Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Gleeok

by recursor - Compo Entry

Being a dragon in an 8-bit world is hard. Of all the 256 possible things you could do with your life you chose to work in a dungeon. It is not the most glamorous job and the pay isn't that great, but you do get to guard some pretty cool treasure. Why at this moment there is a really pretty glowing thingy in the room behind you and it's- wait! You sens the hero. Ah yes you know his smell anywhere. You prepare yourself for a showdown with the little thief...

Instructions/Controls: in-game

Note: If the game starts with the dragon's head separated from its body, please reload. I think I have fixed that bug but I did not test it long enough to know for sure.

MAC Link:
http://proto.pixelbytestudios.com/jams/Gleeok/gleeok-osx.zip

Windows Desktop:
http://proto.pixelbytestudios.com/jams/Gleeok/gleeok-win.zip
If you have already played the compo version, then you will need to do a refresh in your browser to load the newer version (usually ctrl + f5 will do it)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#18Theme4.30
#138Fun3.58
#149Innovation3.55
#209Overall3.48
#211Mood3.38
#213Audio3.26
#215Humor3.28
#278Graphics3.45

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45am

If the meat is out of reach I just don't get to eat it? So kill the heroes only when they're very close? I like the game but not knowing about that frustrated me. :)

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04am

I can hear the game but can't see anything. Looking forward to play it when it's fixed!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:31am

I wish I was able to play because this looks awesome! I use Opera as my browser, though, so I can't view Unity games in it.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:20pm

This is very interesting but cool!

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Cool idea and good fun. Losing out on meat because it's out of reach is a bit frustrating, though.

MaesK says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Awesome! Nice homage to Zelda, it was great. I'd like to be able to move and eat the meat, as the heroes no longer get any closer, but I liked the game a lot, good work.

Azlen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Sort of buggy on OSX

Shaw says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:54pm

A neat take on the hero vs boss formula, graphics are really cool, especially on the dragons. Music fits perfectly and hits the nail on the head for theme. Excellent job.
That ending too ;)

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:21am

Really nice game! The neck controls and fireball shooting worked really well.
One time the game got stuck when I got killed then my last fireball killed Link. Sometimes it was a little difficult to determine which head I was controlling. Otherwise, I thought it was really great and it would be cool to see this concept expanded to include other boss monsters.

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:42am

That's really one of the best twists of a boss fight. There are a lot of games of a similar direction, but this one got me immersed the most until now.

That face, as he grabs the triforce piece... priceless :P

hammerfrenzy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:51am

Would be great if there was some way to reach those far-off meats!

ArchBang says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:57am

Delicious little game! Perfect scope for a jam, mostly fun to play and the art and music work well together. Enlightening wisdom at the end too. My extra heads kept getting me into trouble!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:07am

"When you lose" Haha. Had fun. Beat the heck outta Gleeok in Zelda, now I get to beat the heck outta Link.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:30pm

I liked the game. I had the same problems as others with the meat, as it was usually out of reach. That part was very frustrating. We must have been on the same brain wavelength as you. We have a similar game but with the plant character in Super Mario. Check it out.

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Attention all meatlovers:
The meat was meant to be a tactical decision. If you want adventurer meat then you must wait for the hero to get close enough to you, otherwise...no meat. I did have a flaming dragon head I thought could maybe fly around and grab meat but alas time ran out.

bentglasstube says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:11pm

I enjoyed the dragon wisdom in particular.

granut100 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Great game! Your idea was fantastic. I wish I could get the meat that was farther away...

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:17am

Other than the meat, I really loved the nostalgia of the game combined with decent fun.

walsh9 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:09pm

I understand waiting for the hero to get close to get the meat, but it was still frustrating when my extra heads would kill the hero on their own before it could get close. Other than that I really liked the game though.

mubox says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Good game. ^^

When the hero dies far from me is very frustrating... '-'

Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Super awesome, great game. I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/sSjPmVXpfX4

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Good to be the monster of a zelda game sometimes, its good to battle with Link :P

Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]