Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

MEGATON

by Sytech - Compo Entry

This is my second Ludum Dare entry. It was made in 37 hours.
In this game you are a cold war Soviet officer who commands launches of unconventional weapons like nuclear, biological and chemical missiles towards targets all over the world.

I made the game look like an old Game Boy game, although this is hardly a game you'd ever see for the Game Boy!

Introduction:
Take control of your own nuclear arsenal!

The year is 1987. In 1986 General Secretary Gorbachev's Central Commitee was overthrown in a Coup d'état. The Central Commitee is now controlled by the Soviet Army. No more glasnost or perestrojka!
You are a Soviet commander of a nuclear missile command central situated deep inside a mountain complex somewhere in the Soviet union. You constantly get new orders from the Kreml. Will you always blindly follow the orders of the Kreml or do you have the guts to try something else?
How many million people will you kill?



You make the launch commands through a computer terminal.
To see what your current objectives are, go to DATA LINK MSGS and CURRENT ORDERS. If you don't have any objectives, wait a couple of seconds and you'll receive a new message and new orders.

Controls:
-Up/Down - Select menu objects.
-Return - Enter the selected menu.
-Left/Right - Select target or number of warheads and type.
-X - Go back one step in the menu tree.
-Z - Scroll down in the Data Link Message que.


Menus:
ORDER LAUNCH - From here you choose type of warhead, number of missiles and orders the launch. Select at least one warhead and a target that hasn't been nuked before.
WORLD MAP - A map where you select your target. A skull indicates if you've already nuked a country.
DATA LINK MSGS - In this menu you can view new or old data link messages and view your current mission objectives. When you receive a new message a sound will play and a notification can be seen on the main menu.
STATISTICS - In this menu you can see casualty statistics of own and enemy countries, view your and Soviet relations to allied, NATO and neutral countries. You can also view your current stockpile.


Tools used:
-C++ with SFML 2.2
-PooBoy2 VST for music
-BFXR for sound effects
-mtPaint for graphics


Bugfixed version (2015-04-20):
-Gamebreaking bug fixed where you could get stuck if you fired a missile without orders.
-Text message for the ending was barely visible, shows longer now.
Bug fixed source: http://www.gridlockgames.net/filer/spel/megaton_ludumdare32_src_bugfixed.zip

LINUX:
-To run the Linux port, you need to install libsfml with your packet manager.

MAC OS:
-To run the Mac OS port, right click (or hold down CTRL and left click) on the app and choose Open and confirm that you want to run a third-party application.


I didn't have time to add all the scenarios I wanted, but I hope it will be a little bit of fun to play! There are three different endings.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#42Mood3.92
#80Overall3.84
#104Graphics4.00
#228Innovation3.61
#261Audio3.23
#270Fun3.40
#370Humor3.08
#543Theme3.35

Comments

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:12pm

The graphics are really great! But I guess the weapons are not that unconventional.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Graphics are \o/

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Nailed it on art style, and I think it fits the theme just fine :)

Adam Gould says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:15pm

I really like the atmosphere. I got a real Papers Please vibe from the uncomfortable nature of your orders.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Neat art style and interesting mechanics.

StefanDJagers says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:19pm

First of all... The concept. This... concept... is... truly amazing!!! I have never seen a game like this!
The simple graphics fit perfectly. Just a true recommendation for everyone!
Great game for sure!!

TwiiK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Very cool. Love the authentic graphics. The sound effects and music were nice as well. They actually fit the look of the game, which isn't often the case with Bfxr sound effects. :p

Komos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:22pm

I have one problem with the game, I can hear my PC hissing... According to fraps it's running at ~2000fps, you should probably cap the frame rate.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:06pm

It felt very Papers Please, cool!

DaniDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Wow... This was amazing, I absolutely loved it. It is awesome to see such depth in a Game Jam, Loved the fact that all the major cities had defining characteristics to them. 5/5

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Dude I love the look of this and what to play. Any chance for a web build? I'm on a mac.

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Killing people is always fun.

goblin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:33pm

The graphics are great and the gameplay aswell.
Check our game too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:41pm

A really fun game. I play and laugh it here (as soon as it is uploaded): http://youtu.be/FX4Cp9NpZHo

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:02am

Ignored orders. Killed a million people. Was hung.

Totally understandable.

Love the visual style and the delay. The feel is pretty amazing.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:09am

That was beautiful. You had the visual style pinned down. It was really cool interacting with the whole world with this tiny computer. The audio was great, things like the new message notification were actually pleasing to hear. You had really nice touches like the dramatic pause before a bomb going off. It really captured the gravity and disconnect of the horrible event you caused just by making a few clicks on your computer.

zaibakk says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Thats was... FANTASTIC!
What a great concept! The mood is so cool, it remember me the good DEFCON. I hope to see more!
Very GJ!

spin-down says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Loved it. From the graphics to the whole concept, it was expertly done. The silence before the bomb eventually landing gave it a very sinister feel and as the orders became more and more insane I actually hesitated a few times as I thought carefully about my next move.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Interesting game, very polished. I actually felt kind of bad when following the orders, which is an achievement considering the simplistic aesthetic. Would be cool to see it expanded into a full storyline!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:30pm

I loved the graphics, pretty sweet idea for a game too. Well done! :D

tughan says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Really liked the style and sfx. This game has potential. Good job!

danielilett says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:36pm

This was a great entry - the graphics were spot on, and the game's atmosphere was very tense. The sounds, though basic, did fit the game well, and I think this would be great if it were fleshed out into a bigger game with a more refined storyline.

chromebookbob says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Great art style. I like the orders idea. Great!

jk5000 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:41pm

An interesting and intelligent game.

Tijn says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 2:06pm

What an awesome entry. I love these kinds of games. I didn't manage to get another ending than being put to death yet, but I'll play it some more to see if there's a way :)

Boberro says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 2:53pm

yay for 1989 Gameboy graphics. Music is not so gameboy though.

May 4, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Not that unconventional for a weapon but the idea itself is really interesting and I like moral dilemmas ^^. Not bad for a game made in only 2 days!

Krunoslav says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Very nice game, i like the graphic styles, and idea to send nuclear missils. And yes, it is unconventional weapon.

KaiseanGames says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Very nice looking game. I find the controls too hard to be usable - lots of menu navigation. But it would be really nice to have that on the gameboy. I can imagine playing this game on the gameboy. Nice job!

fleegle2000 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I like the retro style and the cold war theme (though it's not very cold in your version of events). I don't really have anything to complain about - I think it fits the theme okay. Good work!

greytram says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Very cute graphics and a lot of humor in this entry! Good work!

wademcgillis says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:30am

this is dark!

i committed war crimes!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]