Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Blackbird

by aeveis - Compo Entry

A quicky platformer where a bird is helping you visit its home. Platforms will rise when the bird dive bombs (the unconventional weapon) the floating energy into it.

Didn't have much time this weekend so mechanically it's pretty simple. I was able to get some nice animation in though so hopefully that contributes a lot to the mood. Hope you like it!

There are 4 different ending prompts.

Tools used:
IDE: Flash Develop
Library: Haxeflixel
Art: Gimp
Sound/Music: OpenMPT
Level stuff: Ogmo

Controls:
Arrow Keys or WASD and/or Space to move and jump.
X to bird dive. Z,C,V, and Enter also works.
If you need it:
R to Reset, [] for Cheats

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#27Mood4.02
#35Graphics4.33
#58Innovation4.02
#137Audio3.52
#160Overall3.67
#382Theme3.54
#608Fun2.98
#766Humor2.31

Comments

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:24am

Beautiful Game! Well animated and designed. Very nice. It is very difficult to play however.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Yeah, I think so too!

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not

part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games.

--TaoPhoenix

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:57pm

I liked the concept and the art(which was awesome). As somebody pointed out earlier, the bird feels a bit random because you're not controlling him directly, but it's an interesting mechanic.

oranebeast says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:53am

An interesting ang beuatiful game. I really like the mechanic; Very unique.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10am

Kinda hard to understand and play. The dive doesnt work all the time, may there is a cool down.
I like the aesthetics.

lurils says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:36am

this one is one of my favorites, simple and short, but really fun and interesting!

noonat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:38am

Very cool. Great animation and a really neat idea.

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39am

Pretty graphics and nice overall mood. Enjoyed playing it.

Prowler says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:40am

Great piece of art! Took me one minute to get the concept (I do not read game descriptions before I play so it's more of a suprise. The mood is good and the sounds are competently done.

Keep up that good work!

Pat

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42am

Couldn't finish it :S Platforms stopped rising and I didn't know what to do, must have missed something.

I really liked the concept of a dive-bombing bird, and the graphics were pretty cool. So was the sound. Nice entry overall.

Good luck!

Almost says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43am

The art is pretty, but I didn't find the game to be too fun. Some platforms would fall after I lifted them, and some could be lifted multiple times but I couldn't figure out why.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47am

Neat little game with very nice art. Interesting mechanic as well, though a little difficult to get the hang of :P Nice job!

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:58am

Really like the character pixel art animation. That being said though, I think the gameplay is too simple for me.

Ash K says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51pm

The visuals are just incredible. I love the smooth animation, minimalist style and the mood. I couldn't make it to the end, since it's really hard to get the bird to go where I want, but with a little adjustment I think this concept could be really interesting!

sorlok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Cool take on the theme, and very nice visual feel. The concept was a little limiting, since the bird was always above you. Nice game overall!

grillaface says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:14am

Art is fantastic. Great aesthetic and mood! Moving the platforms was a bit frustrating after a while but the feel is there... Great!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:49am

I really liked this entry! The only thing that could have been clearer was how the bird interacted with the energy :)

FrederickK says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:56am

Very relaxing, well done! :3

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:36am

Love it! Really innovative platforming mechanic, and the art is great. Simple but elegant pixelart, really cohesive with the music and sfx too. Tough but fun, keep it up!

resty says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:05am

It's a beautiful game. Fantastic art and proper audios make it way better. You did a great job on those thing.

Suggestion:
At beginning, it's a bit confusing for me to figure out what to do. Then I realize the mechanism, and finished the game in less than 1 minute.
The idea is good, but game is too short maybe.

suppi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:55am

great game visually, the music and sounds are fantastic and the mechanics are very good, but i didn't quite understand what to do with the bird, when and how does it release energy to raise platform etc. If it was a little clear it could be a great game.

T8000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Fresh idea with nice atmosphere, nicely done aeveis.

Dan Norder says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Nice.

Icelus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Charming and fun!

Chris Delta says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:25pm

The random movement of the bird is very frustrating, but other than that this game is very charming.

Galan says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:11am

I don't really have much new to say, but I really like the feel of the game. I'd love to see the bird mechanic polished up and expanded into a full-length game.

Pilly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:08am

Nice work! Beautiful pixel art and animations - makes jumping have a really nice feel to it. At first I thought the energy orbs were just decorative, but after some confused jumping around, I actually read the description.

The back/forth of the bird and waiting for orbs did make it a little tedious - but not so much that I stopped playing - I still wanted to get all 14 platforms. The ending made me smile. Would love to see more of this character and their bird companion.

Dreauw says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Interesting game, it took me a while to figure out what to do to rise the platforms (but it's my bad, I should have read the description :p).

I agree that the random bird movement is a bit frustrating sometimes. But there's enough balls to fail some bird dive, so it's OK :D

Awesome work on the graphics/audio !

phi6 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:06pm

The animation and monochrome artstyle in this entry is absolutely incredible!

SteveSalmond says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:46am

Love the visual style, and the controls feel very snappy. Controlling the bird correctly is quite challenging, but I think that's part of the charm of the game. Great work!

SledKnight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Looks great. Sounds good. But could not figure out what to do. Needs a difficulty ramp up? Still interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]