Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Mighty Writer.

by Miltage - Compo Entry

Note: You can click the gramophone to mute the sound.

"The pen is mightier than the sword."

You play an author recounting old war stories. As you type the stories, they play out before your eyes.

Here are some commands you can use:

[Soldier Name] fires / shoots at [Enemy Soldier Name]
If you don't specify an enemy, one will be picked at random.

[Soldier Name] runs for cover / takes cover.
When in cover, a soldier cannot be shot. When shooting from cover, a soldier has a lower chance of being hit.

[Soldier Name] ducks behind cover.
A soldier ducking behind cover again will prevent him from being shot.

[Soldier Name] leaves cover.
For a suicidal soldier.

[Soldier Name] reloads.
A soldier needs bullets.

[Soldier Name] unjams his gun.
Occasionally a gun will become jammed, that's just bad luck. Soldiers need to unjam their gun before they can shoot again.

[Soldier Name] disrespects / flips the bird.
Anger the enemy. No real in game benefits.

[Soldier Name] yells obscenities.
Who wouldn't be? This is war.

[Soldier Name] waits / does nothing.
Literally does nothing.

Type the commands into your story to progress the fight! May the best luckier side win!

Some actions, when performed in cover, will cause the soldier to stand up. He will have to take cover again, sorry. I didn't have time to do 2 of every animation.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#7Innovation4.45
#70Theme4.05
#71Overall3.87
#83Mood3.73
#120Audio3.59
#177Graphics3.76
#282Fun3.38
#320Humor3.17

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Nice game, difficult to understand without Reading the guidelines, but visuals are very good and fits the theme very well, congrats!

cicanci says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Interesting game, the music is really nice!

Tipyx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Wow, a very brilliant idea. It could be a great full game !
Nice job !

thephantom says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:50pm

this concept is awesome .. this should be made into a full game :D

StefanDJagers says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Graphics are gorgeous!
The idea is just amazing!
The background music is the best I've heard this Ludum Dare!
Overall, a very very very good game!
Good job! ;)

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:22pm

"Lewis becomes a zombie. His corpse isn't very good at it."

Hahahahhaa

talecrafter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Very cool idea. Presentation and execution is top notch.
It get's a bit tedious with 4 soldiers. And some of their names were blocked by the people in front of them.

Catwheel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:42pm

This was awesome! My one qualm was writing "Daniels fires his weapon over and over". If you expanded on this to require other options than shooting I think this would be a really great game. Interpreters are difficult to write though.

agmcleod says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:38am

Nice game. I did find a bug that it was impossible to backsapce a mistake after typing a period. Also shooting from behind a cover, it was tricky to tell the soldier was till considered in cover.

Tuism says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:20am

Really interesting idea that ultimately relies on TONS OF DEVELOPMENT TIME to be anywhere near viable. You'd need it to work almost naturally or else it just falls flat. Eliza and Siri wasn't made in 48 hours :P

Following the instructions word for word is really boring, and making stuff up doesn't work, making it a difficult sell for me.

Great concept.

"Woods fires" didn't even work. Frustrating!

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Such a great idea! Really love this :D.

Think you need some game design tweaking though, the jams/blocks/misses happen quite frequently and it becomes frustrating. Also, it takes way too long to kill an enemy, I think their health or the bullet damage should be increased :).

Make this a full game, please! :D

daltostronic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Haha, this is great :D Nice job, I love the music and the mood of the game! :)

Pixel_Reaper says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Very cool idea, a little limited but well executed and very creative.

TurboCorp says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Wish the enemy soldiers also had names, so the writer could be a bit more neutral in his telling of the story.

Also, it was nice that I could write "[Soldier Name] fires her gun" and it would work, but then the game kept referring to all characters as male.

Oh, and you should be able to erase the sentences that didn't register a command.

jhell says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Interesting idea, but you get around it quickly. Excellent music, simple but beautiful art, perfect execution.

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Fantastic entry... concept was awesome, so were the graphics. Sound was annoying a bit after a while, but still fine. I really like how responsive everything feels. Truly a story brought to life xD

francoisvn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Nice game. I would like to see a version that's shorter (more damage might help) and gives you incentive to write some extra story, perhaps by showing everything at the end and having the option to share it.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:26am

awesome, awesome concept!! 5 stars for you!

Mantlair says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:37am

This idea is too awesome. It is a bit simple right now but yes there was deadline for everybody. But really this idea is too good. Nice music. Cute animation.

NoWandStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:39am

Interesting game and quite funny. Would be very nice if you can includo more commands or make them more "open" but is reasonable for a jam.

abuzreq says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:24am

I really loved the game , the idea it self can be used with many types of games , just change the story and the environment and you get a new game
the visuals were nice , and choosing the grayscale colors were perfect.

couldn't stop thinking of regular grammars and FSA though , right :P ?

jackyjjc says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:02pm

A very very cool game, I love how original the idea is. The graphics and audio set up a great atmosphere for the player. As you said, the option is indeed kind of limited and it gets repetitive after a while. However, given that you only had 48 hours, it was an awesome job! Looking forward to play the full game.

hmightypirate says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Awesome concept and graphics. I miss more text parsing options but i actually enjoyed the play.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Love the idea, really good take on the theme. The typing sounds worked really well too.

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:23am

This is a great concept! It was fun until the point I tried to get creative and the game ignored all my cool commands. I tried to invent better weapons, bring other soldiers into the game, have one of the soldiers turn off the music, etc. There are thousands of commands you could implement, but I guess not in 48 hours :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]