Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Typer

by Jezzamon - Compo Entry

Haha, well,

This is a fun little unfinished game. I only spent about 5 hours on it. Although it's not done, I hope you have fun anyway!

EDIT: What's this?? Post Compo version out already???? If you like the compo one and want to play a game with a menu and some more scenarios, check it out! There's also a slow typer mode, which will also give you more time to read everything

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#40Humor3.95
#189Audio3.33
#303Theme3.65
#500Mood2.95
#533Graphics2.95
#582Innovation2.81
#632Overall2.95
#760Fun2.57
#1713Coolness37%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47am

I actually laughed out loud during this.

My only issue was that my poor reflexes were to slow! There was not a whole lot of time to hit the button.

Lynx says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:52am

This is pure humor for such a heavy theme, I love this concept so much! Such an easy platform to expand on too with so much potential of parodies subjects!

It's the Weird Al or LD #33

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Cool idea, could have used more cases though and a game-over/scoring system. I'm also not a robot, so I couldn't read then press the keys anywhere near fast enough after about 2 minutes. Random music loops are nice, even if there are gaps.

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:11am

Quite fun! It got too fast after a while that I just kept getting sad faces. I liked the scenarios though. :D

StrayCat says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Its fun, I would like some time to read what you have to do though. Maybe leave the letter in another color.

Twinters says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Great game! I'm really impressed by the graphics and the music is very suiting and well composed. I just wish I could comprehend the situation better while playing the game. It would have been cool if you had to type something longer than just one key (like, type some small predefined tweet when you had to tweet, type a small command when spying, write some mean words when writing the review), so you can enjoy the scenario a bit longer, but that's of course a design choice that also has some downsides. Anyway, good job!

NeanderG says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Weird little game enjoyed it, but could not realy find the theme.

NightShadow0 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:32pm

This becomes impossible real quick, to the point where the timer no longer even appears. A score counter would have gone a long way too. The music is pretty catchy though, and i find it oddly entertaining that it looks like the NSA guy is dancing to it.
Of course, you already know all of this, because the post-compo version is significantly improved, so well done there!

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Nice WarioWare style entry - I like the rapid fire pace, even if it does become unbearably fast pretty quickly. The music was pretty cutesy and playful, I really liked how it added to the game's charm. The text was pretty unreadable at 1920x1200 since it was so large - I felt like a deer in headlights trying to parse it! The compo version only really needed scoring, which I see you added for the post compo version. I really quite liked this, well done!

Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:36pm

very fun and humoristic! the font is hard to read and i think you could give some more emphasis to the letter you have to press. Music is good and match with the game. nice done!

Sanguine says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:20pm

I liked the lose animations in the scenarios, I wish there were more though!

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Simple and sweet! Funny concept, very fast-paced. Definitely got too fast for me after a minute or so; maybe you could make it vary between fast/slow, while making it get faster over time on average?

Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:25pm

- funny idea
- needs more feedback when you succeed or fail each level
- music was catchy

igoramendola says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:13am

hahahah Great idea and good humor. It has cool graphics/animations. I also played the post combo version and it was nice have played the finished version ;D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]