Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Sewer Monster City

by bitslap - Compo Entry

Sewer Monster City


Teenage Mutant Ninjas have killed the President
Anarchist Punks have taken over the city :(
Are you even bad enough?


How to:
xbox 360 gamepad:
dpad + a,x,start

Keyboard:
arrows + x,c,esc


Linux and OSX ports coming soon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Graphics4.54
#61Audio3.73
#109Overall3.74
#125Mood3.59
#163Fun3.51
#315Humor3.05
#490Theme3.36
#771Innovation2.47
#2273Coolness10%

Comments

Sam Twidale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:41am

Listening to this in the background whilst playing this :) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Py0QpvvJl_s

OccamsRazor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:33am

It's things like this that make me feel bad about myself :P

But in all honestly, amazing job! This feels so tight and polished, its hard to believe you did it in 48 hours. Great graphics, sound, and punishingly hard, just like the arcade games of old! :)

sorceress says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:40am

perfect game 5/5

TerinHD says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:08am

Great game! Mind if I make a youtube video while playing it?

bitslap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:12am

Go ahead TerinHD

Orni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:36am

best game I've played so far
amazing experience, nicely done!

I hope you'll continue working on it. I'd love to play more levels :D

tuben999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:33am

Just amazing! not sure how anyone can pull of such a great game in so little time! really amazing the art is just breathtaking. Some feedback tough the character sometimes feel a bit "slippery" (slided of a platform into the water) :'/ so you dont feel like you are in full control at all times.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:06am

Loved the whole game design, the characters colours and animations just work so well with the platformer style. Tough challenging game which I couldn't stop playing. Nicely done and great polished entry. The news story at the start was also a clever way of setting the scene.

adamwoolridge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:20am

Awesome work, looks fantastic. I just wish I wasn't so rubbish at it so I could get further :) Great game.

gero1991 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:18am

amazing!

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:29pm

I really like the graphics, but the controls are too hard and it's too unforgiving (only 1 HP?!)

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:12pm

The sprites are darling, the controls are tight. One time I played and all the enemies were rats. Not sure if easter egg or bug.

I like how you made it challenging, but I don't like how a lot of the challenge came from the slippery floors.

Some music would really make this stand out.

Jared Sartin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Super pretty!

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Great entry, loved the graphics style and music/sound complemented the game and graphics well. Only criticism was starting with a single health made it quite difficult to test through but it doesn't help when the player is 'challenged' like me :)

jsmars says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Very impressive game! People thought my game was hard but this is a whole different level, very unforgiving, but I like that!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Controls could be more tight I think, it's very easy to accidentally fall off a ledge with just a slight key tap :(
And then you have to restart from the very beginning .. A bit tedious.

On the other hand, the graphics are amazing!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:12pm

This was fun. I could barely make it past the first level. The floor friction could use some work as it makes the platforming unnecessarily challenging. All in all a nice arcade-y game. The one feature it lacks of the old arcade games is the ability to continue from some sort of checkpoint. I'd say it was about 75% punishing in the fun way and 25% punishing in the not-necessary way.

bentglasstube says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33am

The way the enemies remain while dying is a bit annoying, makes it hard to rush through the parts you have to play over and over.

Are you supposed to be able to make the jump at the end of the second screen?

Korso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:58am

Very nice graphics, and the controls are ok for me -maybe a little less gravity and friction would help-. Nice music and mood. One complaint though, I'd add frequent savepoints if the game is so hard.

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Fun game, good sound and graphics. The game is pretty fast, and the respawn speed was fairly slow for the rate at which I died. Kudos for the aesthetics! +I also crashed after a while of playing:
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object oPaus:

Unable to find any instance for object index '16' name 'oHpBar'
at gml_Object_oPaus_Step_0
############################################################################################

Yrr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:55am

I love pretty much everything about this tbh.

amras0000 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:49pm

The graphics are spot on as usual, but there's a lot of level/game design quirks that make this a thoroughly frustrating experience. There were too many times that I'd try to reach a tresure chest only to hit a wall and fall straight down through a gap in the lower level and die. There are very clearly defined levels, which gives a sense of accomplishment only until you realize there aren't any checkpoints. And too many platforms are just-out-of-reach, seemingly designed to make the player fuck up thinking they'll reach them.
And having to mash the attack button is never fun.
Probably the biggest fault in all the game is the starting room. You die very easily in the game (even getting health upgrades still requires you to get a random heart drop, which I never managed in the right order) and getting back into the game after death involves waiting for the Game Over screen, mashing through the start screen, mashing through the intro dialogue, and walking out of the room. I know you can do better, bitslap :T
Very nice looking game, but I didn't enjoy the gameplay much.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Awesome, especially for a compo, really polished, awesome graphics and sound.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Psssst - you are in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k4fkEeN5Nys

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:23pm

It's just a fun, challenging, platformer. At first the challenge is a bit frustrating, but when I got used to it I had a lot of fun. The controls being very slightly slidy adds to the challenge as well. Overall very nice job! Super polished!

FireTwin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Really great game, I too struggled with the slippyness of the character, but I think perhaps that is intentional since he is a slimy character after all!
One thing I didn't see anyone mention is THAT BACKGROUND IS BEAUTIFUL. It's shimmering in the darkness :O

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:26am

Rad game with rad/great graphics! It has really nice NES-like aesthetics, which I liked a lot!

I only found the movement to be a little too slippery to my liking...

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:45am

Awesome side scrolling shoot'em up!

Sanju says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:51am

Good old style platformer. Love this kind of games. Just to raise an objection, when you die the game takes you to the start of the first level, maybe could be better that it'd take you to the start of the current level.

Great work anyway.

plusultra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:58am

This is one of the tightest games I saw in the entire jam. A+

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:38am

This game is hard, I like it. Awesome graphics.

MrMordem says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:59am

Graphics and music are pure retro gold, the little storyline at the begining is really funny with its mashup of references, the game is very good overall, it just has quite a difficulty spike to it, other than that good job !

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Nice game :D Loved it. Nice perfect solid game. Pretty difficult, but great game overall.

CrownCity says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:34pm

I enjoyed the game, especially the art. That the character was so slippery made it very difficult, not sure if think that's a good/bad thing yet.
But I enjoyed it. Thank you

rnlf says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Looks cool as always! And it has the stereotypical, unforgiving, patented bitslap difficulty. I have made it to the first (?) reachable toolbox after a million tries. Is there a way to reach those near the beginning? Especially the one right above the spawn?

I'll give it a try in a few days. Somehow I felt like jump and shoot need to be swapped... couldn't get my fingers adjusted to this layout for some reason.

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:48pm

This is one good looking/sounding game. The graphics are fantastic and so is the music. The controls were quite good but took some getting used to. The slippery nature gave quite a bit of weight to the character, however, I felt with how percise the platforming got, this did more bad than good. Other than that, a great oldschool entry!

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Graphics were wonderful, but I was quite annoyed at the slippery physics. The music fit the old school NES presentation well (and it sounds like you used Famitracker, funnily enough)! I was confused at why half of the treasure chests and jumps were just out of reach, including the one at the end of the second level. Was there a double jump power up I missed or something? Regardless, great entry. Good work!

Datamosh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:31pm

I saw a lot of times the Game Over screen, the friction of platforms and instant death by falling of them makes the game too difficult. Beyond that is a beautiful, polished and fun game!

Ibai Aizpurua says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:50pm

One of the best games of the jam! Congratulations!

parDal says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Good game.

Amazing pixel-art, incredible sound work and music and solid gameplay, albeit it's too retro hard to me.

Impressive that you made this in 48h, nice work.

HappyHour says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:53am

Stylin'!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:22am

Looks great but it took me some time to figure out the controls. The game is also very unforgiving.

intXparts says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Awesome game! The gameplay is tough, but all around solid. Nice job!

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Controls felt a bit floaty (on a controller, at least). Starting with only one health is pretty frustrating, especially when you get health pickups before getting your first health boost, and it also de-maximizes the window when you die for some reason. Game is fun though, love the graphics and music, found it interesting how the enemies are randomly selected. Impressive work!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Nice game, awesome art style, but I missed an background music.
Overall, amazing game. You have a gift to draw =)

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:59am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Teesquared says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:10am

Very complete game but difficulty for me was brutal. Sound and visuals were excellent. Best use of the color green ever.

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:57am

For a compo entry, this was solid. I love these kinds of games anyday. Great graphics work too. Man, that's talent. Solid entry

walsh9 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:21am

I love the pixel art but I just cannot handle the slipperiness.

Frump says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:04am

Beautiful art but incredibly hard to control. Was I super slippery because I was a sewer monster?

LeafThief says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:18am

Wow I found this incredibly hard O-o. I died so much and then the game was reset :/

It looked and sounded juicy and good. Very nice job!

freaknarf says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:01am

Very nice and frustrating old school game :) Character's slide forces the player to be carefull at every move, and enemies are dangerous even when they're dead, i felt like i was playing a very sadist game...
Once i get used to this i could manage to end it but i must admit i was really wondering if it was beatable at first games ...
Visuals and sfx are really nice and polished, so it was enjoyable to restart even with this difficulty.
The boss seems a bit broken or easy compared to the first levels :)

Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:13am

Too hard, but quite fun.

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Turns out, I'm not bad enough at all... (great game!)

Suese says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:53am

Wow! You.. kinda made the same game again.. :p

pixzleone says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:37am

Really cool game, good job!

Btw, I got a bug, doesnt matter, but I figured you wanna see: http://pastebin.com/gDKy1v7d

Patomkin says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:48pm

The controls are tight, the game is great, but... too unforgiving :( I got seven health, double jump, was going back to second level after taking the chest from the first one, slipped, fel, died and immediately closed the game.
And the boss was much easier than the rest of the game :D

dollarone says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Great mood and graphics. The jumping feels a bit short and I slipped quite easily off some ledges. And 1 life!! TOO HARD ;) But awesome work.

careless says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:03am

As always a solid entry, very nice pixel art and really unforgiving game play as were all the old game.

Very well put together :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]