Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Unsolicited

by dukope - Compo Entry

MAKE THE ACME FORM-LETTER COMPANY STAND OUT AS
THE PREMIER FORM-LETTER MAILING SERVICE ON EARTH.

-------------------------------------------------
Some small fixes since submission:
- Fixed music restart bug
- Fixed typo: SESSSION
- Allow one retry on each level instead of once per game
- Pause timer until first form is processed on first level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#23Overall4.06
#28Mood4.03
#33Audio3.98
#77Humor3.72
#78Innovation3.76
#78Graphics4.09
#229Fun3.38
#263Theme3.70
#1752Coolness36%

Comments

sythe2o0 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45am

Awesome! I knew immediately when I started playing that you'd made it, from having played Papers Please (and other stuff you've made).

dustinaux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47am

Nice! Very unique. The graphics, audio and gameplay were all really solid. Only suggestion is that it'd be neat if you were able to send the wrong forms and face certain consequences like sending too much $ to one person shorts another, but wrong forms weren't allowed at all. But I know that'd take a lot more time.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:52am

Hey, I know you! You made Papers, Please! Very similar to Papers, Please, I like the twist on its formula, too, and with a similar mood.

hijomo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:58am

Ahh, the stress! This is a great take on paperwork. the sound effects all fit in well. This has a really consistent art style

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:02am

Awesome game dude!

Sanguine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:16am

I enjoyed the graphics and audio, but it was hard for me to get into the game. I think I got the point you made, but I wish there was more to pull me in.

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18am

Whoa. This is in your style. Amazing feeling when you see a game and already know who made it.
But I don't quite understand how it fits the theme. May be i need to play more. And I will, but later :)
Waiting for a timelapse video

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28am

This is a solid game! Very polished for a Ludum Dare product. The only technical flaw I found was that sometimes the selection menus would overflow above the game window, so I couldn't pick the very top ones.

I can't give this one a huge theme score because I don't think sending out junk mail is too monstrous. Annoying, yes, but monstrous is a bit of a stretch... If I could see the negative effects of the mail, I'd bump the score a bit higher (angry "STOP SENDING ME JUNK MAIL" letters before each day, maybe? The pile gets bigger depending on how well you do?).

No complaints about anything else, though!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:36am

Definitely makes me think of Paper's Please, but I did get bored very quickly. It's just a very specific type of game, that's all.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:35am

Like Papers Please this one works well in drawing the player in. Liked the way the sounds and music worked with the graphics. Really nice entry and unique take on the theme.

lubos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:41am

Distinctive style and unique gameplay, we need more of these.

dukope says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Thanks all!
As for matching the theme, I originally set out to focus exclusively on sending war-related notices (KIA, MIA, rationing, etc). The tone didn't quite feel right though so it was a fairly late change to junk mailing. I think this fits the theme better anyways - the road to hell is paved with junk mail.

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Brilliantly simple and novel concept, definitely liked the level of micromanagement you have to pull off in the later levels.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:39pm

That was great. ( p.s. I loved Papers Please )

hexagore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:51am

Outstanding

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:49am

Amazing as usual.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:37am

this is great!
The theme is a bit light though

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:44pm

I love the grafics on this on! Great job :D

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Not that fun to play for me but you've made your point.

Kep says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Well done. Innovation 5/5

danialias says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:51am

Because of the theme (and the developer), I was expecting (bad) consequences or some kind of side story, but instead I got fired because my incompetence :D. Still, except the mentioned selection boxes going out of the window, technically at a great level and it sets the mood nicely. Good job!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:35am

Great, of course. I didn't play for super long, but my commitment to excellence remains undeterred.
Definitely seems like you get a lot of leverage out of the engine you have!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:01am

Cool game, very reminiscent of Papers, Please. But where is the kolechian scum? :D

And as many other said, the settings doesn't really fit the theme. By changing it to a nigerian scammer who is scamming old or fragile people, it would fit to it more :P.

conormn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:09pm

I really got into this, thanks for making :)

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:36pm

definitely papers please style, but like some others, got bored pretty quick. Pretty funny stuff.

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Maaan, you really do love paperwork.

TheOlinone says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Really awesome game! Reminded me a lot of Papers Please. One thing that strikes me as odd was the fact that the letter was immediately discarded if i had made a mistake. It's should have some consequences for the player, which could be achieved by a simple montentary loss. Otherwise awesome!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:14pm

As usual, you did something great. It's a real pleasure to share with you an event like LudumDare. I liked this project which is very similar with your previous - Papers Please. I like aesthetic and gameplay. A nice entry. Thank you for this contribution. I wish you the best ++

echokain says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Like the idea and theme a lot. I didn't really feel the effects of the time pressure though which I think would have elevated the pacing of the game. Really nice to play something a bit different with the 'You are the monster' theme though!

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:56pm

It's look like Papers please clone. I can't say anything more.

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:25am

Loved the game. You hit the nail on the head with the Sign, Seal and Deliver part.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:48am

Good stuff. I got to the end and chose the "I will continue working" option but there was nothing in my queue on the next screen.

Other than that, really good, kept hoping for an easter egg like "approved for Arstotzka visa" :)

allinlabs says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:40am

I don't know why and how, but this is fun!
By the way, there's an annoying interface bug where the list of names pops up but the origins point of the popup seems to be out of the screen, so I can't reach some of the names. Happens often when the list is big and I have to fill a blank at the to of the form

dukope says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Keep playing (waiting) through the two days where there are no forms to fill :)

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Enjoyed this. The Sign Seal Deliver mechanic is really nice. I'm curious, how come you chose to make the phone numbers only 6 digits?

vividhelix says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Yeah I did continue playing and got some more work eventually. Felt like the dude with the red stapler...

boardtobits says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Clean, solid entry. To be honest, my entry was in no small part inspired by Papers, Please, so seeing another entry of that ilk here, from its maker is both humbling and encouraging. Great work on this one.

quill18 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:28pm

A great entry that demonstrates that less is more.

BNeutral says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:00am

Pope does it again.

Polyganz says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:44am

I think I need a drink now after all this work...

mathijs750 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:38am

Once again you I find myself enjoying office work. 9/10 would sign/seal/deliver again.

madalaski says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:55am

Great mood and fits well with the theme but could have used some music.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Lovely idea and execution!

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:24pm

I don't know how you do it but this is your second game that made me do boring paper work and I loved it.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:11pm

I was about to praise you for how good you replicated the feel of Papers Please and then I realized it's you who made it! I guess it's just your style then :P Nice take on the theme!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Clearly by the guy who made papers, please! Another entertaining dystopic game. Right in his wheelhouse.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:19am

I've always thought about making a game about my menial bank day job, but I think you nailed the overriding feeling. Awesome work!

HappyHour says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:40am

Compelling take on what is considered a mundane/unwanted/evil job in real life. Totally digging the visual design and layouts.

Mossy Frog says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:44am

Awesome game from an awesome team. Couldn't expect less, it got quickly overwhelming, played a lot like papers!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:12am

Cool cool

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Reminded me of my days as a sneak attack telemarketer. A monstrous job indeed, trying to upsell people that called in with legitimate problems.

darklightteam says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:35pm

It's interesting to see how you make games out of nowhere. Really awesome.

Jod says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Oh wow. That's just very well done in the time available for it. Sounds, graphics and gameplay feel as one complete whole.

I was most impressed by the texts in between the sessions, and the possible answers. Saying so much with so little words is pretty awesome. :) The twist is gut-wrenching genius. The dissonance between what input data and written data tells a very chilling story.

01010111 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Really awesome entry! I can't wait to check out the source :) Always love your striking but simple art!

amras0000 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:22am

I enjoyed the game, graphics and sound are spot on, and the take on the theme was amusing. Somehow it managed to be both extremely tense and too easy, though. After 3 sessions I got a bit bored, since I didn't see any challenge and the game was getting a bit repetitive.

Togimaro says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:37am

Just fantastic!

JackDegree says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:01am

Very nice :) As with other games, makes the routine kind of fun while still outlining its soul-crushing monotony

Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:12am

Thank you, ____. Your game _____ was pretty good. I have fun playing it. Especially I liked _______ and _______. Your idea _______ is briliant. I hope to see you on ___the next Ludum Dare___.

Wish you luck,
______________

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:59am

I liked this technically, this is an awesomely polished product. But as for the entertaining part... maybe I didn't get it.
Extremely well done on the tech/polish side though!

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Solid game, all around! I always enjoy seeing what you come up with. I also made a game where you play a spammer, but yours is much more fun. :) The game is flawless except for sometimes the box of names is too big for the game window, but it's not too big a deal. All the text is so well written, which contributes a lot to the 'subtly dystopian' feel your games have. I guess the only thing I would expand on is more user feedback-- I was never sure of how well I was doing until I got to the 'end.' Anyway, I loved it! Great game!

flokitall says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Paperwork has never been this much fun :)

My only criticism for the game would be that it could have followed the theme a bit closer, perhaps via the backstory or by presenting the consequences of your actions or failures.

Other than that, everything about it is awesome. The mood, the art, the humor, everything fits together really well and the game-play is engaging.

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Really great, it works fine !

Good work !

Pantoufle says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:05pm

It's stressful to be a monster all day long. :-)
I really liked your game. It's simple but solid. Everything works great, from the art and sound FX to the gameplay.
Great job!

S0rax says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Nice game, I've never played Paper Please but I think it's a nice concept

Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:03pm

GLORY TO TIGHT SCREWS COLLECTION AGENCY.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Very creative and well round.
How can, something that boring (I mean the job), be so addicting?
The sounds were perfect also.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:05pm

I enjoyed it quite a bit!

I think I played it more than any other Ludum game so far.

You're a beast at making games!

walsh9 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:05pm

High five! I made a paperwork game too.

The sound effects are great and made me really feel productive. I like the art too. The grays felt really gray. After doing a legit playthrough of really trying, I tried to just fill whatever in the forms, who's gonna know? Didn't work, I guess the boss is watching. Wouldn't be much of a game if it was that easy, I know. Oh, session 8 was a nice twist.

sprawl says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Another great game. I didn't expect the coming back to work for nothing would actually open up more level at the end. That was nice !

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:04pm

this was Awesome addictive ans fun!! the art, audio and gameplay is very well polished as expected. I honestly don't think it fits the theme that much. Really top quality entry!

qkerguelen says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:04am

Very cool stuff! I really tried but I not a paper guy :(

bombjack says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:15am

very fun and avery reminiscent of Paper Please!

Jan Tuts says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:30pm

My first thoughts were: this is very nice! And a neat reference to "Papers, Please".
Then I realised you actually ARE the person who made "Papers, Please"... :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]