Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Fear Syndicate Thesis

by Deconstructeam - Jam Entry

Fear Syndicate Thesis is a poem about violence.

Controls:
GAMEPAD RECOMENDED!
Left Stick: Move
A: Interact / Accelerate
X: Hit / Throw bike hook
Y: get down from the bike

Keyboard--
Arrows: Move
X: Interact / Accelerate
Z: Hit / Throw bike hook
C: get down from the bike

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#69Mood(Jam)3.96
#71Audio(Jam)3.87
#155Graphics(Jam)4.15
#157Theme(Jam)3.94
#174Overall(Jam)3.67
#275Innovation(Jam)3.34
#548Humor(Jam)2.74
#555Fun(Jam)3.02

Comments

ninjacharlie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:17am

Uhhhmmm... no download links?

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:21am

Sorry! I missed the http:// on the url! :P

Dodechotomy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:40am

Got stuck in an invisible wall. The woman spoke in the same voice as the man? Graphics are great, though.

Ixeno says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:55am

Loved the Audio, pretty rare in Jams!
Nice prototype, I hope to see a full game! (:

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:25am

Hah. Postal meets Mad Max? :D You tweeting how "terrible" it is lowered my expectations quite a bit I guees. Because I liked it quite a bit. Especially the talking sounds. :D

pereubu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:03am

I feel bad >>>:

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:39pm

I feel bad

Chaoclypse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:01pm

While there were bugs here and there (I crashed when I first talked to the woman and I also got stuck in a sea of bodies while collecting coins), I feel like the mood and feel of this game has made it my favourite game of the jam. Excellent job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:23pm

I like the part when the game is tripping balls so hard that it implodes into oblivion

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Nice pixel art and fabulous sound. Good job, and keep doing original games with unique gameplays ;-)

scorched says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:57pm

The music is strongest side of the game. Also liked the "madness effect". Missed the minimap and more detailed plot)

allinlabs says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:09pm

That ending.
Deconstructeam you are incredible... my mind is blown... I have to lay down for a minute... I am in a half-conscious hypnotic state right now

jordinuco says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:01am

I spent a good time playing it, and now I feel guilty.

Congratulations for that mind-blowing use of Game Maker :D

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:03am

Totally not smiling.
But this is awesome.

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:53am

Nice pixel art and sound! Isn't that bad like you tweet!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:09am

Once you get past the bugs (I got stuck against the buildings twice at the beginning and had to restart) the game is a disturbing experience, which makes it a great match for the theme. Graphics and audio are top notch, as expected, so it is a pity that bugs got in the way. Will you attempt a post-jam version?

In any case, good job!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Craaaaazy game! I'm glad you warned me about the game content, I was better prepared for the insanity ^^ At least I didn't kill my sister, I feel kinda great about that, it's nice to have the choice. Unfortunately I stuck my super bike in the black house at the mission where I had to drive on 40 people :( Mmmh, let's restart...

Okay this time I finished. I kill my sister because I'm a freakin' monsta. Full stars for the theme, clearly :D I appreciated the psychedelic bad trip you provided.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Forgot to mention: A part for me, I think you're the first one in the world who reached the rank DRUMSTER!!! nicely done!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Nice to see you again with the awesome entry! Congrats!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Looking forward to see mac and web versions to play!

bodsey says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Are you even allowed to still compete ? XD Well I think this entry shows great potential in terms of mood, look and feel, but there are some disturbing bugs and the core gameplay itself was lacking some fun / skill involved. Anyway, it's beautiful and sounds great so congrats still

Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Very complete game, as always!
I had a bug where npcs got scaled in Y and my character got strange rotations. Just after finishing the kill 5 people quest.

voidstar33 says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Haaa... Awesomeness re-invented. Brilliant idea. Very cool gameplay mechanics.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Damn, that is one seriously f'd up game. Brilliant take on the theme and I love how the game's sudden glitching represents the player's current state of mind.

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 8:58pm

The idea for this was fantastic! I love the post-apocaliptic atmosphere and I was especially intrigued by the camera tricks. I might even implement them in some of my future projects, so great job! The gameplay was fun and a nice base for a great game! The story was nice and the trippy-ness was quite well done. A few issues, though. I repeatedly got stuck on the building. It was very annoying as I had to restart. The other thing is that the girls seamed to have the same voice as the guys. Other than that, fantastic entry!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:38pm

I smiled.

blaster391 says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Well this was an experience... I wouldn't say I "enjoyed" it. But it is a very well made, very disturbing, game

sergicollado says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:41pm

I like graphics

kerotan24 says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:53pm

This is why i like videogames.

GertJohnny says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:19am

Very cool experience. I'd totally play a more fleshed out game set in this world.

MAnimal says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Interesting. I like the bike-hook.

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Nice!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:35pm

great work, keep it up!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:39pm

The look and sound is very cool and builds good mood. Also thumbs for the cam/color/perception-experiment - very fitting. Sadly i got stuck in the gatehouse-sprite after the "collect coins" several times. A pitty, because id totally spent some more time in this mad world.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]