Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Royal Jelly Roller

by BNeutral - Jam Entry

The dreams of a simple slimy princess come to fruition with Royal Jelly Roller, a game where slimes grow big and the messes grow even bigger! Traverse through several levels of goo-packed fun as you dodge sword-wielding goblins, thirsty flowers and nasty hazards that will leave you hungry for more! It's the type of game that will really stick to you - and trust me, it's harder than it looks.

Controls:
Arrow keys to move and jump
Enter to select menus
R to restart levels
ESC to go back to menus

Edit: Fixed the shield hitboxes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#75Innovation(Jam)3.84
#161Audio(Jam)3.60
#246Overall(Jam)3.56
#281Graphics(Jam)3.88
#309Fun(Jam)3.37
#381Mood(Jam)3.32
#394Humor(Jam)3.03
#747Theme(Jam)3.14

Comments

JoseArias says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:01am

Innovative mechanics! Nice game!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:26am

Talk about punishing difficulty - yet absolutely adorable. XD

Ellian says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:37am

Hard to control, but the gameplay is surprisingly fun! Sticking to walls is nice but grabbing other stuff is smart :D

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Simply amazing entry. Seriously one of the best Ludum Dare entries (of any LD) I've ever tried, if not the best. Great mechanics, great design, great graphics, and most of all fun - and not just "fun for a jam game" but genuinely fun and clever. Awesome work, and I hope you plan to make a full game out of it.

Macecraft says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:53am

The slime is adorable, and the platforming is fun and strategic. The player feels a bit heavy though, and the momentum is a bit slow at times. I really liked the shields and swords c:

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:04am

The controls felt a bit wonky but all in all it worked well and there are quite a few levels. Excellent job.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:07am

Nice game :), great music and audio.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:45am

Lots of content for a 3-day game. I beat level 11 and yes it took a while.

Interesting mechanic with the rolling -- I don't know if it was just my computer or not, but when I was rolling fast, it did not seem to completely cover the wall, instead covering say, 80% or 90% of the surface but leaving a few bare spots.

One suggestion I would make if you continue work on this is to get rid of the top-of-screen kill. I'm not sure it is a common mechanic players would know about, and it felt kind of frustrating instead of adding to the game.

khahem says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:03am

Cool mechanic, controls were a bit hmm, sticky ? but nothing unplayable, it still was fun and appropriately challenging to play :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:11pm

That slime noise is perfect

Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:09pm

The game is really polished! Momentum is a bit slow, but the platforming/attacking is quite strategic. The sounds and music were on point, as were the graphics. Great game.

whalebot says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:31pm

This is great! I only wish I could move a little quicker. Overall this is very polished and well put together.

LeoM says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:26am

I've been stuck at the lvl 10, give up after 20/25 try, to much way to die.
The difficulty is progressive so it's not that problematic ! ^^

Muush says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:27am

It was slightly annoying to turn, but I get that the controls were on purpose. Overall good idea.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:31am

This was very cool but I found the jumping awkward when you're close to a wall.

sorlok says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:12am

Very nice! Solid mechanics, creative puzzle solving, and a nice difficulty curve. Great job!

Vladirien says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Impressive entry! The art style is really cute and the gameplay mecanics are good.

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Very innovative and unique playing as a slime with good level design overall few bugs I do not get how I died by jumping at the top of the screen. I really had fun playing it.

Cheers,
Alin Putinelu (los.pixelados)

xvw says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:33pm

This is one of my favorite entries!
Lovely graphics, innovative gameplay! Very consistent!
I love the musics!

Bravo!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Starts out great, but the delayed response on the controls makes the later levels more about memorizing the right time to let go than actually playing the game. Either the controls need to be more responsive, or the level design should be changed to fit how they are. It looks good though.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:58pm

That was innovative! I think you could build better gameplay on it, but the idea is great.

farnsworth2 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Interesting mechanic, the rolling felt slow and heavy though. It was also a little annoying that the slime didn't coat the entire surface when you rolled over it. Very good job over all!

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:15am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

bukt says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Looks like ready-to-sell product. Simply beautiful.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:04am

lovely mechanics

Demy says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Nice game. I have no idea why I'm killing rabbits.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]