Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Skeltal's Calcium Quest

by PIXEL^3 - Jam Entry

Mr. Skeltal has come to drink milk and free skeletons from fleshsuits, and he's all out of milk. Use a plethora of weaponry to tear that ugly flesh from your skeleton brethren one bullet at a time.

Game Features:
*Skeletons
*Milk
*1,000,001 guns
*Milk
*5½ Levels

Notes:
If the screen is black at start up, just click the screen and it should appear. If it doesn't, try resizing the window.
A revolver-only run is entirely possible, trust us, we've tested this.
No calcium-based life-forms were harmed in the making of this game. Carbon-based lifeforms, however, weren't so lucky.
High-accuracy shotguns are op and you should feel blessed by Davy Doot if you get one.

Controls:
Mouse to Aim
WASD or Arrow keys to move
Left Click to shoot
R to reload
Q,Right Click to switch weapons
E to pick up new weapons

Credits:
Jellonator: Programming
AlucardX60: Graphics
Emelia K.: Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Audio(Jam)3.88
#103Fun(Jam)3.73
#122Humor(Jam)3.68
#145Overall(Jam)3.73
#248Mood(Jam)3.50
#261Graphics(Jam)3.92
#493Theme(Jam)3.50
#567Innovation(Jam)2.96
#1578Coolness41%

Comments

Dodechotomy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:28am

Did not run on Windows 10. A console came up with debug info, and a small blank window that claimed to be the game came up, and went unresponsive. The sound played though, sounded good.

jirrev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:30am

Very, very nice. I like the art-style and the ease to play around, the only problem is that the screen remained black until I pressed a button.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:19pm

https://soundcloud.com/emelia-kaylee/the-melting-point-of-calcium-is-842-degrees-celsius heyooo

Yrr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:40pm

thanks mr skeltal

block97 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:44pm

doot doot. Fun little platformer with good graphics and music, and tight controls.

mrdude1228 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:56pm

This game was a rich source of fun and calcium. I really liked the joyful liberated skeletons

mar3k says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Really cool game, nice sound effects and I'm also a big fan of these old school low res games even though that makes it a bit harder to aim. Good job.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Nice 2d shooter! Really liked the CS style aiming mechanics. It was really hard to get trough there!

Keep up the good work!

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Nearly unplayable in my laptop because pressing WASD keys disable my touchpad for some reason. I got to level 2 though. Graphics are pretty good, movement is solid but a bit too fast at 60 FPS. Overall, doot doot/10

SamH says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:52am

Nice graphics, but the gameplay is really finely tweaked, jumping while aiming is not frustrating, and combat is generally challenging (especially since I have no mouse and use a trackpoint!). I was able to reach the end (lol), then I played again.

GraciCebola says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Interesting Music and aiming mechanics. =D

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:10pm

I like the mechanics and the song is very fun. I thought the controls were fine, although aiming is awkward on a touchpad (I know that is my fault). I hope to see more from you in the future!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Wow, I didn't expect this many people to be using touchpads. I mean, touchpads are pretty much on every laptop ever, but still, I don't know. I even used a touchpad to develop it on the go!
*If* we make a post-mortem version, we'll try and work in key-binding, keyboard aiming and (hopefully) controller support, but none of this is a guarantee.

paquinn says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:38pm

I really liked the art style.

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:14am

Never before have I been so thoroughly spooked. Strong bones and calcium to you all. Bones/10

Memeposting aside, I have a thing for spooky games - your art and music capture the (jokey) horror theme really well! I didn't think the gameplay itself was all that innovative - but I loved the inclusion of weapon falloffs, accuracy modifiers... it's a lot of detail and work to implement a system like that outside of a competitive FPS. The game was challenging in a pretty good way, and freeing the trapped skeletons made it all worth it. Little touches like milk bottles replenishing health sealed the deal. Great work, fantastically done!

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:19am

Great job, Loved the different guns, and having to relaod

wooltech says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:04am

Nice platformer, love the idea of freeing captive skeltons :)

GFM says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Great game! I specially liked the song, it's quite funny.

Since you guys said that a revolver-only run is possible, I just had to give it a try... XD
I couldn't make it with no deaths, but I did get to the end!

It's also really nice to see more games made in C/C++ and personal engines. Thanks for sharing the source!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:05pm

@GFM you're welcome! We have a horribly outdated Github page for the engine too! https://github.com/Jellonator/jeEngine

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]