Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Escape From Twump Tower

by 01010111 - Jam Entry

THE YEAR IS 202X.

AFTER A SUCCESSFUL REELECTION CAMPAIGN,
PRESIDENT TWUMP FIRES THE ENTIRE USA ON A WHIM.

AFTER GETTING REPORTS OF ANGRY MOBS AT TWUMP TOWER,
HE HURRIES TO RESCUE HIS VAST FORTUNE!

[ CONTROLS - 360 CONTROLLER ]

LEFT STICK & D-PAD.......MOVEMENT /
A...JUMP / B or X & DOWN...PICK UP /
B or X...THROW STUFF

[ CONTROLS - QWERTY ]

ARROW KEYS / WASD............MOVEMENT
X...JUMP / C & (DOWN or S)...PICK UP /
C...THROW STUFF​

Made with love with HaxeFlixel, FlashDevelop,
Photoshop, FLStudio, Chipsounds & RVAGameJams

The theme almost trumped me ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#36Audio(Jam)4.10
#42Graphics(Jam)4.53
#106Humor(Jam)3.74
#130Overall(Jam)3.76
#248Mood(Jam)3.50
#285Fun(Jam)3.40
#676Innovation(Jam)2.81
#739Theme(Jam)3.15

Comments

Ardy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:02am

404 game not found

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:07am

nice graphics and audio nice game also good job!

Ixeno says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14am

Love the humor and concept! Gameplay was a bit glitchy!
Good work! (:

Ellian says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:33am

Godamn, this is so cute. Awesome art and sound. Got stuck pretty early on, but it's still a fantastic entry :D

eonarheim says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:26am

Really solid art and audio. Controls felt good. Thoroughly enjoyed the playing as "twump" :)

mklee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:05am

My little billionaire can't be this cute! Fun art, great music, and loved the little Twump when he's trying to pluck items. :) Stacking blocks can be a bit cumbersome and sometimes blocks fall underneath other blocks. :( Very cool overall still!

Gelatohead says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:15am

I got stuck walking into a wall.

whalebot says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:11am

Lol shots fired with this one haha. Great execution as usual, other than a few physics bugs with stacking boxes, this game was absolutely great.

MrSun says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:15am

really great art

andyman404 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:08am

hahaha! Funny game. I loved discovering that he can jump onto of people, and even pick them up and throw them. That's Trump alright. Well done. Please check out my Trump-based game too: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=45696

tc4mpbell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:56am

Super ;). I loved the metaphorical aspect, how Twump can get trapped under bags of money in a corner and have to restart. Also, for the record, I'm terrible at games.

DANGER says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:48pm

2cute4me, I'm not familiar with politics so maybe I'm missing some stuff but the game is pretty fun and the graphics and sounds are awesome, great job m8 ୧( ʘ ͜◺ʘ)୨

ruerob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:25pm

I really like your game! It has great music and graphics! And the story is super fun! Only thing was that in the room with the boxes and stones I didn't get any further because I was to dump to build a stair with the rocks.. One time they fell into each other. But except from tha your game was awesome and a lot of fun!!!

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Cute- reminded me of Krusty's Super Funhouse for Sega Genesis! I think the first screen should say "press X" for people with a keyboard though. Pressing A didn't do anything.

allinlabs says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:47pm

I am so impressed by the level design O_O like, some people really know their stuff around here

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Awesome game! The level design is carefully thought-out, and so much fun! Also, Twump is unexpectedly adorable. The music and sound is reminding me of Super Mario Land 2 right now. Great game, unique and beautiful!

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:18pm

I think most of my game glitched out at some point, then I got to the helicopter and couldn't leave, then my controls got stuck and I walked off the side and went off the map and I won? 10/10

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Cute graphics! :D

paracatgames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:49am

YOU ARE THE MONSTER! I just got it. Now I feel like I can forgive you for making Trump look so cute. Loved the art style and the audio, and the game was fun too!

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Hey Will, your game looks fantastic and I didn't expect any less from you! However, I glitched a bit too often through floors and blocks making the gameplay a bit messy. There isn't really any reason to pick up all the coins (just a little end score thing when you finished the game would already help) and the timer didn't do much too I think? Why is it there? I was a bit confused by the amount of controls too, I know that sounds silly but let me explain. You use the arrow keys and Z and X and you can walk, jump, pick-up and throw stuff. Why did you choose to use 6 buttons for just 4 actions? I mean, you could've set jump on up arrow key and pick-up on down arrow key. Now throwing with down maybe would be a bit weird, maybe one other key then :p Anyways I only found out about picking-up/throwing after a few minutes because I read the controls here on the page to make sure. I didn't really felt intuitive to me.
Okay so, that was a bit of critique, but I still think you did a realy good job :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Amusing little game. I did get stuck under a block somehow, but it was a fun diversion while it lasted.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Beautiful game! I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/tto3rRaLBXQ

geckojsc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Amazing gameplay, feel, mechanics, soundtrack, setting, humour, and everything!

The only issue (quite a significant one) is that the controls seem to get stuck all the time. At one point I found myself completely unable to move and had to mash keys for 20 seconds to free myself.

There were also a few physics bugs (people floating in the sky) but that's to be expected given the really flexible block sliding mechanics :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:32am

Great work, as always.

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:37am

Hey I was wondering if you had participated! :D
Great game, I love the art and music and the gameplay is pretty cool! I just don't really understand why there's a "charge" time for picking up objects.
Also it took me a little while to get the "propel yourself upward" mechanic but it's a nice one!
I had a few collision bugs too: overlapping enemy soldiers, and brick blocks sinking through the floor when trying to pile them up high (although maybe that's intended, so we have to use the propelling mechanic?)
Anyway, great work, congrats!

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Neat little platformer. The graphics are nice and everything's polished pretty well.

I think the most obvious issue are with the physics: boxes falling through other boxes, boxes falling into other boxes, et cetera. There was one scenario where I had three boxes stuck in each other and I couldn't separate them.

I found the enemies to be a bit tricky to deal with. Their jumping combined with their periodic shooting can cause some annoying scenarios, especially when you're waiting for their bullet to pass but jumping means they're going to jump but it's too difficult to tell whether or not their next shot will occur during that jump.

Also, the coin hitboxes seem to be incredibly small. Typically, the norm is to have pickups have large hitboxes and hazards have smaller ones. I'm sure you're aware of that.

Nonetheless, I beat it and enjoyed it. Nice job.

Jani Nykänen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Totally amazing visual style and music. Oh, and the game's also good. One of the best jam entries I've played this far.

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Cute graphics and awesome sounds :) At first I didn't understand some of the mechanics but after some tries I got the hang of it :P

CrownCity says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Nice and cute! The sounds and the use of colors are my favorites!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Amazing graphics and music/sound. Really reminded me of something but I can't put my finger on it...

Anyway, great entry! Thought it was excellent overall.

GFM says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Great graphics and awesome polish!! Megaman 2's intro homage was really nice. :)

I really liked the song at first, but it soon got quite repetitive...

I also noticed that the collision was somewhat buggy, at times... so I just had to try to do this:
https://youtu.be/mnJtxPFP1j4

Great game! I had tons of fun (even if not playing it properly... XD)

QuexD says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:44am

8/8

rudra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:17am

Nice graphics and audio. Good job!

rnlf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:06am

Graphics and audio are really cool. I had some problems with the physics though. Stacking more than 3 stones made the lowest one warp through the floor.

Also "Press [A] you degenerate" made me almost quit the game, because it was actually X. Not everybody has a controller ;-)

PixelStuff says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:57pm

The color palette is really well choosen. The music is awesome, you managed to create a great mood :) That was really fun to play! Good work!

block97 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Fun simple. great art, music, and gameplay.

aeveis says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:25am

I got to the top, took around 6:30 (after a few playthroughs)! Pretty funny. Love the intro haha. Once I figured out I could throw stuff (but not brick blocks) at the soldiers it got a bit easier.

I ran into the boxes falling through each other as well. In that room I couldn't stack 4 of them on top of each other, but then I was able to propel myself up by throwing the 4th block down while jumping. It seems to be a thing with flixel (not sure if this was the case for you but I found if I use velocity verses x/y the collisions are more consistent, since x/y might push it past the bounding box?).

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:24am

Beautiful pixel art! The music fits well with it also. Fun little game. :)

lemer says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:53pm

The gameplay and graphics remembers me some old games like Rick Dangerous. Good work.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Amazing graphcis and audio, the mechanics weren't as good. We can easily get stuck and have to restart the whole level. Good job on the cute aesthetics nonehtless.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Neat game, Nice pixel art and audio also.

Saf says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Great game! In your interest take the game down if the election results go in a particular direction :P
Pixel art and color schemes are fantastic! The collisions are great, but gameplay needs a little tweaking. Solid entry for the jam duration! I look forward to a full version :)

Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Great retro music and sounds. I Got stuck after about 4 minutes and couldn't climb anymore. Game mechanics are really polished, like pushing a block to the left or right by 1 pixel to be able to jump. Wasn't sure what to do though

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:58am

Pretty nice, the timer, money counter and general jank beg for speedruns. Of which I streamed some of.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Nice graphics. It felt very polished to play. Reminded me a bit about the old Blues Brothers platform game, but that may just be be drawing weird parallels :P Good job!

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Really cool idea. I love "Twump" being the monster. :3 Good job!

Brightstar says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:37am

Reminds me a bit of Rescue Rangers. Played it with a controller which was much more pleasant than with a keyboard. I like it.

Donald Dump.

freaknarf says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Excellent visuals ! Very good job on spriting and polish overall, but i have a lot of troubles with controls and collision. It seems not to react exactly the same way with keyboard and gamepad, and collision + carrying bugs makes this really unbeatable for me :/ Too bad graphics were really goodlooking and it has a nice mood !

Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Great polished entry with nice use of the theme. Did get stuck up high when I couldn't make a ledge high above, tried building a platform with the rocks but they kept going through the ground when I'd get them three up.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:07pm

nice graphics

hitchh1k3r says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:06pm

One of the best entries I've seen, I really like how the gameplay supports the implied narrative (ex. standing on people to reach the top of your tower).

The physics are a bit buggy, but that should be easy enough to fix. I'd consider tuning the controls if you want to keep working on this, I was never really sure what I'd throw and/or where it would go.

The artistic consistency was another high point of this game. Well made music, sounds, and graphics (and animations) that all fit within a retro style. Thanks for making this!

valid4life says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Awesome game! The art is just stunning!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:41am

Awesome job! Perfect 5 star graphics. Really funny as well. This was really fun too, really loved the look and audio!

walsh9 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:13am

Absolutely charming art and music. I had some problems with the controls but I can't stay mad at this game.

hexagore says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:38am

Adorable and polished art, although I struggled with the controls I'm afraid to say. I saw from the screenshots that you could pick up the safe, so I tried to do that and it ended up somehow getting pushed right until it was outside of the playable area. No idea what was going on. I therefore got stuck in the little little bit where the safe was because i couldn't jump out. If only I'd just left it alone!

Still, this is a really solid entry. Did I mention how amazing your pixel art is?

PIXEL^3 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:16pm

I know I tweeted you about this but I'll put this here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pEMjSiVtfDI

Sep 6, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Controls were very hard to get used to unfortunately. I felt they let the game down, as it seemed really awesome.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:44am

Nice job, great graphics

ethankennerly says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:49am

When I read I was Twump, I smiled and became curious. When I tried to pick up a computer, a block, or a person, I felt confused.

Gamepopper says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Honorary award for catchiest music track in a LD game, this is a very colourful game for such a topical storyline. Music is really catchy and I love the Megaman approach.

Only real complaint is with picking stuff up and throwing it. I got to an impassible point because I was trying to stack up blocks to reach a platform, but they kept merging into each other and I had no way to separate them.

Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:44pm

- opening is amazing
- great concept, good to see ludum dare used for political commentary ;)
- music is pretty good but gets a bit repetitive
- pixel art looks great, twump's sprite is awesome
- great nes nostalgia, reminded me a bit of chip and dale rescue rangers
- for some reason my 360 controller isn't working with it
- cool effect for screen transitions
- physics got a big glitch with boxes getting pushed into eachother, maybe you could turn up the physics iterations or something
- I feel like I'm stuck in the room with stars on the wall and a bunch of blocks, I can't seem to stack them more then 2 high

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:35am

The game is extremely cute, I find it amazingly cute. Not being a North American I can judge the game without a shread of political alignment. It is a fun game, reminds me a lot of those GBC/GBA classics, with a hint of Megaman and also Doki Doki Panic. Agile, very good sprite art, and joking about a politician being crazy never gets old... But I think personally one has to be really truly a die-hard democrat to call Trump a monster. That he sounds like an idiot at times it is a secret to nobody, but still not a monster per see. Still the game overflows with cuteness, of a kind you don't see in many modern games, indie or AAA.

faemir says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:17pm

The graphics and sound were absolutely fantastic. The platforming felt solid with one or two slight mishaps while picking things up, but overall it felt incredibly polished for a jam game!

Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Pssst - You have been featured on Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJLrUmnvGcA

crucknuk says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 5:00pm

The art style, the music, the game itself is just lovely :)
Very colorful, amusing and i can see so much in it. Just love the product! :)

Controls were a bit weird on the other side, i didn't figure at first that i had to push at the same time C and down to pick up something while i just could press down only.
I didn't play with the WASD scheme because it is weird to not use the W to jump and instead the X.
It plays better with directional arrows configuration.

Well done! :)

WizzardMaker says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Great game, nice graphics and wonderful music!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Nice game but a little to much repetitive.
Graphics and music are good.

El Cabaro says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:19am

Pretty cool game. The music was beepy and repetitive but really that's my only complaint, aside from very glitchy box physics (I almost got completely stuck at one point because of overlapping boxes)

The music really reminds me of Robopon 2 for the GBA-- check it out, it's oddly familiar.

sorlok says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:29am

I really love this game! Great choice of theme, by the way. ;)

Controls are pretty good, but I got power ups stuck in the wall a few times. Overall great game!

WubAlliance says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:15am

Very fun game. Like everyone else says, good job on level design. All graphics and sound are coherent, everything fits together nicely. It actually took me a little while to figure out how to pick up objects (I was not aware that you had to hold down while on top of the object). The end gets fairly challenging, and I ran into a sound effect spam bug whilst trying to pick up a soldier. The aesthetics of this game are incredible, and the music is unbelievable. This was a mind-blowing entry, I really want to see someone speedrun this! Well done overall!

Blobo says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Brilliant use of the theme. Really well done, except i got stuck numerous times under a block and had to restart.

randomhuman says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Why are these soldiers shooting at me? Get out of my tower, you're fired!!

Seriously, fun game with cute graphics and great music. I did have a bit of trouble with getting stuck on and under things though.

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:56pm

The graphics and music were very very charming. The idea was clever and quite relevant to today's times. It was quite amusing to see Not-Trump TRUMP on some peoples' heads. The only issue I found was that the controls would often get stuck. So if I was moving right it would get stuck moving right, etc. Might be an issue on my end, though.

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:06pm

I keep expecting the Megaman 2 theme music every time I watch that intro. I nice elaboration of Super Mario Bros. 2. Found it neat that each different item you can pickup has different throw effect, though I found the controls to pick things up a bit cumbersome. Who knew Donald Twump did a ton of bench presses?

As mentioned by many, I did find the glitchy physics unappealing, and many coins sections left me scratching my head. The game might also be on the easy side, too. It was enjoyable, though, and I did have a good snort with the story.

shawn42 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 12:59am

Cute and fun. I like the pick up and smash mechanic. Game started to stutter a little for me after playing for a while. Great entry. Was really hoping for some sort of hair attack though :/

Literal Games says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Fun little platformer, I liked the ways you could use the boxes and enemies and everything!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]