Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Frankenstein's Monsters, Inc.

by AtkinsSJ - Compo Entry

What if Dr Frankenstein started a monster-building business?

Controls: Mouse, and left mouse button.

---

You are Dr. Frankenstein. Like any self-respecting entrepreneur, you've turned your monster-building experiments into a business! And why get your hands dirty when you can delegate?

Body parts are unearthed at the graveyard, are sewn together in the operating theatre, then zapped to life with a healthy dose of lightning. The resulting monsters can then either be assigned to work for you, or sold for a healthy profit. Human beings will also apply for jobs, and are about 4 times more effective, but cost 4 times as much in wages.

Your actions understandably generate public outrage - the higher it is, the fewer people will want to work for you, and if it ever reaches 100% an angry mob will burn down your premises. Try to avoid that, by spending money on charitable works.

Win by earning enough money to retire!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#87Theme4.04
#199Humor3.32
#237Overall3.44
#267Innovation3.32
#304Mood3.23
#313Fun3.24
#353Audio2.96
#453Graphics3.12
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

RoboNebula says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Nice and simple game! I was hooked to this for an entire hour, on my Ipad! It works on mobile!

EmanP says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Ahh.... I always wanted to sell enough for a lovely trip to the caribbean... With my business strategies, you can too! But a vacation awaits me... so I'll tell you businessmen later, ok?

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Really good mechanics. I started by putting all my monsters into digging, then realized it was really all about finding your bottlenecks, so started to spread them more evenly. I lost when I ran out of money, because the instructions didn't mention that would make me lose! They just say you win if you retire and lose if public outrage hits 100%.

Old English money was a nice touch, and I liked the various PR options.

I think in a game like this UI is really important, and could have benefited from some more time spent choosing colors that stand out for the text, and aligning the various figures so it's easier to see at a glance what your situation is.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:42pm

My thoughts:

- I kinda feel like all those hospitals built in the endgame should have had some effect on the rate of body part acquisition... :P
- I was struggling to read the text in the top-right box - it might be worth moving the monster's head down a bit, so the light text is on a darker background.
- Also, it might have been worth giving monster workers some advantage or disadvantage over human workers - at the moment, as I understand it, 4 monsters = 1 human, so there's not really any situation where you'd choose monster workers over human ones (unless you're not getting any applicants because of public outrage, but I never had any problems there).
- On the plus side, the difficulty curve seemed just right - not so simple as to have an obvious cookie-clicker "right answer" the first time round, but not so opaque that us players have no hope of figuring the system out. Which in this sort of game is a tricky balance to hit, so well done!

LogGiant says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:05am

Everyone was getting upset at me, so I reminded them who I am! By building hospitals and orphanages of course.
I only wish that the monster/person I clicked on was selected instead of the first one in the room. Otherwise I had a fantastic time!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Thanks everyone! :D I'm really glad people are enjoying my silly little game.

The text is indeed hard to read in places. I had adjusted some things to make it easier, but that was *before* I drew the top-right image at the last minute. Sorry about that.

The humans being equal to 4 monsters is dull, but I didn't at the time think of any way to make them different without making one obviously superior to the other. Maybe monster workers should cause more outrage. Originally workers were going to have randomised statistics, but that got cut.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Good job. simple to play. Loved it

Legulysse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Hard to understand at the first time, but cool to manage by the way

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Nice to play :D

tuturto says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Fun game and I loved all various body parts flying from the grave. Very innovative idea too.

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Cool concept. The time management and "consumables" were initially confusing but once I got the hang of it I liked imagining the simulation. Good work!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Like the management take on the theme, first game I've seen like this! Quite addictive too, you feel like you have to keep playing until you're rich! I wish I could build a hospital for £3 xD

Xanjos says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Took some time to find a good way to generate that cashflow but I like the gameplay idea a lot.

refreshgames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:55pm

I should have retired 3 years ago! Fun game, I died a couple of times at the start then used my newly found business acumen to really churn those monsters out! Nice touch with the music and olde english imperial currency :)

BlackQuiltro says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:12pm

I really like this type of games :)
Good balance on the mechanics, simple yet you can achieve a lot with them. I would make clearer the cost of human labor and changed the money format to something simpler (I am not from an English speaking country)

Liked the graphics, the music was good but a bit monotonous.
Nice work :)

shawn42 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:51am

nice and addictive. lost far too much time to this game! great entry!

Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:35am

Best Dr. Frankenstein's business simulator 2015.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]