Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Minotaur and the Theseus

by hgcummings - Compo Entry

You are the Minotaur, and Theseus is coming to find you and kill you. He's faster than you, but you know the Labyrinth intimately and can outwit him. If you can evade him until his light burns out, then the tables turn and you have a chance to prevent him ever escaping the Labyrinth.

*Changelog*
24/08: Very minor change to clear state between games (fixes occasional odd behaviour when starting a new game after the first one)
27/08: Highlight explanatory text a bit more clearly. Very minor collision detection tweak to avoid crossovers.
05/09: Fix console error (no functional impact)

*Post-compo version*
Visual hints about the gameplay state: Remaining time and Theseus detecting the player's location.
Corrected arithmetic in pathfinding logic (was slightly wrong in the compo version, but happened to give about the right answer anyway).
Tweaks the the colour pallette and the Theseus sprite.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#4Innovation4.47
#53Theme4.14
#73Overall3.82
#120Fun3.63
#197Mood3.42
#560Audio2.48
#643Graphics2.74
#660Humor2.26

Comments

Suese says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:16am

Innovation 5 stars.

Yamzho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Nice game there ! Concept is interesting.

bombjack says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:12pm

very original. I also liked the flipping of the labyrinth. cool ;)

LeekAnarchism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Really enjoyed playing this -- the wall-flipping mechanic made it interesting by allowing me to set up a barrier against Theseus (as he seems to be slower at pushing walls)

The minimal audio gives the game lots of tension -- perhaps adding some footstep sounds of Theseus (which can get louder as he gets closer) could make it even more tense (if that's what you're aiming for!)

I found the Tricksy difficulty level to be pretty well balance -- not convinced Monstrous is possible :)

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Cool idea, cleverely implemented, like it

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Fun game! The difficulty levels seem very steep. It would be nice to have more of a meter to indicate how much longer you have to run for, Theseus making a break for it almost caught me by surprise. Good job nevertheless!

hgcummings says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Thanks to everyone who's given feedback. @WubAlliance: Yep, definitely agree about having a meter to indicate the time left. This was one of the first things on my feature list (e.g. a graphic of a candle burning down) and I never quite got around to implementing it.

I agree that the difficulty levels are a bit steep. Didn't really spend a lot of time balancing them. I did at some point convince myself that Monstrous was possible if you got very lucky, but I'm not sure this is actually the case.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Adored it. I had been following your posts (as I have said, soft spot for randomly generated stuff) Kinda annoyed when after evading Theseus who was near the entrance at the time of his candle going out, I didn't realize he'd try and escape.

Luckily, he moves so slowly through swivel walls that I caught up :) made me really appreciate the Minotaurs advantage. I don't think everyone likes it as much as I do, but I thought it was tense, fun, and I love the maze's swivel walls.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Brilliant concept! I was cursing at Theseus after being caught stupidly the first two times when I accidentally discovered about the wall flipping. That was a master addition. Still, even if I evaded him he managed to escape...for now.

Great, great job :D

Sanju says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:11pm

I liked the "spinning-wall" mechanic.

Hippomancer says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Goddamn Theseus!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:28pm

The concept is phenomenal. I had a lot of fun playing this. The mechanics were very interesting.

Chronodrax says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Nice game and innovative mechanics :)
Too bad that you can cross Theseus without anything happening if he moves at the same time,
ans if Theseus is behind a wall that you're moving then he's not pushed accordingly, thus allowing him to move through walls to reach you.
Using the AI's stubbornness I could survive in Fiendish difficulty just by hiding behind a 90° angle wall, 1 tile from Theseus, and move when he pushed the wall to try to reach me.
Without using that technique I couldn't do it on that difficulty level ^^'

Niebule says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:32pm

This was really fun to play! great game! Can't say much of anything negative about it.. maybe some music would've made it even better!

hgcummings says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Thanks for all the feedback everyone. @Chronodrax - interesting, I coincidentally just pushed a very minor bugfix that I think resolves the crossing issue. Not sure about the more complex case of hiding behind a wall. I agree there are probably a couple of breaking strategies though. Was a little bit tricky to balance the difficulty and make it hard enough to get around Theseus in time to block the exit.

FrederickK says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:32am

Clever and hard! A timer would be nice.
Nice job!

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Great game, it was very nice to play and indeed quite a lot of fun. Cool and interesting!

Wryxo says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Nice idea. Very nice.

bentglasstube says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:45am

Really interesting concept and very enjoyable. With some more graphical and audio polish, this could be a legit game.

rogberth says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Interesting game. Really smart mechanism.

See if there's an icon in the url box to enable my game! =)

Zeriver says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Hahaha nice idea, i really enjoyed playing your game. Lack of any background music actually helps with building tension. Simplistic but elegant graphics. Hmm maybe with some changes it could be a great mobile game?

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:58pm

very original and refreshing gameplay.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:00pm

oops looked like I already commented it earlier ^^ anyway it's really worth mentioninng again the originality of the gameplay :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]