Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

One-monster Elite Monster Rescue Squad

by rustybroomhandle - Jam Entry

You play Beefee, a tiny monster that in no way attempts to imitate an IP held by a well-known Japanese company. Your friends (see above) have been captured by the local villagers to keep as pets. As the only one not in a cage, and perhaps the only one with opposable thumbs, you are going to rescue them!

- Sneak around town using WASD or cursor keys
- Avoid villagers, they will alert the guards
- Avoid guards!
- Search containers for keys (hold down E or SPACE)
- Unlock cages to free your friends (hold down E or SPACE)
- Hide in tall grass or flower beds

HOW THIS WAS MADE:

All assets were built in Minecraft by the players of the IndieSquish Minecraft community. The models were then exported by an application called "jmc2obj" for manipulation and animation in Maya and Blender.

Development was done on a Manjaro Linux system using a closed experimental build of Unity Editor for Linux. Thanks very much to Na'Tosha and Levi Bard for that!

Source here: https://github.com/rustybroomhandle/sneakymon/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#70Graphics(Jam)4.41
#79Overall(Jam)3.90
#87Audio(Jam)3.81
#108Mood(Jam)3.84
#130Fun(Jam)3.65
#235Theme(Jam)3.81
#305Humor(Jam)3.21
#341Innovation(Jam)3.26
#1627Coolness40%

Comments

fistmaker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Solid entry! Smooth music fits the beat of the game. Plays well, simple mechanics. Decent challenge.

kvanderlaag says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:22am

Solid. Good music, great animations. Loving the 3D pixel-art style that Minecraft has produced. Mechanics are well-implemented. Throw some cutscenes explaining the game in, give it a few more levels, and I'd pay for this!

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Awesome graphics,setting and mood and music!

And unity linux :O!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:45pm

This is lovely! And so much fun sneaking around :). The in-game interface (numbers and tutorials) work very well, as do the guard-vision-cones. The voxel-style is also cool.

A Few issues I noticed:
- Diagonal moving is quicker than horizontal/vertikal. I know that bug, I've seen it in other projects. The move-directions get added, normalizing the move-vector stops this
- Invisible walls at the level-egde are irritating
- The colliders on the pumpkin-vegetable-field are fiddly and not fun

Great work! :D

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:28am

so cool, a bit like LEGO, fantastic visual style!

Miltage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:32pm

"Hey boss what should we do with these monsters?"

"Lock them in cages and strew the cages randomly around the town in such a way that they would be difficult to guard."

"Uh, okay. And where should we keep the keys?"

"I don't know, just like, throw them in open containers, it will be fine. Okay, no more questions."

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:27pm

You've created an excellent world and the stealth mechanic works really well. The art suits this style of game really well too with the bright colours and kind of 3d pixelart

Piotrek says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:25am

Nice stealth gameplay.
It's nice that so many people using voxel art, like me.
And it's nice that you used unity on linux, it is great alternative for windows.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:48am

Nice concept!! Take some stars!

pansapiens says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:03am

Looks great, and all the content makes it feel like a pretty lively and fleshed out world. Love the 'collection sound' too - familiar, but that's why it works. Gameplay-wise I felt like it should have been a little more challenging - maybe some of the villagers occasionally turning on the spot, and more regions where there are closer calls and more careful timing required. Kudos for using the experimental Unity Editor on Linux ... fingers crossed it becomes officially supported in the future !

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:20am

I'm usually not into stealth games, but I had fun with this one! Love the graphics. The music fits really well also. I wandered around for a bit before finishing to look for secrets since I had spare keys, haha. Wish there was more. Great job! :D

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Very nice and entertaining stealth game!

ciaodavinci says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Nice job. Great art style. Really enjoyed the overall mood. Music was catchy and sfx fit well. Found the movement with the keys was a bit laggy. Played it on Safari.

Yrr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Love it! Unfortunately the screen showing who you've freed makes it hard to hide immediately after freeing someone.

StrideWide says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Well done. Cool that you used minecraft for modeling. The screen that show up when you rescue someone blocks out the screen without pausing the game, and almost got me in trouble a few times.

Pomb says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Good work, really simple idea and good follow-through! Glad you didn"t have a lives mechanic in there :)

Tuism says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Hello fellow Poke-inspired game :P

The graphics are cool, though I think it was a bit heavy on my system... I keep getting bad lag spikes. But it didn't crash.

The concept works, though it feels like it was a bit rudimentary, would have liked a bit more interesting things to work out. The fact that keys were in everything was a bit weird. (Keys in buckets! Keys in barrels! Keys everywhere! Except where you might expect them, by guards and indoors :P)

I saw a clump of guys to the left on the bridge. It looked like some kind of red laser party freezeframe :P

Rad that you guys are using the minecraft stuff every jam :)

collaboration says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:24am

Wow. just love it, great job and art, music is cool!

wallmasterr says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:50am

Realy nice style and effects

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

ponywolf says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:42pm

This feels like a fully fleshed out game. Good entry!

Oct 20, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/wEgI5I5KLKY

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]