Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dragon's Horde

by Connors - Compo Entry

In this game, you are a golden dragon protecting your pile of treasure (read: and also using said pile to lure delicious people into your cave). You're very large so moving around makes you hungry. Eat the thieves trying to steal your gold to gain points! Round ends when someone escapes with a piece of your treasure.
Features gradually increasing difficulty, and beautiful shiny gold. :D

Note that there IS a fullscreen button within the game's webpage.

PICO-8 is required to view the source (It saves all data in the .p8.png file, including graphics/sound/music). However, I would also like to post the text version: https://gist.github.com/octoConnors/20347d75c7e697277aec

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#61Theme4.11
#143Fun3.56
#155Innovation3.54
#161Overall3.61
#165Audio3.41
#197Mood3.42
#199Graphics3.67
#369Humor2.93

Comments

Mattress says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:11am

This was a pretty well done, fun entry. Wasn't very moody, but that's alright. :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:26am

The dragons breathing animation was a nice touch.

All the pieces that make this game are really well done. graphics, audio, game mechanics are all well polished.

Lynx says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28am

This is a game that could eat up coins back in the golden age of arcade games!

Puns completely intended! (Although I must say the learning curve is a bit steep)

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:15pm

it was nice retro entry, but i couldnt stand the music too long time...

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Nice game! Idea and controls are great. Got a little samey eventually, the difficulty seemed to cap out... Maybe I wasn't playing for long enough?

Connors says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Yeah, the difficulty caps out. The plan was to try and add more enemy types and maybe even give the dragon another ability, but I didn't get that far. Looks like I won't even have it for the jam. :/ I also would have liked to work on the music a bit more. But overall, I'm happy with it.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:05am

This is really nice. A very polished piece of work. Takes one mechanic and runs with it.

Phoenix Smith says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

Enjoyed the game, especially that music at the start. very nice. Was hard to tell at what point they would steal gold and was a little sad to find I lost when only one piece was taken. Art represented everything it needed and I love the movement + hunger system.

Also saw you tried to play my game. You must of caught it on the re-upload for the Credits page.

Mozz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:12am

I really dig the music - great idea and executed well!

dethe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47am

Great game, lots of fun. Nicely put together.

richy486 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:48am

Looks great

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Well done! I ended up getting 36 burglars. I really liked the music.

RadMcCool says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Nice idea. Really liked the camouflage mechanic and art used for it.

zatyka says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Simple, but very well done. Controls felt good, graphics were cute. I think the little touches of the dragon breathing, and his flying animation, were excellent choices. It made the character feel real. I enjoyed playing, but things did get repetative somewhat quickly. I'm glad to see you used the pico-8, and am looking to see a post-compo version.

bitdecaygames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:24pm

I liked the breathing dragon. That was cool how you took such simple style and made it tell so much about what characters were doing.

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:28am

Nice retro game, it is even adictive. Well done!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:49am

Loved it

danialias says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:27am

Great game! And a very nice use of the theme:). At the beginning it was a bit frustrating because everybody escaped and my dragon was starving, but then I discovered the stealth system :). As other people say, eating those thieves is very satisfying. Good job!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Really cool game man! As I was playing this game I was reminded of Smog from the Hobbit. I'm actually surprised that there aren't that many games in Ludum Dare that utilized the Dragon in their theme! great work. :)

walsh9 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:45am

Always great to see PICO-8 games. Add me to the list of people who love the breathing animation. Also, I thought it was cool how when I first saw a little 10 pixel burglar of a different color, I could just tell that obviously was wearing armor because he walked slower. I like that kind of attention to detail.

Forlorn79 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:43pm

A hard game, mostly because it's hard to judge how close you can be before the people run away, and they come from both sides. I really would have liked a long range fire attack so that I wouldn't have to keep moving back and forth. The game functions well, but more variety would have made me want to play longer. I quickly got the impression that the game was going to be more of the same as time went on, and I'm not into just trying to get high scores. The best aspect was the mood, which made the whole experience enjoyable, while it lasted.

Brightstar says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:35am

I like it. Felt like a Commodore 64 game. The idea of a dragon as an ambush predator is terrifying. I give it 5 Cookie Cats.

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Loved the camouflage mechanic, I found that waiting for burglars to take some gold just before eating them was usually the most effective strategy. The music is dark and gloomy, and I like your art style. Well done!

Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Pretty neat!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]