Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Terraforming

by orangemoose - Jam Entry

The year is 3038 AD. Technology abounds but at the expense of nature. Humans have retreated into oxygen camps while the robots they once created roam a mechanical wasteland. You have been created to breathe life into the now desolate fabrications of mankind. Armed only with a photosynthesis quantifier, it is your mission to terraform the world and to save us all…

Created by Team OrangeMoose
Pralie Dutzel @praliedutzel - coding, design
Alissa Mathiasmeier @etherealfox - art, animation

Sound effects by Introspectral:
http://99sounds.org/interspace/

Background music by TeknoAXE:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_3_DTAiHhtU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sz6CsOq4tL4

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#215Graphics(Jam)3.89
#403Mood(Jam)3.22
#452Theme(Jam)3.44
#601Overall(Jam)3.11
#674Humor(Jam)2.53
#696Fun(Jam)2.78
#753Innovation(Jam)2.67
#1901Coolness33%

Comments

Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:18am

Nice little platformer. I did however come across a bug where I couldn't jump and only moved very slowly. But this solved itself after a death.

hexdie says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:38am

This was enjoyable! I liked the art quite a bit, especially for the boss. I also like the introduction of the floor switches in the later half and how you used it during the boss battle.

However, some of the gameplay could use some work. The controls felt stiff and it felt like everything moved too slowly. The game could have benefited from some increased speed, especially the speed of the projectiles. Also, I got stuck here: http://i.imgur.com/D1zypMP.png I couldn't get out of that spot, I could only move back and forth slightly, so I had to restart the game.

So, it's a little rough around the edges but it looks nice and there are definitely some good ideas here. Keep it up!

May 7, 2015 @ 4:39am

Ran into a bug a few times where I got stuck in the geometry, and couldn't line up my shots with the first end boss before that happened (or at least I don't think I was affecting it). Other than that the graphics and audio are fairly smooth and the story feels like a good start to a much larger game, which is pretty cool...

Demy says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:56am

Stuck into level once and I have no idea how to pass the button on the floor and how to shoot not flying monsters. But I love the graphics including dialogs and idea with low gravity is nice.

myachin says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 6:22am

exe need admin mode
screen is darkened
and nothing happens(((

may be i need some lib or dll???

CiderPunk says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Really nice graphics and sound, and it plays well but I kept getting stuck in the level, e.g. when triggering the bridge if you're in the way it traps you inside it, also when turning too close to a wall.

also with the text you should make it so the first key press displays all the text rather than skipping straight on to the next line of dialogue!

Benjamin says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Nice gfx ! The plaform engine need more works. I sometime got stuck in the wall and had to restart the game 2x times because of it. I thinkg the projectiel speed should be at least twice faster than you. It feels weird being able to match the speed of the green projectile.

May 7, 2015 @ 1:18pm

A nicely polished short metroidvania! From the name I expected some form of terrain modification, but the end game is still high quality. There are a few bugs that come up with the stun attack though, you can get caught under a bridge and trapped forever, or get traped in the beam protecting the boss when it reactivates. Good work for 72 hours!

May 7, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Nice graphics and music. Controls are simple and effective. There appears to be some map collision issues as I got stuck very early by jumping onto a platform with a ceiling tile nearby. Overall a nice presentation.

Plustech says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:40pm

I really like the idea of trapping the enemies into the bullets. I instinctively tried to do something after though, like stealing resources or health as if the weapon was the bridge to something else, was a little disappointing to see that it wasn't. The controls felt right and has some nice sprites. I bugged myself on some bridges XD, besides that a solid entry overall. Good job!

blubberquark says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:17pm

I got stuck in the wall after a cutscene once and had to restart. Also the text scrolling is annoying. When I push a button, make it show ALL THE TEXT. Make pressing a button scroll the text faster until all the text is visible. The scroll speed is annoying and when I press a button it gets more frustrating!
Now I am stuck again!

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:27pm

It's a bit buggy (there was an instance where I got stuck between two platforms and couldn't move and another instance where there was a huge amount of slowdown and I couldn't jump) but I like the mechanics and the Metroid inspired level design.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]