Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Shut the Front Door!

by xevozfighter - Jam Entry

You are Bill, the skeleton. Your co-worker was an idiot and forgot to close the front door of the dungeon. Now you have to trek to the top and fix his mistake.

Controls:
Arrow keys to move.
Space to jump.
Z to interact with objects(when a '-Z-' appears above your head).

You can wall jump and double jump.

Please enjoy and give constructive criticism.

Programming: Stencyl
Sound: SFXR and Audacity
Graphics: Microsoft Paint

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#239Humor(Jam)3.37
#383Theme(Jam)3.63
#422Fun(Jam)3.20
#631Audio(Jam)2.33
#694Overall(Jam)3.03
#821Innovation(Jam)2.63
#823Mood(Jam)2.71
#936Graphics(Jam)2.39

Comments

peecestudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:54am

Love the physics and wall jumping, any game with wall jumping is good. I like wall jumping. Wall jumping. Did i mention i like wall jumping?

purenickery says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:19am

Running into the players many times in a row was pretty frustrating. Great idea for a game though! Also wall jumping, did I mention the wall jumping? The wall jumping was great! Wall jumping wall jumping

(also I didn't know you could double jump until half-way through)

RiverAndRun says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:22am

Nicely done. The wall jumping is superb. Like to see you on the compo / jam again. Good Work :D

madcapacity says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:23am

A list of the controls beforehand would've been nice.

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:27am

Fun little game! No real gripe with it. I love the personality you added to the game by making the skeleton and boss man relatable.

klbrazil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:01pm

0 raise by 15%

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Loved the concept of the monsters office X)
Altough, is hard to figure out the controls

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Really well done. Loved the humor and how you worked with the theme!

wicht says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:25am

15% raise lol... Well executed and right size for jam. Wall graphics could have been nicer. Other than that: great humor and good entry!

Skyfish says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:41pm

I could not pick up the key? I couldn't get past the first players either.

xevozfighter says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:49pm

@Skyfish, the key is for decoration. I wanted the levels to be set up sort of like a really dungeon.

Fraust says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:24pm

the key is bugged... couldn't pick it up :(

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:48pm

So, the dialog was nice but it was easy to miss it because you had to stand on a certain point.
Also, players spawning right on top of doors without an indicator was frustrating. Otherwise it's okay!

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Really solid entry! controls are really smooth, the art is great and it was really fun. Good job!

ehtd says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:45pm

fun game, graphics can improve and so do SFX, jumping sound was too loud

Kassimkot says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:12am

loved the game. i like the idea of the monster of a dungeon level. good job

igoramendola says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:37am

hahaha nice concept and good humor. I would play more levels :D

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:08pm

is nice the wall jump but on the second jump it jumps too much, anyway, keep making levels and it can be a interesting game ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]