Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Guide 2 Where?

by Pitzik4 - Jam Entry

A game completely unlike anything I've ever done in almost every way.

Note that it's impossible to get the "true ending" on your first try. It's also impossible to get it on your second try. And getting it on your third try is far from guaranteed.

Tested in Chromium, Google Chrome, Firefox, and Internet Explorer 11; only extensively tested in Chromium. Doesn't work as well on IE as on the others, just like everything else ever; the sound doesn't work, and some of the graphics appear low-res.

It's made with HTML and jQuery. Go figure. The source code is the game itself, so feel free to dig through that horrendous .js file.

Sounds from Freesound.org:
- "Switch 3.wav" by RutgerMuller
- "Glass Smash.wav" by chewiesmissus
- "Clothing_ShirtsandPants_Rustling.wav" by duckduckpony
- "JacobsLadderSingle1.flac" by Halleck
- "Door Smash 1" by qubodup

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Innovation(Jam)4.35
#30Overall(Jam)4.06
#50Mood(Jam)4.03
#139Fun(Jam)3.65
#207Humor(Jam)3.48
#407Graphics(Jam)3.52
#443Theme(Jam)3.45
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

PixelPerfect says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Very interesting mechanic!

ZQMony says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:56am

Very interesting game. Good Job!

tikilittle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:58am

Trying to micro-manage both phones was terrifying. I liked how you gave players multiple dialogue choices. It would be cool to see this played out in 3D and have a VR version.

randoman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:35am

I got 3 different endings and am VERY curious to know if there are more! Are there more? This game is very different and interesting, good job!

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Huh, I never actually tried counting the endings before. I suppose ten would be a reasonable estimate, so, yes, there are seven more. The true ending is the one that says "Congratulations." I don't really expect anyone to get it, but it would be awesome if someone did.

ianburnette says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:04am

Whoa. Just, whoa.

andreimarks says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:38am

I got the Congratulations ending! Got a bunch of the other ones first. Really cool game. Fantastic story presentation too. I love rating LD games because you try and go through a bunch, but then there are ones that just stick out and you can't stop playing them.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:48am

pretty awesome

SojaBird says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:40am

Wow that was super hard! :D Coool!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:34am

Very fascinating, experimental, and innovative concept. Didn't necessarily find it fun, but I don't it has to be for the 5 stars rating. I really liked the pacing of the story, the panic you experience interpreting two texts at once (even though you can easily stall one of them), and the inability to look back through the history of the texts. Multiple playthrough is required, but I like that the player naturally catches more hints and text as a consequence of it. Very cool.

pythong says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:33pm

wow, great entry. had to keep playing out of curiosity, and my last screen was the "Did you win?"

ChronoDK says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:25am

This was fun - love how you can control the outcome by deciding which weapon they pick up. This double texting idea could be taken much further - great idea!

MegaBrutal says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:06am

Very interesting! I only played 3 rounds, once sacrificing the boiler guy, once sacrificing myself, and once the bad guy. I couldn't get an ending where everyone survives yet. Good game, keep up the good work! :)

Pixel Heart says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:33am

Man! How comes I haven't see your game before? That was really really interesting! Managing two conversations is quite challenging :D. I felt really satisfied when I killed the annoying guy, by the way. GOOD JOB!

Raiyumi says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:32am

Pretty cool entry! I really like the dual texting idea.

drludos says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Woaw, outstanding entry! The game is very original and entertaining - I spent about 1 hour playing it, but I still haven't found the "congratulations" ending (and I'm actually out of ideas on how to reach it - I hope you'll make a walkthrough :)).

I like how you can learn about the backstory on a "bad" ending (in a way, your story reminds me a lot of the movie "The One" starring Jet li :)), and the dual texting idea is brilliant!

My only complaint: the fingers holding the phone sometimes make the text hard to read (well, i no longer worried about it on my 10th play, but on my first couple tries it did bug me).

Congratulations on this game, I hope you'll reach a high rank on innovation because you clearly deserve it!

May 11, 2015 @ 2:24am

Nice entry, pretty different, I enjoyed playing this one (and ran smoothly on chromium for linux) :)

Pitzik4 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:31am

drludos, I hadn't previously considered doing a walkthrough. That is now a high priority on my "to do" list.

deadbodyoutline, what if I told you... I developed the entire game on Chromium for Linux? :) Because I did. Always nice to see another Chromium user!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]