Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Admin Of The Dungeon -In a MMORPG-

by Datamosh - Jam Entry

As you may have guessed it, you are the admin of the dungeon in a MMORPG! As such, is your mission to stop the players in your server to succesfully raid your dungeon!

Use arrow keys to move, and X key to use the levers and activate traps!

A pixel art puzzle made in less than 60 hs.
Coding by Pablo Cotoia / www.datamosh.com
2D Art by Kaeru / www.kaeru.com.ar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#86Innovation(Jam)3.78
#165Theme(Jam)3.92
#167Overall(Jam)3.68
#272Fun(Jam)3.42
#274Humor(Jam)3.29
#277Graphics(Jam)3.89
#300Audio(Jam)3.30
#461Mood(Jam)3.21
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Fun! Reminds me a lot of the Deathrun games in TF2 :)

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Nice and funny, nice classic visuals.

axoona says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:00pm

good game, very good concept!

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:58am

I think i scored 25. It's nice that there's no game over if a level is failed.

reiknight says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:34am

I'm the worst player ever... Nice graphics, nice sound, nice mechanics but a nice score!!!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:11am

A great idea! It lacks a bit of balance I think, but it's a great work in 72h!

cbstegeman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Fantastic idea, and love the character designs, although on most levels it seemed unclear if there was actually a way to win. Still had fun though.

Datamosh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:42pm

@Pickens Inc. @bigbuggames @axoona @Mase @reiknight @Pierrec @cbstegman: THANKS! ^_^

Actually, the game mechanics were never really meant to be a puzzle. The idea is that the game would look "alive". The lever is the tool used to make the characters die as many times as possible, because doing so, somehow satisfies the monster that controls the server.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Well made game! really nice and wanted to see more! :)
hopefully can see something more complex!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Really great! One of the best I've seen (and definitely one of the most original).

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:34pm

I really love this sort of "behind-the-scenes" game. Good work.

Sanju says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Nice game. I loved the character designs.

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:56pm

The visuals were nice and oldschool and so was the music. The idea was quite innovative and at first I didn't get what I was supposed to do but then I realized it's all in the order you activate the traps. Overall, a very polished entry that has quite a bit more depth in its mechanics than most other LD games I have seen.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:20pm

The concept is truly original and funny, and the realization matches it very nicely. Thing is, I had terrible difficulty to kill a single hero. It seemed to me they were super smart and the cooldown of my traps prevented me to be effective in any way! Sorry if I got it all wrong.

graebor says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Found it pretty hard to actually kill anyone in most levels - and there was a brutally loud sound on starting the game that really freaked me out, I guess all the traps resetting on the first frame played their sounds at once or something? Nice concept though and cool art.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Nice puzzle game, I like the graphics and the music. The traps cooldowns are really a cool idea.

Jod says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Pretty cool take on things! I liked it a lot!

Beavl says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Interesting take on the theme (love the chat section btw). ¡Vamos Argentina, che! (Abrazo desde Buenos Aires :))

mzmiric5 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Nice concept, really fun and challenging to play. The graphics and sound are quite nice, and set the mood for the game. I also really liked that the traps have cooldowns, adds to the challenge, and makes the game feel like a puzzler.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:51am

That was excellent! Would play a full version of that and could see myself getting totally addicted if it could be adapted for my phone :D

shawn42 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:14am

All the stars I can give. I really like this game, it's really hard though! Great work on mechanics, graphics, polish, the works. \o/

personalurban says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Best LD33 entry I've played so far, polished, clever, looks great, super job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]