Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Please Wait

by PerilousPete - Compo Entry

Help the worlds sole sentient floor buffer to escape it's factory confines. Polish the floor to make it slippery, then lure the guard dogs into traps in order to progress.

Controls (also explained in-game):
Up Arrow, W, X or Space - Jump
Left Arrow, Right Arrow, A, D - Move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#198Innovation3.67
#320Theme3.63
#441Overall3.29
#597Humor2.63
#696Fun2.89
#931Mood2.37
#936Graphics2.37

Comments

siryakko says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Nice idea and fun controls :D

sanojian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:25am

Cool and funny concept. The dog is really nicely animated. The jumping felt a bit too floaty. It was maybe a little bit too hard to get the dog into the blade without being bitten many times.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:32am

What a cool idea! It felt really good getting those dogs to slip on the buffed floors. I liked the George Lucas-style opening too ;)

PerilousPete says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:36am

Thanks for the comments guys!

"The jumping felt a bit too floaty"-sanojian
Everyone always says that about my games. I should probably learn from it...

EdwardGreysky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:45am

Really cool idea
But somehow difficult to wipe the floor near a trap or a dog without getting hurt

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:47am

great idea making your movement also your attacking strategy!

Jack31081988 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:00am

really nice Game!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:10pm

My only complaint is that the controls aren't tight enough and feel slippery, but since the game doesn't require precise platforming and given the nature of gameplay, this can be forgiven easily.

I really like the concept. It is very fun!

Those poor dogs D:

madameberry says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Game is hard! lol

PerilousPete says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:45am

"My only complaint is that the controls aren't tight enough and feel slippery" - fullmontis
That's literally the point ;)

steboots says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Not a good game if you have OCD, otherwise... polishing floors as a weapon? I don't think there's anything more unconventional as this. Spectacular game!

Hammers says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:32pm

What a great idea! Can be a bit tricky getting the dogs onto the bladed without being hit, but when you do it's very satisfying. Nice job!

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:33pm

I like the mechanic a lot! I think there could have been more ways to use it other than just having the dogs slide off edges. But I understand we only had 48 hours x) Still cool nonetheless ^_^!

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Using slippery-ness to your advantage as a weapon is very novel, and I like it's application here - cleaning stuff up is also inherently fun, though the game is let down a little by the graphics and manoeuvrability. Would be interesting to see what mor could be done with the concept!

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Great take on unconventional weapon. I thought the floor polisher controls worked well. I do think situations where the dog was hanging out on the ledge close to you and you had to jump over it lent itself to almost always getting hit as long as the floor had no polish on that edge. But if you addressed that at all I'm talking a minor help. Adding some office furniture in the background might break up the flat background. Great game. For its theme concept and dog animation it's a standout.

ito123456789 says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:50am

Good game, needs sound, like dog barks :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]