Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Aglæca

by philomory - Jam Entry

Aglæca

Controls:
Left/Right/Up/Down: Move around the map, change menu selection
Space: Wait half a day.
Enter/Return: Make menu selection
Escape: Quit the game

Inspired by the oldest monster in English-language literature, and by a modern retelling of his story.

Mac and Windows builds available, as well as ruby source. To run from source you need Ruby 2.x, and Bundler. You can then install the dependencies required with 'bundle install' from the game's directory.

Once those requirements are met, the command 'ruby ld33.rb' from inside the game directory should launch the game.

There was not much time to test this after completion.
Bugs can be reported at: https://bitbucket.org/philomory/ld33/issues

Credits:
Code:
Adam Gardner

Some text excerpted from:
Grendel, by John Gardner

Artwork:
Tiles from Tiny16: Basic, by Lanea Zimmerman.
http://opengameart.org/content/tiny-16-basic
Grendel sprite from the DawnLike tileset by DragonDePlatino, color pallete by DawnBringer
http://opengameart.org/content/dawnlike-16x16-universal-rogue-like-tileset-v181
(the requested easter egg is not yet implemented)

Fonts:
Alagard, by Pix3M
http://opengameart.org/content/pixel-fonts-by-pix3m
Romulus, by Pix3M
http://opengameart.org/content/pixel-fonts-by-pix3m

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#99Theme(Jam)4.04
#384Innovation(Jam)3.19
#550Mood(Jam)3.08
#588Overall(Jam)3.14
#735Fun(Jam)2.78

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:58am

Please do find a way to package this for other people. Would like to try it :)

Huo-cuo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:04am

Cannot get it run :(. I have Mac with Yosemite 10.10.4

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:20am

Does not run

Eingya says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:06am

Not really a comment on the game (which I liked!), but because the game title has an æ on this page, but an "ae" on the .exe, it took me forever to find it, because I had closed the page :p

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:23am

Nice idea, I found a city, killed everyone in it, salvaged it, then went to other town and got killed. +1

jlnr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:03pm

This is definitely a game you should run at least twice, to see how the world is randomly generated. It also took me a while to understand the difference between day and night, but I think part of the fun is figuring it all out. Destroying a few cities felt pretty good.

I like how the text fades in when you leave the game, looks great!

(Bug report: It crashed once when I was in a town, but I didn't run it from the command line and have no backtrace to post :()

shawn42 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:45pm

yay, fellow Gosu submitter! Fun beginnings, I never did figure out if there's a way to regain health. The day/night thing was a nice touch.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Really good game! I like that you based it on a historical tale! The game mechanic is simple but challenging.

... and the inhabitants of TestName kept killing me ;) Is there any way to restore health?

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:47am

Cool art style and gameplay concept, I really missed the sounds and some "strong and clearly" objective, sometimes just fight and steal dont give you many ways to play.
Solid entry, Congrats =)

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:51am

I love the fact you used literature extracts in your game, a touch of art in games is something I always enjoy. Also love you went through the effort of making everything procedural. Simple but addictive.

Nurbs says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:28am

It's pretty, but there doesn't seem to be a whole lot to do. I'm not sure what the merit of stealing bits of food is, since you'll probably starve without razing towns.

dcolgan says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:28am

This was really good. I would like to play a full version. The details in the intro and close are great. It is hard to really say what I would like to see more of as unfinished as it is, but maybe just more interaction with the map.

El Cabaro says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:55am

Whoo, Beowulf. I liked the random generation and the graphics, but I'm not really sure how the strategy comes into play, since it seems like I just get decimated by the townspeople no matter what I do (years of tyranny, eh?)

I liked the mood of the game a lot.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Great idea, and excellent graphics, but unfortunately the gameplay leaves something to be desired. The difference between killing and eating, and killing and desecrating doesn't seem to exist, and I couldn't find anything that would restore HP. There's a lot of potential here, though!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Hello, I downloaded the OSX version and chose open from the context menu but the app did not open. Sorry! This looks awesome.

wooltech says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:24am

I didn't do very well, but definately interesting!

JonathanG says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:48pm

An interesting idea, but I wasn't entirely sure what the goal of the game was. Points for procedural generation though! Even if all the towns are called Camp TestName :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]