Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Masyu

by MarekkPie - Compo Entry

Masyu is a puzzle game.

Go fullscreen for the best experience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#444Audio2.77
#742Fun2.60
#766Mood2.45
#844Graphics2.21
#872Overall2.53

Comments

JamesTanm says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 11:58pm

There is no way to undo your actions in this. Makes it a little hard to figure out

Arcadonauts says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:14am

This is a great song! Not being able to undo makes game-play frustrating. Also, I couldn't figure out how to restart without refreshing the page. The mechanic sure was interesting though.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:36pm

You should be able to erase your lines with the middle mouse button just like you add them. It shows it in the tutorial, but I'll add that info too the page as well.

trashmob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:16am

Good job :D just missing the monster part a bit?

inurashii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:30am

This game is a port of an existing game and has nothing to do with the theme. It shouldn't be a compo entry. :<

Somfin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:31am

Core controls are a bit fiddly- it's not clear where the actual detection is.

bentglasstube says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:44am

A cool concept for a puzzle game. The music got pretty irritating after a bit - could have used a longer loop maybe.

Dodechotomy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:15am

Nothing to do with the theme, but I've played this puzzle before and I always enjoy it. The mouse controls need some work. Middle click feels weird to erase lines.

thedashdude says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:22am

You seem to be missing the theme, but the game is fun and hard.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:43am

@inurashii: why does this upset you so much? I made a game in 48 hours, and since the change in voting, I can removing the theme from the equation. Isn't this supposed to be a celebration of indie game development more than a real competition?

Shina69 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:26pm

It's intriguing and a pretty intelligent puzzle but it doesn't fit the theme at all.

colludium says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:12pm

You are the monster? Nice music :).

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:35pm

It's interesting to see a puzzle game in this LD. Not a bad one. :)

inurashii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:49pm

I'm not upset, I'm pointing out a clear violation of the compo rules ( http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/25/rules-and-guide-re-written-for-maximum-clarity/ ). My understanding was that LD is a celebration of quick innovation under pressure; that's why there's a theme at all.

I'm not saying you don't deserve to feel good about having implemented someone else's puzzle game in a new format, I'm saying that you could and should have done it elsewhere ... or at the very least, in the jam, where the theme is not mandatory.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:00pm

@inurashii: They need to update the main rules page, then. http://ludumdare.com/compo/rules/ doesn't specify the requirement of the theme. Either that or have it as one of the checkboxes for entering a game in the compo. I had a good 9 hours left when I submitted and had plenty of time to "fit my game to the theme;" I could have easily been able to do so, but didn't see the need since everything I had seen (for the 6+ compos I have entered) didn't have it explicitly stated.

inurashii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:07pm

All right. I'm not here to get you disqualified or anything, but I didn't think this was a good compo entry and wanted to say something.

I don't feel that a bog-standard port of an internationally acclaimed puzzle game is in the spirit of LD, especially since you don't say anywhere in your game description that you did not invent this puzzle.

That having been said, I'll leave you alone going forward. Good luck to you.

van noctar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Good job , but this game not according with the theme.

peecestudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:32am

Good idea!

reheated says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:23am

Um... did you forget something? http://imgur.com/grT2vmo

Dizzyman572 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:10am

This was a very nice puzzle game. Good work. :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]