the price to be paid for experimenting with something novel like this I guess.
Congratulations! And please do continue to work on it :D I would love to see this up on Google Play sometime!

OmarShehata says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:29am

Thank you DalaiLlama! I think there's definitely potential for the gameplay to grow, but we spent so much time trying to get the networking working right (and it still has all these bugs!)

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:07pm

That was really good fun! A really innovative and different game, very refreshing and fun to play! We didn't have any network bugs either. Very well done!

rotpar says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:31am

+5 on innovation! Really fun too.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:48am

We tried to play but every time I press enter to start the game it reads it as a character.

OmarShehata says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:17am

commodoreKid, hmm, that's odd! What browser are you using?

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Fun game! Loved the graphics. Had the same issue with Enter beng treated as a character on Mozilla (worked OK on Chrome).

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:57am

Like ComodoreKid, I try to play but every time when I press enter to start the game it reads it as a character. I use the last FireFox. Strange ++

OmarShehata says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:57am

Thanks for the bug report Geckoo! I updated the game, it should be working on Firefox now. Let me know if you run into anything else!

Alexbrainbox says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:54pm

oh wow this game is an amazing entry! IT rare to find a working multiplayer game as a LD submission, me and my boyfriend play for a while taking turns as the ghost and thief! very fun

fdslk says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:31am

5 out of 5 in everything to me!

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:48am

I can't play this :-/ Even if I play enter and my friend is already in, the game just doesn't start!

OmarShehata says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:49am

Drunkteam, what browser(s) are you using? Is your friend on a mobile phone? It could just be a connection issue, maybe try refreshing again? (it could be that WebRTC isn't supported on one of the browsers)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:44pm

I had no choice other than give high ratings for this game, cuz it was quite the submission! Multiplayer, awesome graphics, amazing music, excellent concept? I wasn't ready! :D

Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Nice graphics, gameplay, idea... overall it's an excelent game!! Good work!!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Looks really interesting! But, I'm all apple here, so I didn't have a chance to play.

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:46pm

I wish I could have got this game to work, because I think it would have been very fun to play. I tried chrome and firefox, but no dice. Darn it. I did get to move the ghost character around on my Samsung phone, but everything was black. The computer screen was just sitting at the enter your partners code screen.

OmarShehata says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:31pm

BoyWithAStick, are you on a Windows? What OS exactly? Are your browsers up to date?

magenta says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Cute graphics with really smooth controls and animation. Odds are possibly slightly against the player - ghost always seem to win :}

LogGiant says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:56pm

This game is fantastic! It had a couple quirks when I played, namely the ghost's screen would occasionally turn black and not show any terrain. I had no issues running it on my PC, but it would be nice if there was a short delay on the thief/ghost wins screen because usually I was frantically trying to move and accidentally restarted the game immediately.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Larzan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:35pm

One Word: WOW.
Great concept, beautiful gfx, well done.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:57pm

404 not found! D:
Please dude fix it, I want to try this game :D

undef says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Hey Omar, I'm getting a 404 on your link, please fix it!

OmarShehata says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Sorry about that! Should be fixed now!

Cyberwiz says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Wow what a really cool game you guys made here. It was a bit touch and go on the performance side if the device is quite old, but it seems it can be lots of fun!

undef says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Nice graphics, great music, great idea, but I can't seem to kill the ghost (lamp didn't seem to work).

OmarShehata says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Thanks Cyberwiz!

undef, it could be one of the devices losing connection (it tends to happen sometimes). Maybe if you restart them both?

eddynardo says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:58am

Both my lg g3 and tablet cant play this game.

OmarShehata says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:15am

eddynardo, does it give you an error? Does it not load? Does it not connect?

psychonull says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:01pm

wow amazing!!. I got a lot of synch issues but the concept and the game (music, graphics, fun and mood) are really good!. I tryied it out with Chrome browser on both desktop (v40) and mobile (samsung android 5). great game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]