Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Exogorth

by Will Edwards - Jam Entry

I have certainly never seen a game which mixed a ray marching scene with traditional 3D models drawn with triangles before... wouldn't it be cool if its a first-ever? :D And don't forget you saw it here first on Ludum Dare, folks :)

Tunnel adapted from https://www.shadertoy.com/view/XlXXWj by http://extern.com/ I made quite a few tweaks and ported the ray march to javascript. Spaceships borrowed from my LD24 entry and sound track by Kevin MacLeod; effects from freesound.org.

Its easy to fly down a ray marched scene, but walk... working out where the ground is and navigating on it is a royal pain and I wasn't happy with it. So the game turned into ... exogorth http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Exogorth

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#285Mood(Jam)3.44
#386Graphics(Jam)3.67
#454Innovation(Jam)3.09
#455Theme(Jam)3.55
#713Overall(Jam)3.01
#838Humor(Jam)2.16
#1051Fun(Jam)2.20
#1713Coolness37%

Comments

increpare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:24pm

not sure what interactions i could do/the controls are - realized on my second playthrough space did something (But i'm not sure if it has any effect beyond the visual). didn't realize that colliding is what killed me, or that i got killed at all (I thought initially that the giant explosion was a distant star exploding, that that was it).

didn't work on safari, works on chrome ok. nice work :)

Clurect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:37pm

The control is a little off... but fun game and good graphics

zuurr says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Controls have a bit of wonk to them but overall pretty cool.

Wouldn't have thought to render the caves using raymarching (i generally think of stuff like that as a bit too impractical) but it ran well even on my laptop. Nice.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:08am

Thanks for the comment! I'm thinking of something like you describe, with player interaction or player personalities providing depth in a more complete game.

For your game, the controls are rough (hard to know when you can bite, and biting blinds you) but the graphics are neat!

Demy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:22am

Very good thriller mood and visual effects. But controls are too complicated.

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:28am

looks nice :D

Rongon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:44am

It has that space loneliness feel to it, and I really wanted to eat (rggghh, just to say hi to them) that ship.
Controls are a bit clunky, so I didn't manage to do it :(

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:25am

Interesting idea. The controls are a bit weird and it's hard to tell when you're about to collide with a ship, so I just kept jamming the spacebar and that helped :P. The sound is cool and creepy, and I think you good the mood of the game very well done. Thumbs up ;)

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:23am

Great work on atmosphere and the looks of caves. Very little gameplay though. Btw the mosaic is awesome but it hurts my OCD and I still didn't found my game.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:37am

At my best I managed to chomp down 4 spaceships. ^^"

The yay:
- interesting mood
- original gameplay

The nay:
- troublesome controls
- hard to tell when to bite
- highly detailed cave contrasts a bit with spaceships

Pretty original entry, might be an interesting setup for something bigger and more polished.

On unrelated note: yay, mosaic!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:38am

I am not sure I get the controls. I try and move and I move somehow but I don't really get how. The atmosphere is sick though!

Mossy Frog says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:13am

Pretty cool, definatly feels like your are wriggling through the tunnels. Awesome entry and great job with the mosaic!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:24pm

This is no cave! Nice job

tweedle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Cool setting! I only managed to chomp a couple ships... but I saw the stars at the end! -T

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:43pm

What a strange perspective. Cool graphics. Gameplay could be more straight forward. Or at least some instructions what is good and what not.

walaber says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:15pm

interesting control scheme... a bit hard to get used to. nice technical implementation though!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Cool game. Controls were confusing at first but I got them after the first attempt. The music really made the game immersive. I know you didn't make it but good choice. Also the animation of biting really made me feel like I was the worm. My only problem with the game was the lack of response from the other ships when
I took one out. I understand it probably would've been complicated to add a visual and game changing one, but I think if you could've hear radio chatter from the other ships starting to freak out, that would've been really awesome, and really made you feel like the monster. BTW your mosaic brought me here. Awesome job on that.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Slithered through caves, at ships. What else is there in life? Got Game Over twice as I was about to exit, and could see the stars? Assume this was the end of level as I got a score? Nice work.

Shackhal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:30am

The controls are very difficult to control and the gameplay is very simple and a bit dull. Still, the graphics looks great and the music helps to keep the mood high.

Overall, the game passes.

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:11am

Well, the mood and graphics are good, The controlls are hard. I didn't manage to chew on any spaceship...

I quite like it tho, the ambiance is definitively here! and +1 for the Star Wars reference

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:23am

Wow, it's really atmospheric. Graphics is really cool, love the jaws effect, music is 5/5. Would love to see it more polished, great job!

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:42am

The raymarch shader is brilliant. I just wish there were mouse controls for this, I just couldn't stop myself crashing into things!

Your mosaics are brilliant btw. Thank you for doing those :)

madalaski says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Reminds me of the worm scene from Empire Strikes Back. Well made, good look with a fantastic atmosphere that really fits in to the game.

MrMordem says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:59pm

The controls are a bit strange, other than that the graphics are very nice, the music really sets the tone, and it's a nice concept overall, and of course +1 for the star wars reference even in the opening title

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Interesting game I must admit... the controls are a bit wonkie though.

Chris M says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Really chilling, I like how alienating the controls felt but found it hard to make any meaningful interactions with the world.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:24pm

I can't seem to get the game to start, i see the intro text and the controls, but it won't go any further. Is there a button i have to press?

godjammit says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:28pm

One of the most nitemarish scenes from Star Wars made into a game. I like how controlling the worm requires wiggling with WASD, but I felt it was too hard to gauge distance from ships- you have to be close to eat, but not too close, or you lose outright. A bit too punishing. Also, I think the control schemes lend themselves well to outmaneuvering/tricking the ships, rather than trying to simply catch up with them. Good concept!

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:57pm

great graphics, fit the theme really well.....came here from the mosaic, which is amazing!

Divitos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:29pm

This game was absolutely amazing and you did a great job pushing the boundaries of what's possible in a game jam game.

Why the Mosaic though? D:
I'm going to spend all day looking for my game in it, there goes my productivity.

NikB says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:56am

Definitely atmospheric and beautiful, but incredibly hard to control.

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:24pm

It's not a bad idea, but the bad and awkward controls made it really hard.

yuigoto says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:07am

Interesting and fun concept, but controlling the monster felt a bit strange. :P

The graphics are really nice, the cave rendering is beautiful but the ships give some kind of contrast, though.

The mood is quite nice and the chosen soundtrack certainly helps establish the atmosphere. :3

Controls, as said, felt a bit strange. I didn't understand, at first, how they worked also. I could only bite one ship and collided with another, I found a bit hard to define when is the right time to chew.

But I'd like to see something more like this! :D

Cheers!

lkpridgeon says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I rather liked the game however experienced multiple issues within firefox such as the switching of resolution crashing the browser. It was an interesting experience and theme.

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:45pm

I like the graphics and the atmosphere, but I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do. This would be cool if this was expanded upon.

panda says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:34pm

The cave's beautiful, great mood, the sound helps! I found the controls a bit difficult, though. Hard to accelerate to catch up to the ships! Perhaps a different control scheme for the post-compo version.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:59am

That was... breathtaking. The mood and scale of the game was extraordinary! Not a huge fan of the cartoon teeth, but wow

hdong says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:40am

Controls were clunky
Great music and mood!

valid4life says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:41am

You did a great job of creating a nice intense atmosphere. Visuals were great as well!

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Terrifying. i would love to see a finished version of this game. How everybody said, the controls are a bit difficult. I couldn't eat any spaceship. Well, i know the game is more a tech demo than a game itself, but you have a good idea here that could lead to a great game.

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Amazing graphics I really like the bump mapping which make the game look really cool. The controls was somewhat strange and hard to control. Great work with the mosaic by the way, I found my game in there :)

Eldan_Knight says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Fantastic atmosphere and good idea. But I had also a problem with gameplay, I don´t know if controls react ok because I couldn't catch any spaceship! It runs a bit slow but I don't know if the problem is my Internet...

wooltech says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:40pm

It looks and sounds great, but the controls make it very tricky.

MAnimal says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Hard to control. Nice models.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]