Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Welcome to Cronenburg

by Galan - Jam Entry

Welcome to Cronenburg, a peaceful, quiet community, where the neighbors are friendly and the community inviting.

Why not smash their stuff? They ARE a bunch of monsters, after all!


Wander around the suburbs of Cronenburg, wrecking havoc amongst the monstrous townfolk. Build enough Outrage to smash bigger and better things and max out your score.


Controls: Joystick/WASD/Arrow Keys

Art by Cindy Raggo




Edit: Fixed some audio glitches and got links working.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#248Humor(Jam)3.35
#382Audio(Jam)3.12
#461Theme(Jam)3.54
#637Graphics(Jam)3.14
#652Overall(Jam)3.06
#682Mood(Jam)2.91
#741Fun(Jam)2.77
#804Innovation(Jam)2.66

Comments

JamesTanm says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:29pm

The source file wont uncompress.

Ardy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:01am

needs permision to download

Ixeno says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:01am

Windows download require access :S

peecestudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:25am

needs permission for windows.

PokeyOne says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:36am

download needs permission

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:46am

Works fine on Mac, though I had to go in the app files and open the command line thingy to launch it. Love the concept, and the environment is beautiful! So many fun animations to be had--love the bunny's walk cycle. The physics are good (though sometimes they make you laugh) and I love the simplicity of the controls. Nice work!! My score was 1738.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:36am

Windows user here - I got the game running just fine. Fun destruction game concept, though I was a bit unsure what I was supposed to be doing at first. Pro tip: kicking down fences is the best way to go.

kvanderlaag says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:38am

Quick, simple, and fun. Controls are a little bit awkward, easy to get stuck on stuff.

kfarwell says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:48am

Simple, charming, works on Linux :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:50am

Works fine on Linux. The monsters are creepy! I would like to change the camera angle to see more stuff.

jtpup0 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:54am

Fun and interesting, Cronenburg reminds me of the name of those mutants from Rick and Morty

bowlercaptain says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:55am

Sound effects: Approved. Model scaling: Approved. Laptop performance after kicking down an entire house worth of fences: 4FPStars out of 5. Wasn't terribly clear on how well I was accomplishing the goal - the only end-state seems to be time out to high score. I can envision a slow progression - as the bunny gets more monstrous, the destructive power ramps, until not simply hedges can be defeated, but entire houses, in a Katamari-like escalation to the final end-boss-like kickable: a mailbox.

lanestp says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:11am

OS X download worked great! I liked the game. The smashing effects were nicely done, especially the fence. I just wish I could have destroyed the houses! But then I am a monster!

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:12am

Hah man I built sooooo much outrage lol. Also the sounds were hilarious.

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:20am

Cronenburg was not in good shape after I played your game! :P I love the idea behind your game and the music just fits perfectly. Awesome work!!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Loved it! The concept is hilarious and your Cronenbergs were gross. Keep it up!

FloatingGhost says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:30pm

did not play nice with ALSA - when the music worked it tanked my FPS

otherwise nice

Galan says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:45pm

@FloatingGhost I did some Googling, a that's a problem with the engine (Godot). Seems it doesn't play well with certain (but not all) ALSA setups. There's been a patch since the latest stable release, though.

arzi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Somehow reminds me of Paperboy, although instead of delivering papers you wreak havoc on the neighborhood. Controls could have been a bit better, but otherwise a fun game.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:01pm

I somehow managed to get stuck inside a Cronenberg (the tall one). What was it doing to me? The answer is don't think about it.

Cute music and character, makes the game humorous! Nice job with all the modeling, and physics-based destruction is always fun. Cool game!

LastLeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Cute graphics and audio. Simple gameplay. Love it.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Silly fun, if a little unpolished. Good entry, but the game suffers severe slowdown if you break too many fences and you need to approach certain items from odd angles to break them. Good work, keep it up!

superfreak says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:26am

Enjoyed the simplistic gameplay and cute graphics :3

tylorlilley says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:38pm

I got stuck inside a monster...

The gameplay was a little light and confusing but I really liked the visuals and the idea/name is hilarious so props for that!

Louspirit says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Beautiful graphics and animation, but experienced some lag.

yuigoto says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:17am

Nice idea. :) Reminded a bit of a mix between Katamari and Paperboy 3D, with destruction elements added. It would've been nice if you could've added more destruction elements, but nice work here! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]