Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

U no take Loot!

by Orni - Compo Entry

Description:
============
You're a dragon minding your own business when nasty heroes enter your dungeon to steal your treasure!
Protect your hard earned gold with fiery breath, devious traps and summoned goblin hordes in 6 levels of fun!
Share your highscore to let the world know that you're the dragon with the biggest treasure far and wide!

Controls:
=========
WASD: moving around
E:build/buy traps
Mouse1: attack
Enter: start game

Alternative Controls:
=========
Arrow Keys: moving around
NumPad_0: build/buy traps
Mouse1: attack
Enter: start game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#88Graphics4.05
#90Fun3.74
#94Theme4.02
#104Overall3.75
#179Audio3.36
#232Mood3.34
#296Innovation3.27
#388Humor2.89

Comments

namrog84 says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Pretty neat! I like it

dustinaux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:18am

Pretty fun! Great-looking art.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:00am

Fantastic game!

Lots of polish.

The difficulty curve seemed to ramp up quite quickly, but I was able to complete all the levels :)

Kahztein says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:38am

A brilliant Ludum Dare entry, I believe you may actually get into the top 100!

tuben999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:26am

Really like it! enemys could give some more "feedback" when hit so you know something happening! :)

Kaev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:29am

One of the most cutest monsters LD33.
Game is funny and has a nice difficulty.
10/10 would spit fire again

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:38am

Fun clever game which explained the reason why dragons need all that gold, traps and help are costly. Was quite difficult at first play but once I realised I could run ahead and buy lots of traps it really helped. Nice entry.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:43am

Good stuff

celisoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:07am

Very nice! I love this game even if I find it a little bit too difficult because I died often.

Nizl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:13am

Great game overall. But after the first round it lost a lot of fun on my side. Even though the Dungeons are different it felt way to easy to get through the 2 minute mark because you could just upgrade everything and spam your fire attack.
Soundtrack, graphics and idea were pretty neat though. Good job!

Zoglu says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:28am

Really nice idea and mechanics ! The graphics and music are nicely done. Here are some ideas :
-

Zoglu says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:30am

Really nice idea and mechanics ! The graphics and music are nicely done. Here are some ideas :
- Add a life bar and more feedback when you get hit. You could also lose coins when you get KO'd.
- Start with less coins on first levels
- Traps could be more effective but last for a limited time only, so you'd have to reactivate them like the portals

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:31am

I really like this game. I thought the concept was really solid.
I liked the look and the feel. Good music as well. Well done.

ziege says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:35am

This is great!
Really like the graphics and music.
It could use a healthbar and the levels feels a bit too long though. Other than that, awesome.

Devark says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:00am

Charming pixel art style and lots of screenshake (which is always good :D). Would have been nice to get a little more feedback when damaging enemies. Interesting idea with the gold triggering traps. Overall really nice.

madmaw says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:49am

Great use of the theme and execellent impementation

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:08am

LOL. Great Graphics particularly.

thx4nothing says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:59am

This is very well done!
I like those shaking screen and the art so much :D

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Fantastic aesthetic and solid gameplay!

EwChap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Neat game. I love the look and feel. Difficulty curve is a bit rough but fun game.

frondeus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Gameplay rocks.

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Good fun, the time counter is a bit long though

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:42pm

A competent entry. There aren't enough hero driven tower defense games in the world.

Unfortunately the gameplay balance is a bit off here:
- The most effective trap is the spike trap. It always hits and does good damage. The problem? It is the cheapest as well.
- When the enemies get to the money pile they just stand there waiting to be killed. As such they aren't much of a threat even if they get to the end.
- Keeping the enemies back is way too easy. Fireballs can be spammed infinitely and dying is only a temporary stun. This is especially true when the money pile is in the end of a corridor. Just stand on it and spam away.

Suggestions:
- Enemies shouldn't drop money if they haven't stolen any. This way using traps would require more though as the money you start with doubles as your health.
- Enemies should run away once they have stolen some money.
- Enemies should be able to walk past traps they know of. So when the first knight dies on the spike trap the rest don't just mindlessly do the same.
- Less potent fire attack. Maybe with a cooldown period.
- A short period of time where the player can prepare traps and look at the map. It is kind of ridiculous that the dragon hasn't set up any defenses beforehand.
- More minions like the goblins. They are great.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:35pm

all around good game. Liked the sprites, the levels feel nice. The bobs are annoying. Funz. I like the timeout on hit. i didn't like the random fireball shooting. I liked all the traps. Cool stuff. good work.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:44am

That game was beautiful. Died a bunch until I realized how strong traps are, then it became a game of "turn on every trap all the time and just collect the loot". Fun game, really well polished.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:23am

Great take on tower defense. Awesome sprites <3

kikaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:30pm

sweet graphics, good animations, and good gameplay, just became hard in the 3rd dungeon because of the number of the assailants ! but well done !

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Wow, amazing idea ! :D Controls are smooth, graphics looks cool (maybe too small :/ )

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:35pm

I LOVE THIS ONE! GREAT GAME!
The art is extremely beautiful! I love goblinz :D

namrog84 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:35pm

The dragon got slayed! I couldn't keep my treasure!

disperse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:36pm

The most fun I've had with an entry so far, the shooting was satisfying.

DragonGino says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:38pm

an beautiful game to play with a lot of variration.

Datamosh says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Fun game! :) Super difficult last seconds!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Well that got difficult quite quickly, haha.

I felt like the traps were a little too set-it-and-forget-it. I basically just bought them all as fast as possible and then ran around shooting. At that point they might as well have been automatically set up for me. Maybe if they required a different "currency" that you unlock by killing guys, or they disable after a while, it would make it more interesting.

Still, fun concept and gameplay. Great job.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:13pm

A cool little game! I especially love the graphical style.

Kep says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Very fun, even if I spend a lot of time dead. Nice work.

dollarone says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Awesome work. Lots of nice graphics. Interesting idea :) The only challenge really was to set all the traps and renew the pentagrams, maybe other traps should expire as well? But very well done!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:12pm

I love me some autotracker music :D I really had fun playing and you have a great art style.

01101101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:58am

Fun game, very cute art and cool music! Congrats! :)
The only thing missing is a transition between levels but otherwise it's pretty polished, good job.

guoboism says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Great game! Buy and place traps and defend against 'heroes'!
Overall very polished! Picked!

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:33pm

I like the take on the theme. It is a nice cute spin on the dungeon crawler genre. The graphics music and sounds were simple and worked well. The controls were fluid and the mechanics were solid. It was fun to play. My main issue is: the ranged enemies' arrows were hard to see due to how small they were and how similar they were in color to the floor tiles. Other than that, a solid fun entry (if not a little on the easy side).

Sparrow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:07pm

A very good game! Had a great time! :D

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Excellent.

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Very fantastic game. I killed 40 minutes playing this game. I liked everything. Well done. =)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Fun!

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Wonderful game idea, would love to see this fleshed out and balanced more!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:28am

Wow impressive work for a compo! (even for a jam actually...) Pixel art is neat, audio is okay (fireball get repetitive tho), and gameplay is quite handy, even tho "E" to build is not really the most logic choice, Space would have been more easy to use I think. The fact that there are many levels is impressive as well, it seems that you managed really well your development time.

On the bad side, despite the fact that the game is cool on all aspects took one by one, I miss an overall actual gameplay challenge. I just buy all traps (because I have all the money needed from the beginning of each level), I spawn most goblins I can, and then I shoot and wait... At the end of the day, I had enough at the 3rd level, cause no real fun was emerging of my experience, even if I loved the controls, the arts, the mood, etc. ^^ Just saying, in case it might be an useful feedback.

Anyway, again, super impressive entry regarding work achieved (+1 because I love being a dragon :p)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:39am

Fun little game, with lots of polish!

Orni says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:20pm

I loved reading all your comments - thanks for playing my game :D
A lot of great suggestions here - as well as so many compliments, I'm really happy

I might to a post-compo version next week or so with the following changes:

-tutorial level and better learning/difficulty curves
-couple of new traps (at least one new summon as well)
-couple of new heroes (trap immune invisible ones, fast riders and big guy with much hp)
-more archer arrows contrast (by using an effect trail)
-less starting gold overall (can't buy lots of traps at the beginning)
-hero exit (heroes take some gold and try to flee)
-more levels
-better level transitions
-enemies come in waves with short (skipable) pauses in between
-better music and sound effects (I didn't have much time during compo)
-easier controls (especially buying traps)
-stun bar (fills when getting hit, decreases over time - stun when full)
-overheat bar (fills when attacking, decreases over time - can't attack when full)
-powerful active ability that costs gold (on cooldown)
-dragon selection (each dragon uses different attack / active ability)
-bosses, that are very strong and have an aura that buffs nearby heroes
-maybe some sort of story intro (super rudimentary)
-more polishing overall (actual animations for example)

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Very nice game. Found it quite easy with the fireball spamming and traps, but it was fun.

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Lots of fun! It's a little unfair that heroes get to instantly enter when a level starts. Let me lay my traps to kill you first! haha. The graphics look great. Good job with this. :)

ehtd says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Nice game

wooltech says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Looks and soudns great. Nice gameplay idea, a little like running around inside a tower defence.

Patomkin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:43am

Really nice game! But levels are too long, I think. And why do you start with 1k gold? No point in collecting gold from the enemies...

Larzan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:49am

AAaaaajaaaaw, soooo frustrating, dey take mi treasure!
Great gfx, good music, love the concept and implementation, well done!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Really great art, music is great but sound is a teeny bit annoying! Really like the concept and it's pretty fun, but the enemies took too many hits to kill I thought, especially with the way you don't have great control over where you shoot.

Definitely a great entry though, very well put together and awesome concept too.

Tuism says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Cute graphics, funny that I got to this from you asking for an artist to come onboard...

The game is really flat. I basically just backed up until just before the treasure and fired fireballs in a straight line that seemed to cross the paths of adventurers the most.

Aiming is almost pointless because everything moves so fast.

Zero feedback on your getting hit or enemies getting hit means I don't know when/if I'm going to die or when/if the enemy is going to die.

When they die they drop money. But when they reach your lair they... teleport money out?

I feel like maybe I'm missing something. This has great presentation but it doesn't make me feel like I'm in control of the outcome.

Tuism says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:44pm

OK, an update, as I realised now you can build traps. But that just means I start the level by running around hitting E... And that's it. Where's the choice :/

Hjalte500 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Really nice cute graphics. Kinda wish there was a better indication when hitting them but other than that it was pretty great!

Pomb says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Good effort here man! I wouldn't mind seeing a bit better enemy logic, but graphics are great man.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Once I figured out those small holes on the wall were arrows then it got a lot easier. I had a lot of fun with this and the art style is really nice too!

Boberro says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:45pm

well thought out and complete. I like it.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Cute graphics, fun game. I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/1VzFVc1MuWc

HappyHour says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:05pm

A fun little survival-style entry. I definitely can see potential for this to become a full title. :)

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:21pm

I'm gonna say that this is probably the funnest LD33 game I've played apart, perhaps, from deepnight's. Terrific concept really well executed. Awesome!

arzi says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Great game! I just wish the dragon's health was visible somewhere (and maybe a knockout timer)

bombjack says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 11:57am

Amazing little game. a little repetitive. good job :)

MaesK says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Great game! Fun and entertaining. Good work creating content, there were more stages than I expected. It's like a tower defense but having the player being important in battle as well :D

Although it repeats mechanics after a while, considering the 48h time it's excellent as it is. Maybe some new monsters or traps and it might turn into a full game.

Twinters says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Really liked the gamefeel on this game: lovely screenshake and particle effects!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]