Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A weapon for our freedom

by polegar - Compo Entry

/!\ The post compo version, is a fix for my bad management of the keydown event in JS /!\

Hi everybody !

This week two things made me very angry, the new spying law in France and the fact that my cat vomit twice on my couch.

While I was thinking of a subject for my game, I realised that it would be really cool to have a cat with a useful vomit !

You will play my cat(Kiwi) and you'll need to destroy all the government devises with your vomit to give back freedom to France.


I used JS and HTML5 to develop this game, this was my first time with Js. I used this course as a starter : http://openclassrooms.com/courses/creer-un-mini-rpg-en-javascript-avec-canvas.

As you can guess all the graphic and sound are homemade.

NB : At least one leg should be on the recording device to destroy it while puking and you should eat grass to vomit !

Have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#630Humor2.58
#792Theme3.05
#803Audio1.85
#1003Innovation2.30
#1021Mood1.88
#1030Fun2.24
#1042Graphics2.03
#1122Overall2.22

Comments

micahcowan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:24am

Looks like fun! Very respectable first JavaScript game.

I can't escape the G man long enough to destroy all the records. Be nice if there was a way to slow the G man down, maybe if the vomit made him slower for a bit or something.

Holding the key down moves, pauses, then moves in a sustained fashion; this is an artifact of how the keydown event works in JavaScript, but you could work around that by setting a flag when keydown is fired, and removing the flag when keyup is fired, and checking that flag in the main loop/timeout callback instead of calling a function directly from the keydown handler.

Nice job!

polegar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:34am

Thank you for the advice, I couldn't figure out what was wrong on my key handler management.
Yes I thought about this feature but I didn't have enough time to implement it. I lost too much time with my lack of JS knowledge, but it was worth it :)

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:46am

I couldn’t work out how to continue when on the game over page so I kept refreshing.

I liked that you had to pick up the ammo but I wish it had of told me this as I thought at the start it wasn’t working.

Building games in JS is hard so this is a solid entry.

deadarius says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Are you a New Zealander?

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:40pm

It took me a while to get the controls down, or the fact that you need ammo. After I got it down I liked the game quite a bit! If you are looking for a good JS engine, I am making one. It isn't tippity-top right now, but I made my compo entry with it.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:08pm

No cursor key repeat! much frustrating!
Graphics are glitched on Chrome but works well on firefox.
Great for first attempt at HTML5 + JS

Conk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19pm

I managed to complete it! The controls did make it quite difficult, I also never read the description, the grass just looked like a background so it took me a while :P

madameberry says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Movement is really janky. Certainly is an unconventional weapon, though!

sanojian says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Could be really funny if you fix the controls. I like the puking sound effects.

gnx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Nice game for a first try. I really got interested reading the description and your inspiration for this game.

Controls are a bit unusual as they have a fair bit of "startup" to them, but I managed to beat the game after a couple of tries.

The self-recorded sounds were also a nice bonus :)

garygreen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:43pm

I really liked the unique/original idea of this game, and the cat vomiting sound. :-D

Luneros says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:22am

I found this charming. Like the others said, the controls were odd, but it looks like you've got advice on how to fix that. surprisingly hard and enjoyable. Great first game!

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:07am

Controls were wonky, but a nice idea

frosty says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:18am

Nice! Took a few tries to finally win. Interesting combination of themes that worked surprisingly well in a small game like this.

Prowler says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:36am

Nice code! I wished my usual JS-Code would look like this :D
I missed the instruction, that you have to eat the grass to vomit but I found it in the Sourcecode ;).

So, an unusual weapon indeed! How long did it took to pixel and code it?

Greetings!

Pat

paruthidotexe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:07am

Cool concept
controls for cat movement needed smoothness
Level is very tough, i think enemy ai is advance level. Cant escape the govt guy.
But it is fun to play.

polegar says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:00am

Thank you everybody for the motivating comments :). As micahcowan said, my key handling management wasn't good due to my lack of knowledge in JS, i will upload a post compo with this fix.
@Prowler, I would say 4 hours to draw and 10/12 to code.

Dzik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Quite a quick and easy game. Controls were a bit problematic at the begining. As others wrote you could find a workaround for that issue.

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:42pm

It is a very unconventional weapon indeed :D Good for the first JS game. Luck with future games!

pythong says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:43pm

your game doesn't load for me? all i have is a white screen

mac mavericks with newest firefox

Jakob37 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:12am

Nice little game, I enjoyed it :) It took a while for me to get the cat moving when pressing the arrows, otherwise it worked fine!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]