Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

AKIMBO

by gnx - Jam Entry

AKIMBO is tower defense game in which you strategically line up your AKIMBO-troops to repel a monster invasion.

How to play:

1. move around with ARROW KEYS until you have gained tactical advantage to PROTECT HEART CONTAINERS

2. press SPACE to lock your troop in

3. watch the DESPERATE BATTLES to fend of an MONSTER INVASION

4. should you SURVIVE THE ONSLAUGHT another AKIMBO-troop will join your battle

War is hell, and the only real victory is HIGH SCORE.


AKIMBO has been optimized to work in conjuction with the CHROME WORLDWIDEWEB browsing equipment! BLAST PROCESSED SHADERS MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE ELSEWHERE.

[ html5, impactjs, javascript ]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#389Innovation(Jam)3.28
#575Fun(Jam)2.98
#617Audio(Jam)2.24
#762Overall(Jam)2.92
#843Humor(Jam)2.13
#905Graphics(Jam)2.28
#914Mood(Jam)2.36
#916Theme(Jam)2.59

Comments

RedSorrel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:02am

WOops I first played this in firefox until I read that it was made to work well with chrome! The graphics look much nicer. Game play is really challenging I can't seem to make it past wave 3 lol! Question: are we supposed to be able to move the hearts around? (Even though we can still seems to make little difference once all the mobs come in!).
Color Palette: I would choose different colors as playing for long starts to put strain on my eyes.
Audio: The the undulating sound as mobs pour in creates that sense of urgency, as well as loosing hearts and people. I don't like the round start alarm though, it's pretty jarring.
Otherwise I like the idea!

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:39pm

A novel take on the tower defense genre.

Issacchaos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:49pm

The idea is pretty sweet, just need to tidy up on execution. I wish there was a way to move the hearts out of corners since its rather easy they get stuck.

Jordan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Pretty unique idea and fun. Survived a number of waves and really love the tower defense/player twist it has.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Nice interesting concept!

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:24pm

interesting game. would have liked to see shots at finer accuracies than 45 degrees, but overall a nice submission. well done!

gnx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Damn, that was actually a bug ( += operator instead of = ).
Thank you for spotting it, I fixed it for any future players :)

plams says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Nice game! Though, the troops often shot at the "wrong" monsters and got killed themselves.

Tijn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:22pm

It's actually very fun to play, which is a quality not found in a lot of LD entries. Good job!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Not very good graphics and audio for a jam entry, but who cares as it's a fun and challenging game. More levels would be fun, and possibly exploring the sokoban elements of it more.

Makay says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:22am

Very interesting idea. I struggled a bit because the AI algorithms didn't behave as good as I was expecting. With a bit of work it could become a lot better, I think. Good effort.

micahcowan says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Hee! This is fun. And also devilishly difficult. Not much chance of survival when you can't move, but that's why it's fun. :)

randoman says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Is always good to se a very nice idea well executed. Good job!

dunin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:08pm

I really like the fact that you can move hearts here, it really adds something interesting in terms of strategy. It's a very fun game. Better graphics and text placement could be nice. But I can't see where the unconventionnal weapon is here.

Jwatt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:42pm

I'm blue balling here, dude. This is so close to being good. Honestly it just needs more effort, not even a proper advice for finding a focus. It's got all the resources to be fun but it doesn't really do anything with it.

And I'm not even sure if there needs to be "anything" like upgrades or whatever. You could (and probably should) take the simplistic route that it's a TD about figuring out placements for towers and hearts. But looking at how the bullets never really hit anything during the actual wave, and how ultimately placements don't seem to matter much, is just a letdown.

As it stands, it's a two-star entry, but don't you drop this one quite yet.

jordinuco says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:41am

This one was not bad for the Compo...

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Nice idea! The sound effects was a bit too intense for my liking, but I really liked the strategy. Played it several times, attempting to clear one more wave.. You have a solid foundation for a really nice game here :)

ermrk says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Nice idea to place "towers" by walking. I can't decide, where to place them, because I don't know, where enemies appears.

SamH says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Interesting idea, the various strategies that being able to push hearts and towers allows was a pleasant surprise. But I found it a bit too punishing because of the randomness of the monster spawn points. Really not bad, you might be able to turn this entry into an interesting little game.

ZYXer says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:58pm

I like the idea, I especially like how you can position your previous AKIMBO warriors by pushing them around. It would be nice if you could see where the next wave spawns, so you can place the warriors strategically.

alyphen says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:57am

It's like abstract art: beautiful in a weird way.
Challenging, and probably one of the more fun entries I've seen. Sound effects weren't fantastic, but it's an improvement over silence. Some of the AI was a little weird, but I guess that's how LD games usually are.

Andrea says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:28am

Fun tower defense with a twist, I loved it! Pushing some things make them go all the way to the wall and there's no way to pull that I could find, so it can be a little frustrating, but nice game nonetheless!
Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]