Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Night of the Monster

by Thinkofdeath - Compo Entry

Instructions:
Try and kill as much as you can in one night (the time it takes for the moon to travel
across the sky).

Controls:
WASD - Move
W/Space - Jump
Hold W/Space whilst landing on a wall - Wall jump
Left click = Attack
Right click = Leap

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#312Theme3.64
#405Graphics3.20
#536Fun2.92
#553Humor2.50
#571Innovation2.83
#660Overall2.92
#1314Coolness47%

Comments

Jajo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:48am

Runs quite slowly with a few collision bugs, but it mostly works. Good pixel art.

shimage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:59am

Wall jumping is very good feeling! I feel sorry for a resident a little.

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:08am

Inertia in the controls was a little frustrating... Getting out of the first area was not easy with leaping off walls... I didn't see any indication of how long the night lasts while I was in the building area as the moon was hidden, so dying was completely unexpected...

I managed to get 48 people, though...

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:12am

I have exploded after 173 kills :D don't know what was that.. I guess the moon has set. Anyway nice animations of the running people, sounds, other graphics. Wall jump.. Well that's the coolest thing to try. Feels incredibly nice to jump around like that

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Killed 147 peoples =)
Great art and very funny game!

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Smash them in with the...arm...tentacle thingie!
I must say i had fun trying to whip out all the humans in the buildings. Dont know if I was bad at controlling the "arm" but at least i got around 60 kills before perishing :)

whalebot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Controls are a bit janky, but was still kind of fun wall jumping all over the place. Good job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:29am

Using the moon to indicate time is great

GBGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:56am

Wall jumping is neat, except when I didn't intend for it to happen, which meant I jumped away from where I wanted to go more than a few times.

The music is great for an action game.

chrissou says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:31pm

I had a hard time using Leap and attack, feels weird
Wall jump is cool! =D
If you go to the right end of the map when you approch then end there is a weird rendering bug, kind of cool though.

LastLeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Good job.
I am bad at action games but I still feel good when playing this game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]