Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Jungle Hair

by ncannasse - Compo Entry

You are looking for the sacred Dino Eggs that are lost in the jungle.

Sadly you have no weapon other that your hair !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#83Theme4.02
#121Graphics3.95
#121Overall3.74
#126Mood3.59
#128Humor3.66
#195Fun3.55
#214Audio3.32
#395Innovation3.33
#2090Coolness26%

Comments

Skywilly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:25am

A great idea, fantastic visuels. I love it :P Good job !

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:54am

Nice game man

freaknarf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:22am

Great !! Realy really sweet graphics, good super sharp gameplay, cool sounds... i managed to finish it but that was hard. I think i was going to ragequit many times but i was just doing it wrong ! very good level design also. Bordeaux gamedev rules ahaha... it took me more half an hour to end it. Hero reminded me Conrad in Futurama :) Congrats...

Pierrec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:34pm

I love how you managed to take a simple gameplay (platformer+hook) and made it "unconventional". It is really sweet to play, and really really impressive for a 48h game. Maybe a bit hard though, but I'm not very good at platformers.
It reminded me a bit of Toki. The only platformer I ever finished ^^ (and my favorite on megadrive)

lanza says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Very well done. Nice graphics, nice sound, cool idea and cool gameplay. Maybe a bit too difficult, but I still love it!

drludos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Challenging but fun game I love it!
The graphics are beautiful, and the idea is interesting - another solid entry!

PaulJs says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Nice game ! Great hair !

bnhw says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Looks very pretty, but sadly it was very conventional and I didn't find the platforming very fun.

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Cool game. Controls seem a bit odd... I will definitely come back and give it another go!

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:35am

This seemed surprisingly natural! I enjoyed that, except the spinning mechanics seemed unintuitive and were quite difficult. For example, I would let go expecting to go one way and then trail off in the opposite direction.

Xaychru says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:54am

Fun gameplay! The spinning physics seemed a bit odd at first but it took me some time to finish the game, so I got used to it. I also liked the overall mood of the game, nice lighting effects!

Carduus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:12pm

I really enjoy this, a bit too challenging for my noobs's skills.
I'can't stop laughing out loud while i turn this naked black guy with his hair.
You totally reveal the dark naturist side of Megaman xD
Nice entry!

HeskHwis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Really nice game ! Great level-design and gameplay, it wasn't very innovative in tis core but the idea of the hair was neat !

Tipyx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:20pm

As a megaman/rockman fan, I'm totally in love with it :)

oparisy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Difficulty is a little harsh for me, I seem to have some jump timing issues :) Closer checkpoints (are there any?) would have helped me enjoy the content.

Music is nice and in the mood, finding a secret passage at the beginning of the game was nice. Enemies are nicely animated, I love the particules when breaking rocks too.

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:44am

Interesting concept and it's very nice looking. The swinging was hard to control and I found myself launching into spikes or overshooting platforms. That said the overall game was great!

Lyje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Nice idea, and the platforming is tight. Graphics and audio are great! Unfortunately the hair swinging physics is quite frustrating and unintuitive, and I didn't get very far because of that.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:10pm

the swinging felt a bit awkward and the jump controls are very sensitive.
bonus point for the megaman look

Lerc says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:19pm

It's good, Nice touch of moving the character a tiny bit forward after a hit allowing easy fine placement.

The trigger area for the info guys was maybe a bit small,

01101101 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:45am

Really fun one :D The hook is a bit hard to master but that's all right. Nice entry :)

fserb says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Nice job. Had fun. :)

Namide says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Impressive work!
A little hard for me to swing with hairs.
I really like this game.

diegomachado says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Was hard to control landing while hair spin jumping but was very satisfying when I did it right. The name of the game is simple and awesome too.

Sunsheen says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:55am

The swinging physics felt were pretty janky, but aside from that this is pretty great.

ShaunJS says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Awesome game! Occasionally my controls felt unresponsive but I think that might have been the fault of flash rather than the game. Was hard to judge where I was going to land from the swing and the high speed of everything made progression hard and slow but it's still super fun. Great execution in general and a solid entry.

Arche-san says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Pretty nice game! Control hair is a bit hard. Good job! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]