Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

A troll's life

by Paul Sinnett - Compo Entry

In this game you get to experience the life (probably very short life) of a woodland troll collecting mushrooms.

I wanted to explore the idea that "monster" is a label we tend to apply to things we don't understand and therefore hate and fear. I wanted the player to experience going about their daily life in such an environment.

There is only movement. You cannot attack in this game. Use the WASD keys to move the troll to the bottom of the screen.

Avoid the lumberjacks throwing rocks. Each new screen grants you a mushroom, but each successive screen will contain more lumberjacks. Collect as many mushrooms as you can.

Written in Scratch.
The source code is accessible from the Scratch web site. (Click see inside.)
All sprites were created in Gimp.
Sound effects were created in BFXR.
Music was created in Otomata and edited in Audacity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#284Audio3.12
#330Theme3.60
#345Fun3.20
#357Mood3.14
#506Overall3.08
#527Humor2.57
#614Innovation2.76
#617Graphics2.80
#1537Coolness42%

Comments

AgentParsec says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:20am

Aw, why do all the Al Borland clones hate trolls so much?

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:58am

People fear the unusual I guess.

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:11am

Interesting idea and nice game! I love it that you made it in scratch.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Thanks. I like using Scratch for these kinds of things as it's easy to do, the source is open and accessible, and it's easy to embed the result into a web page.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:12pm

I really like the AI on the lumber jacks - the the rock trajectory wasn't too predictable. Though I wanted the player movement to be a little faster, it felt very much like a large lumbering woodland troll, and added to the difficulty. Great job. I like the way the lumber jacks collect around the fallen troll in the end.

ldds says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Aww I love this, but I wonder if you'll keep working on it. a monster that cannot attack is a neat concept

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:12pm

I did think of maybe expanding the collection mechanic. Initially I was going to have a dance button but I ran out of time for animations.

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Hey Paul!

Fun little game! You've done a great job with the balance on this, it's just perfectly tuned. I really like the cute style of the lumberjacks and the troll too.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:14am

Thanks. I got very lucky that the pacing worked out. The A.I. is aim at the troll and then +/- 30 degrees at random. Initially this is easy to avoid, but gets much harder as the number of lumberjacks increase.

Dianouille says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:34am

Nice little game :) Love the fact that we can't attack, well linked with the theme. I only have one subjective opinion : this green back does not honor your other graphics :/

OadT says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:58pm

I like the story idea. Moving feels a bit slow, but I think the mechanic works best this way.
Nice entry :)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Nice Idea. We usually see a troll as a scary angry mob, but now he only wants mushrooms... So many angry at nothing lumberjacks :C
Btw nice graphic, smooth gameplay that gets really challenging after a while and great concept.
Well done!

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:58am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:35am

I love your take on the theme. I felt very sad knowing the fate of the poor troll...

Paul Sinnett says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:42pm

I wrote up some more on the idea here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/08/25/a-trolls-life/

Nurbs says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Brawny man throws manhole covers at shrek's mom until she falls over, and then they beat her with sticks
8/10

Potato & Taco says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 1:46am

I really liked it!

Rialgar says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 8:06pm

these humans are very strong, throwing rocks all over the screen ;D

Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Managed to get six mushrooms then got ganged up on by lumberjacks! I had no chance :D

Lovely little game, poor troll :(

Catmoo says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Really enjoyed playing you game, I felt so bad for the Troll! I got to 6 mushrooms before the mean lumberjacks took out all my lives in that one level. Nice little entry and it's nice to see that people are using Scratch!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]