Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Licker

by ohsqueezy - Jam Entry

Lick the planets!

This game was made to be played with your tongue. Lick colored popsicles in real life to move the monster and lick planets on screen. We designed a custom controller (see the last pic) specifically for playing with your tongue! It's made of molded ice sculpture planets in various flavors and a 3-D printed base.

The game also works for keyboard! If you want an experience similar to the actual ice controller, you could depress your keys with your tongue. Each button press moves you toward the nearest respectively colored planet. Lick a planet four times to eat it completely. Avoid space-mines as you lick your way around the solar system!

Andy An (@AAAndy_An, AAAndyAn.com) -- Art, Custom Controller, Design
Azuria Sky (@azuria_sky, http://azuria-sky.net/) -- Music
Otis Denner-Kenny (@sitonapanotis) -- Art, Design, Sound Effects
ohsqueezy (@Dometoerio) -- Code, Design

- Photo by edibletoaster
- Made @ Babycastles in NYC

To run on Windows:

* Unzip file
* Double-click OPEN-GAME

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#5Innovation(Jam)4.36
#62Humor(Jam)3.95
#97Audio(Jam)3.77
#232Fun(Jam)3.48
#279Mood(Jam)3.46
#330Overall(Jam)3.45
#595Graphics(Jam)3.25
#739Theme(Jam)3.15

Comments

SSJMetroid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Very silly game good job, I won! Too bad I couldn't play with the original... controller... PS nice tunes, Sky ;)

FerraWare says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Excellent game! Really fun :P

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:02pm

*sluuurp, sluuurp*
I wonder how it would look like playing with the controller. I can also think about some...more japanese like applications for it *cough*

Flaid says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:06pm

The graphics and sound give that awesome "retro" feel, which made it more enjoyable.

my lack of a lickable controller aside (and the knowledge of where these laptop keys have been) -- the movement mechanic was actually pretty interesting and fun. I had to keep remembering which key would move to which planet, which interestingly got harder the further along I went.

After lickin' some planets, I won! I guess! I mean, I don't know what I did to win, but I did! It might have been better to have a score / timer / combination and have the amount of mines increase the more planets you lick? Maybe? I don't know.

Still, innovation 5/5, would lick planets again

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:45pm

I don't have the controler !!! :P
nice gameplay, simple but efficient

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Love the music!
Love licking planets... :D
The mechanics is very original!

Downside: I understood that there were mines ... after several levels! Just when I thought the gameplay was lacking constraints ...

Good job, thanks for the game!

ohsqueezy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Thank you for playing and commenting!

Regarding the mines, it's true they aren't very noticeable. We plan to make it so they are placed more strategically, look more hazardous and give more feedback when triggered.

jcsirron says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:55pm

...What did I just play? I love how bizarre the game is. I must say that the custom controller looks cool, too!

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:55am

Even though I had no licking controller, just the combination of the graphics, music, & licking planets made me smile a lot. Great job on this!

Supernaught says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:36am

Awesome game with excellent chiptune music! (Actually I just left the game running in the background after playing just to listen to the music.)

Oh and also I NEED THAT LICKING CONTROLLER.

Boberro says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:34am

Winning the game freezes the application on mac.
ps. Great tunes.

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:45am

Licker of planets. I would have never thought of that. The licking sound is creepy XD. but congrats on submitting your entry!

jrhee says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:49pm

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm tasty

shawn42 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:23am

I really liked the art style and humor.

kalinova says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:21am

I saw this demoed at Babycastles and it's awesome! I can't wait to try it out once the popsicle controllers are finished!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:07am

Great job on this game it's a very original fun little game

athaclena says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:24pm

This game is adorable. Keeping it so my niece can play it; I might even let her lick my keyboard. (She's 3. She really likes licking things.)

Nurbs says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:07pm

This game is bizzare but it's oddly charming. I would lick your video game any day.

pls custom controller w/ flavored planets

NightShadow0 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Haha this is certainly different! It's an interesting mechanic even without the controller, having to avoid the mines(?) with only three or less possible directions, though i didn't realize they were harmful until i died. I also have a hard time telling orange and green apart, so that was occasionally troublesome. Still had fun though. Digging the music too. Nice work!

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Oh shoot, sorry to hear that NightShadow0, color blind mode was something we were thinking of adding down the road, thanks for the feedback!

We are definitely going to work on making the mines more readable in the future as well.

wesley werner says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:23am

Planetliscious! Nice idea :)

Pierrec says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:40am

My keyboard is WAY too dirty to try the game as it should be. I wish I were at Babycastle! Great idea!

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:14am

Mmmmm Blue Planet pops are my favorite

MrTwister says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:01am

Pretty well done game! While the gameplay itself is not really "innovative", the control "scheme" definitely is, so you are getting a damn lot of stars in that category :)

I couldn't play it as it was "intended" though (one can only hope that lickable controllers become a common thing in the future) but I played it with a keyboard and watched the "gameplay" video so I guess I have a pretty good idea of this game now.

Audio and graphics are incredibly good too, and the game is really well polished.

I guess the objective/win condition/goal is not really THAT clear, so there's some room for improvement there.

It's a REALLY good entry overall, and one of the most creative things I've seen so far. Great job, really! Kudos to the whole team!

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Thanks for the feedback MrTwister, making the win condition more clear to the player is definitely next on our list of things to do!

Pusty says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Why am I licking my keyboard? o.O 5/5

Sep 12, 2015 @ 12:39am

Great Idea, Fantastic Innovation!

binasa says ...
Jul 24, 2017 @ 4:45pm

Create an account and you'll instantly see the full version of the app unlock before your eyes for 24 hours.http://modernjerseys.ru/photography/cnc3-tiberium-wars-keygen.php La possibilit dtre guid directement dans votre application TomTom.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]