Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Eat Sheep

by ehtd - Compo Entry

A 6-level puzzle game made for Ludum Dare 33 by @ehtd

Use ARROWS and Z to play

No soundtrack, only SFX, ran out of time :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#47Overall3.90
#101Fun3.68
#108Innovation3.67
#148Graphics3.84
#223Mood3.36
#234Theme3.74
#241Humor3.23

Comments

OccamsRazor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:57am

This was actually really clever, I think it makes an excellent puzzle, really satisfying to figure out. I honestly think this could make a great mobile game. I'd play it :P

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:58am

Fit the theme well, great graphics, clean gameplay. Loved it!

watupdb says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

I enjoyed all levels - It took me a level or 2 to figure out exactly what I was supposed to do and how the mechanics worked. The simplistic art style worked very nicely for the game as well. I would have loved to see a few more levels though, but not bad at all.

fuzzalicious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

Fantastic puzzle game, great graphics and theme, have 5 stars!

shawn42 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

Very fun. I like the puzzle aspect and what you did with very few assets. It kind of reminded me of the little puzzles that are broken into squares, you have to plan ahead a little. Nicely done.

Ekibyou says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:00am

Pretty good game, it took a minute or so to figure out what the mechanic of transforming was though. In any case, this game has tons of potential on the casual market if you keep going, if you ask me!

Don_Martinez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:00am

Nice game, like the concept and the vector graphics. Maybe a little too easy for a puzzle game.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:00am

Really great! Nice, simple puzzle mechanics to explore over the course of the game, and slick presentation on all fronts.

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:01am

The levels are very challenging. Simple clean artwork. Looks a lot like another game by the name of Eat Sheep (https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/eat-sheep/id482413148?mt=8) though. Is it related?

notajetski says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:01am

Surprisingly good. The sprites/animations are cute, the one sound effect wasn't annoying, and the puzzles were clever

Level restarting was sometimes a bit wonky for me; if I restarted manually after failing, it would restart again after a few seconds.

Aaranos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:01am

I think it's pretty good, and follows the theme. Definitely would benefit from some background music though.

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:01am

The levels are very challenging. Simple clean artwork. Looks a lot like another game by the name of Eat Sheep (https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/eat-sheep/id482413148?mt=8) though. Is it related?

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03am

Pretty cool! Felt like it could have been an app :D

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04am

Fun game! It reminds me of a game I did for LD29 except much better graphics!
( http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=30184 )
I like the puzzle aspect. The mood is a little weak without any music though.

ehtd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:07am

@andyman404 weird stuff with that game! Picked the name because I was not feeling creative and well, you eat sheeps

Deity says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:48am

Fun puzzle game and cute graphics. The movement was well done.

It felt like there was only 1 way to finish some of the levels, it'd be interesting to have levels that allow more experimentation. Also some special items like a tile that teleports would add to the fun.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:25am

Nice puzzle idea. I liked the dash, and some levels took a bit of experimentation to figure out.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:49am

Interesting puzzles but a bit more variety in each level would have been nice. But most importantly that was absolutely adorable.

Chaoclypse says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:59am

Very nice little puzzle game. I really enjoyed it!

celisoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Very good game, I have finished it! (And that's not very often, so it's a pleasure)
Too bad that there's no music, it also important for the mood...

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Very good puzzle game.

SeaMonster131 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:51am

Nice game with clever idea, really great graphics too.

justinooncx says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:46am

Pretty interesting puzzle game, overall! Great job!

dydx says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:52am

Cool concept and really fun puzzles! The difficulty curve was very good. Wish there were more levels.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Amazing challenging Puzzle Game. Really loved it ! It would like to see more of this kind of games on LD. It's really clean, it fits the theme so I don't have any major complait. Great entry overall :)

reheated says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:22am

Clever puzzles with a cute presentation. I like it. (For some reason it took me a while to realise that the sheep move along predefined paths, rather than to the nearest hole. After I realised that the puzzles made perfect sense :)) Wish it was longer!

ethteck says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:53am

Really fun! I hope you can develop more levels in the future. I had one bug where upon restarting, my first move would sometimes get reversed - like I'd move and then both me and the sheep would go back to our starting positions. It didn't cause any major bugs, but it was a little frustrating.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:26pm

very fun puzzle game. I really liked the art.

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:07am

Definitely made me feel like a monster

jackrugile says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:41am

This was great! I love the unique puzzle mechanic. I've always wanted to make a puzzle game, but I struggle coming up with ideas. One, there is the mechanic/rules themselves, then there is the handcrafted level creation that needs to be not too easy or hard, and ramp up in difficulty. I have a lot of respect for your puzzle talent. Nice job!

Interface says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:24am

Once I figured out the transform mechanic it all made sense. Simple but good graphics, good entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]