Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Apparel

by Cosmologicon - Compo Entry

Mastermind-style logic game with monsters. Play in your browser on desktop or mobile. Drag and drop the letters in the T-shirt design, and rearrange them to find the one whose appearance matches the customer. You don't need to play very long: you'll get the gist of it after a minute or two.

This game is an homage to my favorite Sesame Street sketch, the Wonderful World of T-shirts:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SfXm5qFZnXQ

I always liked that the friendly, goofy-looking muppets in Sesame Street are "monsters", and the sketch raises all sorts of questions of what it means to be a monster in the world of Sesame Street. Are there other Gorfs besides Kermit the Gorf? If a gorf is a kind of monster, is a frog is a kind of monster? Why is it "Cookie Monster" and not "Cookie the Monster"? You won't get any answers from this game!

Hints/instructions: Each position in the word corresponds to a feature. So the first letter might determine the eyes, the second letter the height, etc. Which letter is in each slot determines the value of that feature. These relationships are randomized with each customer.

The fact that you have to swap letters means you can't just change one feature at a time: you're always changing at least two. Early stages (3 or 4 letters) you're probably better off just guessing, but you need to pay closer attention in the later stages (5 or 6 letters).

Sound effects: as3sfxr
Music: autotracker.py

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#140Innovation3.57
#155Audio3.43
#223Humor3.27
#447Graphics3.13
#453Fun3.04
#502Overall3.09
#715Theme2.96
#1668Coolness39%

Comments

Suese says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:53am

Great music

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:09pm

I like the massive amount of customers you have, I assume you are procedurally generating them rather than having drawn them all.

I don’t know if I was missing something but I couldn’t work out if there was a better way than randomly swapping the letters until I found the right combination.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:11pm

I liked it!

I wasn't very good at it though.

I like the concept!

(hadn't seen that Sesame Street sketch, it was awesome, thanks)

Multiplexor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Nice! I have never played mastermind so i was a bit confused at the beginning!

1 Good Thing: The music is very good
1 Bad thing: it would have been good to show the combinations you have tried, so you can keep visual track of the diferent changes. (Especially when you have more than 3 letters)


Good job and keep up the good work! ;)

Blobo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Really well done. it gets crazy hard after having like, 6 or 7 variables to work with and remember. really nice entry!

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Catchy tune :)

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:11am

I like the different puppets generated by the letters!
Good job for that!

VVD says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:49am

Nice music

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:52pm

It's cool !

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:04am

A fun mastermind style monster dressing game :)

Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:42am

Very different concept, I liked it though.

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Nice usage of procedurally generated content! The game has lots of replayability. Once I got the hang of it, I was able to start applying some strategy, paying attention to what changed and figuring out which letters applied to which traits. Some of the changes in the traits were a bit too subtle, though.

BlackQuiltro says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Liked it. Addictive and well polished game. Simple, but very well made.
The music is fantastic, sound effects were ok.
Graphics are nice and clean
Had fun with it!
Very good!

sikosis says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:42am

Not quite sure what I was doing but the music and graphics looked good.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]