Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Math Mania!

by SuperPokeunicorn - Compo Entry

IMPORTANT: Some people are reporting a crashing bug on entering all of the equations. This doesn't happen to most people, but just remember not to score the game if it is unplayable for you.

PLOT:
It's the distant future: 2005. You, Vector Mc Math, have been thrown into the post-apocalypse math death arena. In this arena, you must use MATH ITSELF to combat the oncoming waves of robots, goblins, brutes, flying turrets, and castles on wheels.

DESCRIPTION:
In this game, you get to create the equation for the line your projectiles will follow (as in y=stuff). You get five in total. Use the calculator at the bottom of the screen to enter in equations. NOTE: ^ is for exponents, (-) is a negative symbol, X is your variable (* is multiplication), and < is backspace. When you have a valid equation, you will see a preview of the attack on screen. Press the blue button to submit your attack. Note: the player character functions as the origin, so moving around WILL affect where your projectiles go. Also note: nested parentheses and nested exponents have been disabled. You will not be able to enter them.

SUPER IMPORTANT NOTE: Your health regenerates slowly when you are not getting hit.

If you are having trouble with difficulty, please try out the post-compo version. The health and spawning systems are re-balanced along with enemy speed to give a greater focus to using different optimal equations.

SOME EQUATION IDEAS FOR THE LAZY:
y=0
y=x
y=x^2
y=x^3
y=x^(-2)
y=9*x-99*x^3

CONTROLS:
Mouse: enter equations
1: attack one
2: attack two
3: attack three
4: attack four
space: attack five
up arrow: up
down arrow: down
left arrow: left
right arrow: right

LIBRARIES:
Personal library: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fqunpt0pug0o650/Base%20Code.zip?dl=0
Other libraries: jl, mp3sqi, tritonus_share

TOOLS:
Eclipse
Paint.net
Autodesk Sketchbook Express
MuseScore
Audacity
Bfxr.net
A physical piano
Way too much graph paper
MATH ITSELF

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#88Innovation3.90
#141Theme3.90
#384Audio3.03
#397Overall3.34
#530Humor2.74
#631Mood2.84
#685Fun2.90
#792Graphics2.64

Comments

jbasinger says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:11am

I love math, but this was TOUGH. The music was killer though =)

aroymart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:11am

I absolutely loved this!!! It was really fun!! I didn't get it at first because I'm lazy and didn't read the instructions outside of the game, but as soon as i picked up on it i loved it!

Mantlair says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:37am

It gives a Java exception occured to me B(. My pc is 32 bit. Could that be a problem? I really wanna play this thing.

Hexatin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:41am

3math5me

Absolutely awesome idea, I'm just not that good at math.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:52am

Math R Hard D: Clever game though. really interesting idea setting up attacks beforehand and then running real time.

manabreak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:20am

I set up the equations, but after the fifth one, the game just froze. It looks interesting, tough!

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:24am

This is AWESOME. The mechanics is very original and even though it's hard, it's REALLY FUN :)
(5 stars in every category)

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:23am

The math element is really neat. Very difficult, too. That's not necessarily a bad thing. :)

Pretty good music, too.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:02am

YAY Math! Very nice idea

mokujin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:49pm

COLL original idea! I hope you'll do a post compo full game based on this idea

Sim00n says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Interesting concept. A little to fast for me and I know you posted the fixed version but we have to rate your game on the original one. Good job nonetheless.

hexdie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Neat idea! I like the mechanic and it fits well with the theme! The audio and art could be better but under the time limit, that's totally understandable!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:57pm

This game is a very neat idea, but I found that when the chips were on the table all my effort was spent avoiding enemies, and I just spammed the 1-4 keys as fast as I could.

I don't like that the equation is centered on your position, because that's not at all what I expected to happen after seeing the trajectories in the first part. I built my equations to have good screen coverage, but what I really should have done is y=0, y=1, y=2, y=-1, y=-2, then my shots would at least all be on the screen.

sorlok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:46am

Cool idea, but I feel like it needed a little more cohesion. Definitely had some cool mechanics going once you got some good math attacks lined up. Maybe some more variables?

Mantlair says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:26am

Very very nice idea. Gameplay is kinda mashing the keys. But yeah in a limited time this mechanic is awesome. I really want this thing to become a big game B)

eddynardo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:12am

great concept and very creative :)

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Fun idea, the music fits in with the difficulty well. Great job!

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:48am

Really clever idea for the theme! I found the movement to be a bit jumpy, but I can look past that. I spent waaaaaay too long figuring out fun attack patterns!

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:26am

weird, after starting the game, the game just froze. Is it anything about my java version?

Logicon says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:05am

Hard to tell when things got hit, they had tons of health. Black on grey text was hard to read too.

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:17am

Final score: 2313. The idea is interesting but controls are laggy and don't respond as soon as one would expect.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:40am

i wonder... i cannot do anything... the game just froze....

jmborden says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:34am

What no trig functions? Oh well I can just use a Taylor series expansion to get it. Oh wait I can't... Equations are limited to ten characters?! Ok at least I have all of my equations set up now... nope sorry no game for you I crashed.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:15am

@jmborden Sorry that the game crashed before you got a chance to play it. A few people have been reporting the same issue, but I'm not sure what's causing it since I cannot replicate it myself, so I have been unable to fix it :'( Please remember that it is against the rules to score unplayable entries. I'm not sure if you left a review, but I'll mention it just in case ;) Also, I didn't include trig functions because that would have taken MUCH more time than I had. Remember, this is a 48 hour compo entry. I would have liked to increase the size of the equations though, and that's something I might change if I make a post-compo version.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:25am

This was interesting :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]