Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The adventures of the Squire and the Liar

by JonathanG - Jam Entry

Play as Axel Lyre, as he journeys across the shire with his trusty squire.

The villages are in danger from nearby monsters, and they're looking for someone to protect them! Axel Lyre could be that someone... except he has no intention of actually fighting any REAL monsters! Instead, his squire dresses in a monster costume and pretends to fight, so he can gain the trust of the townsfolk and take their gold.

During the stage fight, icons will move across the top of the screen. Hit the WASD keys in time with the music to perform moves! Some moves have to be matched, but blank icons let you fill in the gaps with your own flair! Just try not to:
- beat the monster too easily
- get beaten back by the monster
- accidentally skewer your squire.

See the 4th screenshot* for more information about the controls.

Note that:
- on the main menu, press ENTER to start the game.
- on the map screen, click the VISIT button on an adjacent village to go there
- on the village screen, press SPACE to start the fight!

=============================================

by Jonathan Gover, Duncan Stead, Simon Withington, Thomas Fawcett, Richard Pilot and Ed Moffatt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#80Humor(Jam)3.88
#115Audio(Jam)3.72
#142Innovation(Jam)3.59
#142Mood(Jam)3.72
#302Graphics(Jam)3.85
#303Overall(Jam)3.48
#373Fun(Jam)3.26
#553Theme(Jam)3.42

Comments

Dastina says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37am

Haha, I LOVE this game!! So far the game with the most content, core mechanics work well, the feel of the game is authentic and and art speaks to your sarchastic side. Love it!!

peecestudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39am

Very good game. Well done graphics with audio! Very difficult at least for me XD !

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39am

Nice funny artstyle, i have to find out how to start that game xD

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Great Game feel!

placatedduck says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:30pm

The randomly generated world was a nice touch!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Very nice game! The web version was a bit laggy at later levels though, but it does run on Linux.

Atridas says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:43pm

I liked the concept! Rithm-battle game is great, but the difficulty curve may be a little too step :-P

Arnage says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Great game with lot's of polished content hampered only by a too steep learning curve.

Strike says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:24pm

One of the very best game of this LD33.

I'll start with a minor complain about the usability of the interface (main menu, map) which doesn't seem consistent and easy to use. Switching between mouse and keyboard is not really practical. But once you are used to it, it's fine.

I love the concept, I love the gameplay, I love the art, I love the music, I love the procedurally generated worlds, I love the random events. I beat this game and I keep replaying it. Really great job here. That's really sad you have so little reviews, your game deserves to be way more known and played.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:37pm

I recommend people play the Windows version since the WebGL version has some lag that's a huge no-no for rhythm games such as this. Other than that, I absolutely loved the concept and I really like the freestyling elements (and how surprisingly deep the battle system is).

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Humor ist top, gamplay get some time to know what to do! Very cool entry!

Draknek says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Could do with more consistent button usage! My first attempt to play:
* click new game, doesn't do anything, okay so it's a keyboard game
* press space, doesn't do anything
* press enter, go to world map
* use arrows to move the camera
* press space/enter, doesn't do anything
* click on starting town, doesn't do anything
* click on other towns, but on the image of buildings and the hitbox isn't big enough to detect it so it doesn't do anything
* Eventually hover over the right part of a town so it becomes obvious that yes it is mouse-based even if it doesn't seem that way
* on town info screen, press enter, doesn't do anything
* in fight, try to press arrows/space/enter/anything. Nothing does anything.
* go back to this page, see that you have to use WASD in the fight, not arrows.

And then the fighting isn't convincing enough even though the village is 96% gullible and I don't even know what triggers the fight to end.

Hopefully that's helpful!

Teesquared says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:40am

Really funny and complete game. The difficulty for me was too high but it kept me trying and trying (and lying :). Maybe showing the key to press and icon would help some. Great play on words too. Lyre Liar, costume on squire!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:45am

Well done, the graphics, the music, the layout of the game. Was really cool! :)
A bit hard to get your hands on it at first it reveals its true potential after some training :P
anyway good job :)

LeoM says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Very hard at start to understand how it's working and what you have to do.
After a few (a lot) of try I succeed my fist battle, only play up and down ! ^^
The insta game over when you lose, even after succeed in 3 or 4 villages is very punishing.
Liked the generative worlds.

azokal says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Nice game! Well done!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Funny little game!

This game could very much use an in-game reference for the controls. Also, the timing seemed a little off to me. More indication of the rhythm would help. Even on easy, it was nearly impossible.

g_o says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Nice entry, pretty hard though XD

Twinters says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:28pm

I'm pretty impressed by all the animations and the content of this game. The controls were rather hard to figure out though, made the game even more difficult than it already was. Great job anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]